HYC supports and enhances the curriculum directly in multiple academic degree programs, including

• Addiction Studies
• Applied Behavior Analysis
• Career Planning
• Civics & Government
• Counseling
• Education, Higher Ed
• Financial Planning
• Philosophy & Religion
• Political Science
• Pre-Law
• Psychology
• Public Health
• Rehabilitation Studies
• Risk Management
• Social Work
• Sociology
• Women & Gender Studies
• Veteran Studies & ROTC

Praxis Philosophy

The Help Yourself Campaign (HYC) believes that access to information is a vital component of personal and academic well-being. The HYC is committed to providing inclusive, nonjudgmental resources that empower UNT students to explore complex topics related to health, identity, and wellness at their own pace. HYC praxis is rooted in respect for individual experiences, the promotion of self-guided learning, and the use of bibliotherapy as a meaningful tool for reflection, healing, and growth. We strive to create a safe and supportive space where all students feel seen, supported, and encouraged to help themselves through whole-person and whole-campus praxi.

The HYC understands that if students are unable to achieve holistic wellness, then their academic pursuits and success suffer. Based on research and praxis, the HYC is committed to a whole-campus approach to UNT wellness. 

Additionally, the HYC aims to support the UNT curriculum by offering authoritative, current, and relevant collections, for credit and volunteer opportunities, and advice for academic support in related programs. 

For Credit Internships, Practicums, and Independent Study

The Help Yourself Campaign is an ideal internship, practicum, or independent study host for undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in fields such as Counseling, Library Science, Psychology, Rehabilitation and Health Services, and Social Work. 

Students in Counseling, Library Science, Psychology, Rehabilitation and Health Services, and Social Work programs should email Brea Henson at brea.henson@unt.edu and the internship or program director in their program at least a semester in advance. 

Library Science students should contact Julie Leuzinger about practicum opportunities in the Department of Undergraduate Engagement and Research. She offers a practicum in academic library outreach, and students enrolled in this opportunity will have the opportunity to learn from and work with Brea Henson on the HYC. 

At a minimum, students will 

• Complete 10-15 hours of hands-on outreach/events experience from 1^st week of October to the week before Fall Break

  • Engage directly with students needing social and wellness help

  • Refer students appropriately to Student Support Offices

  • Promote collections

• Participate in collaborations with Counseling & Testing, Dean of Students, and Health & Wellness Center

• Assist with content management, collection, and administrative tasks

• Apply whole-person and whole-campus praxi

Micro-Internships via Emerald Eagle Scholars

UNT Libraries is a partner with the Emerald Eagle Scholars Micro-Intership program. Micro-Interns enrolled in undergraduate programs in Counseling, Education, Library Science, Psychology, Rehabilitation and Health Services, and Social Work, or have an interest in supporting social and wellness needs, or libraries are best suited to intern with the HYC.

Micro-Internship students will

• Complete 10-15 hours of hands-on outreach/events experience from 1^st week of October to the week before Fall Break

  • Engage directly with students needing social and wellness help

  • Refer students appropriately to Student Support Offices

  • Promote collections

• Participate in collaborations with Counseling & Testing, Dean of Students, and Health & Wellness Center

• Assist with content management, collection, and administrative tasks

• Apply whole-person and whole-campus praxi

The Help Yourself Campaign is a volunteer host through the Center for Leadership and Service. Students should visit the CLS's Volunteer Opportunities page to apply for a volunteer position. Volunteers should have an interest in social and wellness topics and/or libraries.

Volunteers are expected to commit to a whole semester and attend all scheduled outreach dates, which typically involve 10-15 hours of work. They will be expected to assist with a tabling event, including set-up and take-down. Volunteers should be able to push or pull 25-50 lbs and lift 10 lbs. Volunteers will be expected to interact with attendees by providing information about the HYC, including discussing the mission of the HYC, offering directions on how to locate library materials, identifying the appropriate Student Support Offices, and sharing informational sheets. Volunteers will be expected to provide a welcoming and compassionate space and be prepared for attendees to share personal stories. 

At the end of the volunteering term, volunteers will receive a service letter documenting their work and successes.

Only 1-2 volunteers will be accepted.

During the 2024-2025 academic year, Brea Henson collaborated with the Collection Analysis Unit within the UNT Libraries' Collection Development Department to analyze call ranges and holdings of the HYC Collection. This collection analysis also provided an analysis of the Mental Health collection. This analysis found that most of the HYC collections were found within our general academic collections and government document collections. Therefore, the HYC collection can be used for research and supplemental reading in coursework.

Faculty are welcome to assign UNT Library materials in their classes as required or recommended reading. Faculty interested in assigning library materials as readings should review the "Placing Items on Reserve" page.

UNT Libraries is a key academic supporter for student success. Students can find tutoring services at Willis Library as well as subject librarians who can assist students and faculty with research and collection needs. Students can receive more academic support from the following services:

UNT Academic Services

• Accounting Lab | Business Leadership Building 007 | 940-565-3080 | cob.unt.edu/students/tutor-labs
• Advising Services | Sage Hall 110 | 940-565-3633
• Chemistry Resource Center/Computational Chemistry Instructional Laboratory | Chemistry Building 231 | 940-565-3554
• Computer Science & Engineering Help Lab Discovery Park F232 | 940-565-2767
• Department of World Languages, Literatures and Culture Tutoring | Language Building 108A | 940-565-2404
• Economics Help Center | Wooten Hall 310 | 940-565-2573 | EconHelpCenter@unt.edu
• Emerald Eagle Scholars | Union 376C | 940-369-5251 | emeraldeaglescholars@unt.edu | emeraldeagles.unt.edu
• Finance Lab | Business Leadership Building 006 | FinaLab@unt.edu | cob.unt.edu/students/tutor-labs
• First Generation Success Center | Union 376 | 940-369-6178 | firstgen@unt.edu | studentaffairs.unt.edu/first-generation-success-center
• History Help Center | Wooten Hall 220 | 940-565-4772
• Information Technology & Decision Science Lab | Business Leadership Building 011, 012 | 940-565-3110 | cob.unt.edu/students/tutor-labs
• Kinesiology, Health Promotion and Recreation Study Center | Physical Education Building 220 | 940-565-2651
• Learning Center | Sage Hall 170 | 940-369-7006 | learningcenter.unt.edu
  • Services: Tutoring (one-on-one, group, and online); Supplemental Instruction; Academic Coaching; Learning 101; Speed Reading & Comprehension; TSI Advising; Graduate Entrance Exam Support; Don’t Cancel That Class; Campus Outreach; Academic Resource Library
• Math Lab | Sage Hall 130 | 940-369-7006 | mathlab@unt.edu
• Orientation and Transition Programs | Union 377 | 940-565-4198 | freshman@unt.edu; transfer@unt.edu | studentaffairs.unt.edu/orientation-and-transition-programs
  • Services: ACCESS Mentoring; Eagle Camp; Family Weekend; First Flight Week; Orientation; Parent Association; Parent Programs; Transfer Center; Transition Programs
• Physics Instructional Center | Physics 209 | 940-565-3275
• Tech Comm Lab | Auditorium 307 | 940-565-4193
• TRIO Programs | GAB 117 | trio@unt.edu | trio.unt.edu
• Writing Center | Sage Hall 150 | writingcenter@unt.edu | writingcenter.unt.edu
  • Services: Tutoring; Online Tutoring; Writing Workshops; Instructional Support

Advising Offices

• G. Brint Ryan College of Business | BLB 110 | 940-565-2110
• College of Education | Matthews Hall 105 | 940-565-2736
• College of Engineering | Discovery Park A101 | 940-565-4201
• College of Health and Public Service | Chilton Hall 112 | 940-565-4115
• College of Information | Discovery Park C232 | 940-565-2445
• College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences | GAB 220 | 940-565-2051
• College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism | Chilton Hall 385 | 940-565-4635
• College of Music | Chilton Hall 211 | 940-565-3860
• College of Science | Hickory Hall 283 | 940-369-8606
• College of Visual Arts and Design | Art Building 232 | 940-565-2216
• Mayborn School of Journalism | Sycamore Hall 205 | 940-565-3365
• Honors College | Sage Hall 320 | 940-565-3305
• New College | Sage Hall 394 | 940-369-8129
• Pre-Law Advising | Wooten Hall 153 | 940-565-4413
• Pre-Health Professions Advising | Hickory Hall 256 | 940-369-8606

​​​​​​​UNT Libraries

• Discovery Park Library | DP B112 | 940-369-7200 | library.unt.edu/discovery-park/
  • Services: Journals; Research Materials; Laptop Checkout; Collections focused on Computer Science, Engineering, Information Sciences & Ed Technologies
• Frisco Landing Library | 972-668-7455 | library.unt.edu/frisco/
  • Services: Material Delivery; Library Instruction; Research Services; Open-Access Computers; The Spark
• Media Library | Willis Library, 2^nd Floor | 940-565-2480 | library.unt.edu/media/
  • Services: Films; Audiobooks; Video Games & Consoles; Video Recording Equipment; Film Screenings; Gaming Events; The Nest Computer Lab
• Music Library | Willis Library, 4th Floor | 940.565.2860 | library.unt.edu/music/
• Sycamore Library | Sycamore Hall | 940-565-2194 | library.unt.edu/sycamore/
  • Services: Government Information Connection; Collaboration & Learning Commons
• Willis Library | 940-565-2411 | library.unt.edu
  • Services: 24-hour Student Computer Lab; General Collection; Instruction and Research Services; The Portal to Texas History; Digital Libraries; UNT Repositories; Study Rooms; Laptop Checkout; Special Collections; The Spark

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Discovery Park and Frisco Services

• Center for Student Affairs at Discovery Park | Discovery Park G140 | 940-369-5847 | dplife@unt.edu | studentaffairs.unt.edu/center-for-student-affairs-at-discovery-park
• ​​​​​​​Discovery Park Library | DP B112 | 940-369-7200 | library.unt.edu/discovery-park/
  • Services: Journals; Research Materials; Laptop Checkout; Collections focused on Computer Science, Engineering, Information Sciences & Ed Technologies
• UNT at Frisco - Student Services | 2811 Internet Blvd., Suite 100 in Frisco | 972-668-7100 | UNTFrisco@unt.edu | frisco.unt.edu
  • Services: Executive and Industry Partnerships; Professional Development and Summer Camps; Undergraduate and Graduate Classes
• Frisco Landing Library | 972-668-7455 | library.unt.edu/frisco/
  • Services: Material Delivery; Library Instruction; Research Services; Open-Access Computers; The Spark

A complete list of services is available.