Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Trans Accessible Libraries Initiative

This guide provides practical information and library resources for UNTs transgender, non-binary, gender non-conforming, gender variant, and gender diverse students.

Art and Music Resources

This page provides access to:

  • A selection of current art and music e-books (if you would like to find older e-books, or books in print, please use the UNT Libraries Catalog),
  • The Art and Architecture Source and Music Index database to locate current academic research in art and music, as well as the Popular Music Library to locate music by or about transgender individuals, and
  • A selection of web resources related to art and music. 

If you need help with your research, please contact the Women's and Gender Studies Librarian, Julie Leuzinger (she/her/hers). 

NOTE: While I have tried to use inclusive language in this guide, if you notice anything that could be improved, please don't hesitate to contact me with suggestions.

Art & Music e-books

NOTE: Many of the available publications in art are only offered in print format; however, we are working on adding some additional e-books to the collection that highlight transgender artists, and art about transgender persons. Please contact Julie Leuzinger or Rebecca Barham (she/her/hers), the UNT Libraries Art Subject Librarian, with any recommendations for the collection. 

NOTE: We are working on adding some additional e-books to the collection that highlight transgender musicians or music history related to transgender persons. Please contact Julie Leuzinger or Susannah Cleveland (she/her/hers), the UNT Libraries Music Subject Librarian, with any recommendations for the collection. 

Art & Music Databases

You can use the database, Art & Architecture Source to locate current research in art and art history. For example, enter transgender and photography (highlighted in yellow below) in the text box and click the Search button (circled in red below).

art and architecture

You can use the database, Music Index to locate current research in music. For example, enter transgender and voice (highlighted in yellow below) in the text box and click the Search button (circled in red below).

music index

You can use the database, Popular Music Library to locate music by transgender artist or about transgender issues. For example, enter transgender (highlighted in yellow below) in the text box and click the red Search button to the right.

popular music library

You can use the database, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature to locate current research in music. For example, enter transgender and students (highlighted in yellow below) in the text box and click the Search button (circled in red below).

RILM search transgender and voices

Art & Music Web Resources

Additional Links

top