Guides: Trans Accessible Libraries Initiative: Data/Statistics

What are data?

Data (plural of datum) are a collection of facts, figures, numbers, (hopefully) organized in a way that they are accessible. Data can be quantitative (such as numerical) or qualitative (such as survey results) and are frequently the result of research in the sciences or social sciences. Researchers generally try to find relationships between their data in a specific project or between their data and another researchers data. It is important to pay attention to where data are published and who published the data to ensure they are reliable. Use the "How to Find Reliable Information" tab of this guide for tips on locating good data.

Trans Student Educational Resources. (2020). Why Trans People Need More Visibility.

And why should I use them in my research?

Data, your own or another researchers, can help you answer your research question. Data provides valuable background information. Data can help your persuade your reader or point to a social problem needing a solution.

Data and Statistics Databases

The UNT Libraries subscribe to several database that include data and statistics. Read the descriptions for the following databases to determine which one best suits your research needs. If you need guidance on locating data, please contact the Women's and Gender Studies Librarian, Julie Leuzinger (she/her/hers).

ICPSR
An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
IPoll databank
iPoll Databank Contains over half a million of U.S. national public opinion surveys in a variety of topics. Includes questions and answers from over 150 survey organizations. Dates of Coverage: last 70+ years
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistical data on international industries from thousands of sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Data Available on the Web

2015 U.S. Transgender Survey Report
National Center for Transgender Equality
The 2015 U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS) is the largest survey examining the experiences of transgender people in the United States, with 27,715 respondents from all fifty states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and U.S. military bases overseas. The report of the 2015 USTS provides a detailed look at the experiences of transgender people across a wide range of categories, such as education, employment, family life, health, housing, and interactions with the criminal justice system.
2022 U.S. Transgender Survey-Early Insights
This report provides a first look at the results of the 2022 U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS), a study conducted by the National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE) in partnership with the Black Trans Advocacy Coalition, National Queer Asian Pacific Islander Alliance, and TransLatin@ Coalition.
National Transgender Discrimination Survey
This report provides information on discrimination in every major area of life — including housing, employment, health and health care, education, public accommodation, family life, criminal justice and government identity documents. In virtually every setting, the data underscores the urgent need for policymakers and community leaders to change their business-as-usual approach and confront the devastating consequences of anti-transgender bias.
To view reports based on region, state, or race, scroll down to the Resources at the bottom of this page https://transequality.org/issues/us-trans-survey.

Equality Maps
The Movement Advancement Project (MAP) is an independent, nonprofit think tank that provides rigorous research, insight and communications that help speed equality and opportunity for all.
Use the "Choose and Issue" tab to browse for mapping on discrimination, health care or criminal justice, or scroll to the bottom of the page to find the "Mapping Transgender Equality in the United States" report.

Williams Institute Demographic Information on Transgender People
An estimated 1.4 million adults in the U.S. identify as transgender. We study discrimination and bias against transgender people and other gender minorities, and examine how these experiences affect their health and socioeconomic well-being.
Transgender People and the U.S. Census
The U.S. Census just started looking at sexual orientation and gender identity within the last 5 years.

Trans Accessible Libraries Initiative

What are data?

And why should I use them in my research?

Data and Statistics Databases

Data Available on the Web

Additional Links