Guides: Trans Accessible Libraries Initiative: Employment/Workplace

Employment and Workplace Resources

This page provides access to:

A selection of new employment and workplace e-books to guide you through a transition at work (if you would like to find older e-books, or books in print, please use the UNT Libraries Catalog),
The Business Source Complete database to locate current business and management research, and
A selection of web resources including information on worker rights and coming out at work.

If you need help with your research, please contact the Women's and Gender Studies/LGBTQ Studies Librarian, Julie Leuzinger (she/her/hers).

NOTE: While we have tried to use inclusive language in this guide, if you notice anything that could be improved, please don't hesitate to contact us with suggestions.

Employment and Workplace e-books

Gender Ambiguity in the Workplace: Transgender and gender-diverse discrimination by Fogharty, Alison Ash
Call Number: HD6285.F64
ISBN: 9798216088844
Publication Date: 2018
Transitioning in the Workplace by Dana Pizzuti
Call Number: HF5549.5.S47 P59 2018
ISBN: 9781784508227
Publication Date: 2018

Business Databases

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete covers a wide range of topics in business and industry.

You can use the database, Business Source Complete to locate current research in business and management. For example, enter transgender and inclusive and workplace (highlighted in yellow below) in the text box and click the Search button (circled in red below).

Employment Web Resources

Know Your Rights-Employment (Federal)
The federal government has provided new guidance and protections for transgender federal employees. Federal employees have many of the same rights as other workers as well as some additional protections.
Know Your Rights-Employment (General)
This resource outlines the rights and procedures transgender employees have to address discrimination.
Transgender Workplace Rights: A career and resource guide for employees and employers
This helpful guide is for transgender workers, from new graduates just entering the workforce to seasoned professionals, as well as employers and hiring managers. Learn more about current transgender workplace rights, how to navigate some of the biggest workplace and job hunting concerns, and see what employers can do to lay the foundation for safe and inclusive work environments.

Coming Out in the Workplace as Transgender
While this is a handbook for employees at Cornell University, it still provides some good tips for consideration.

A Guide to Restroom Access for Transgender Workers
The Department of Labor's Occupational Safety and Health Administration has released A Guide to Restroom Access for Transgender Workers (PDF, 243KB) which states all employees, including transgender employees, should have access to restrooms that correspond to their gender identity.

Trans Accessible Libraries Initiative

Employment and Workplace e-books

Business Databases

Employment Web Resources

Additional Links