Criminal Justice Resources
This page provides access to:
- A selection of current criminal justice e-books (if you would like to find older e-books, or books in print, please use the UNT Libraries Catalog),
- The Criminal Justice Abstracts database to locate current academic research in criminal justice, and
- A selection of web resources on transgender rights in prisons.
If you need help with your research, please contact the Women's and Gender Studies/LGBTQ Studies Librarian, Julie Leuzinger (she/her/hers).
NOTE: While we have tried to use inclusive language in this guide, if you notice anything that could be improved, please don't hesitate to contact us with suggestions.
Criminal Justice e-books
Going Stealth: transgender politics and U.S. surveillance practices by Call Number: HV7936.T4 B43 2019ISBN: 9781478002659Publication Date: 2019Transgender intimate partner violence: a comprehensive introduction by
Call Number: HV6626 .T73ISBN: 1164503494Publication Date: 2020Transgressed: intimate partner violence in transgender lives by
Call Number: HV6626 .G833 2019ISBN: 9781479893836Publication Date: 2019
Criminal Justice Databases
- Criminal justice abstractsCriminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
You can use the database, Criminal Justice Abstracts to locate current research in criminal justice. For example, enter transgender and prison (highlighted in yellow below) in the text box and click the Search button (circled in red below).
Criminal Justice Web Resources
- Know Your Rights: Laws, Court Decisions, and Advocacy Tips to Protect Transgender PrisonersThis guide identifies laws, court decisions, advocacy tips, and other resources that may be helpful for adult transgender prisoners.
- Office for Victims of Crimes: Responding to Transgender Victims of Sexual AssaultThis guide compiles information from multiple datasets. It includes experiences from transgender survivors who have navigated sexual assault services. It also includes experiences of providers who have worked with transgender survivors.
- Standing with Trans Prisoners: Resources to Improve Conditions for Incarcerated Trans PeopleThis is a suite of publications for advocates and corrections officials to update and implement policies impacting transgender people in prisons and jails.
- TGI Justice ProjectTGI Justice Project is a group of transgender, gender variant and intersex people–inside and outside of prisons, jails and detention centers–creating a united family in the struggle for survival and freedom.