Religion and Spirituality Resources
This page provides access to:
- A selection of current affirming religion and spirituality e-books (if you would like to find older e-books, or books in print, please use the UNT Libraries Catalog),
- The Religion and Philosophy Collection database to locate current academic research in religious studies, and
- A selection of affirming web resources for Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, Jewish, and Muslim individuals.
If you need help with your research, please contact the Women's and Gender Studies/LGBTQ Studies Librarian, Julie Leuzinger (she/her/hers).
NOTE: While we have tried to use inclusive language in this guide, if you notice anything that could be improved, please don't hesitate to contact us with suggestions.
Religion e-books
Blessings Beyond the Binary: Transparent and the queer Jewish family by Call Number: PN1992.77.T767ISBN: 9781978838826Publication Date: 2024
In the Margins: A Transgender Man's Journey with Scripture by ISBN: 9781467463072Publication Date: 2022
Trans Affirming Churches by Call Number: BR115.T76 D69 2020ISBN: 9781784509255Publication Date: 2020
Trans and Genderqueer Subjects in Medieval Hagiography by Call Number: BX4662 .T736ISBN: 9789048540266Publication Date: 2021
Trans formations: grounding theology in trans and non-binary lives by Call Number: BR115.T76 C53ISBN: 9780334066019Publication Date: 2024TRANSFORMING: the bible and the lives of transgender Christians by
Call Number: BR115.T76H37ISBN: 1646983106Publication Date: 2023
Religion Databases
- Religion and philosophy collectionA comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, and more.
You can use the database, Religion and Philosophy Collection to locate current research in religious studies. For example, enter transgender and Judaism (highlighted in yellow below) in the text box and click the Search button (circled in red below).
Religion Web Resources
- Buddhist Trans Community ResourcesResource list for trans and gender non-conforming Buddhist.
- Muslim Trans Community ResourcesResource list for trans and gender non-conforming Muslims.
- Hindu American FoundationHindu Teachings Inclusive of LGBT People.
- Transmission Ministry Collective Resource ListList of resources for transgender Christians.
- Trans Spirit FlourishingTrans Spirit Flourishing is an initiative of Josephine Inkpin - an Anglican priest and trans woman -
seeking to shed light on transgender life & spiritual understanding and to help develop support and encouragement for trans people in their varied journeys. - TransTorahAn online resource created to collect trans and genderqueer Jewish texts, sermons and other literature and make them accessible to anyone who wants them.