Belonging - with peers, in the classroom, or on campus - is a crucial part of the college experience. It can affect a student's degree of academic achievement, or even whether they stay in school. Although much is known about the causes and impact of sense of belonging in students, little is known about how belonging differs based on students' social identities, such as race, gender, or sexual orientation, or the conditions they encounter on campus. College Students' Sense of Belongingaddresses these student sub-populations and campus environments. It offers readers practical guidelines, underpinned by theory and research, for helping students belong and thrive. Sense of belonging can come from peers, teachers or faculty, family members, social and academic groups, and living and learning environments. The book offers: a review and critique of current literature on sense of belonging in light of new and emerging theory a new conceptual model of belonging which helps the reader expand an understanding of sense of belonging new and recent research findings from quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods studies conducted by the author practical recommendations for improving educational environments, practices, policies, and programs to facilitate students' sense of belonging on campus. belonging in light of new and emerging theory a new conceptual model of belonging which helps the reader expand an understanding of sense of belonging new and recent research findings from quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods studies conducted by the author practical recommendations for improving educational environments, practices, policies, and programs to facilitate students' sense of belonging on campus.

About two out of three high-school graduates currently enroll at one of America's 4,000 colleges or universities within a year of graduation. But even though college enrollment has increased over the past few decades, college completion rates have fallen. How do so many talented and promising students get derailed along the way? This book examines the financial and social roadblocks as well as the level of college-prep readiness that can affect learning and ultimately graduation rates. Inlight of the staggering differences that characterize American higher education and a student body with diverse socioeconomic backgrounds, College Success: What It Means and How to Make It Happen by The College Board provides a guide to promoting truly effective teaching and redefining success in a way that makes sense in today's heterogeneous world.

Coping with Stress at University comprehensively covers the main problems and stresses that a student may experience during their university career. Looking at university life from a variety of angles, this book equips the student to be able to deal with stressful situations ranging from exam pressure to relationship problems, from homesickness to managing finances. Although the problems do not change, the way a student faces them can and the more effective the approach, the less stress the student will feel when tackling their concerns. Quotes and case studies from previous students illustrate how problems have been dealt with in the past, and a number of coping techniques and exercises are provided to help prepare students for the transition into and through university life. Coping with Stress at University is an invaluable introduction to university life for any potential or current student, and it also acts as a helpful resource for parents and friends wishing to gain a greater understanding of the issues faced at university.

The key to success, our culture tells us, is a combination of talent and hard work. Why then, do high schools that supposedly subscribe to this view send students to college at such dramatically different rates?  Why do students from one school succeed while students from another struggle? To the usual answer--an imbalance in resources--this book adds a far more subtle and complicated explanation. Defining Student Success shows how different schools foster dissimilar and sometimes conflicting ideas about what it takes to succeed--ideas that do more to preserve the status quo than to promote upward mobility. Lisa Nunn's study of three public high schools reveals how students' beliefs about their own success are shaped by their particular school environment and reinforced by curriculum and teaching practices. While American culture broadly defines success as a product of hard work or talent (at school, intelligence is the talent that matters most), Nunn shows that each school refines and adapts this American cultural wisdom in its own distinct way--reflecting the sensibilities and concerns of the people who inhabit each school. While one school fosters the belief that effort is all it takes to succeed, another fosters the belief that hard work will only get you so far because you have to be smart enough to master course concepts. Ultimately, Nunn argues that these school-level adaptations of cultural ideas about success become invisible advantages and disadvantages for students' college-going futures. Some schools' definitions of success match seamlessly with elite college admissions' definition of the ideal college applicant, while others more closely align with the expectations of middle or low-tier institutions of higher education. With its insights into the transmission of ideas of success from society to school to student, this provocative work should prompt a reevaluation of the culture of secondary education. Only with a thorough understanding of this process will we ever find more consistent means of inculcating success, by any measure.

YOU WANT TO DO WELL AT UNI - NOW THERE'S A BOOK TO SUPPORT YOU. 'Everything you need to know to succeed in Higher Education'Gaye Conroy, University of Sussex 'Great advice, strategies and models. I'd recommend it to our students'Sarah Speight, University of Nottingham THE STUDY BOOK is a practical guide to developing the academic skills you need to succeed at university, college or any higher level study. Learn how to think, research, debate, write about, and apply information - and do all the things that will directly impact on your academic success from the moment you start. It guides you through activities and processes to help you examine your learning abilities and experiences so far. It will help you to understand your particular preferences and styles, your natural advantages as well as any specific weaknesses, and then guide you to build an effective personal approach to studying. You will learn what you need to do to do well in your course, like completing high quality assignments, writing essays, and showing off your full understanding in exams. Along the way you'll find emergency tips to inject into realistic situations like when struggling with the dynamics in a group-working situation, lost in planning a complex assignment, or getting stressed in the days before an exam. It contains specific reminders about academic conventions, definitions of terminology, useful checklists to support tasks, and simplified processes to keep you on track. There are insights from other students, example scenarios, and short case-studies, all designed to root the advice in real academic context, and keep you focused on what you need to do to keep improving. 'A book that will help all students'Jeremy Dudman-Jones THIS IS THE ESSENTIAL GUIDE TO TAKING ON THE CHALLENGE OF STUDYING - AND COMING OUT ON TOP.

This book presents and examines key issues not only on addressing changing student demographics and needs but also on aligning institutional and student expectations, connecting student-oriented services systemically, organizing and fostering student services for learning, and creating and delivering services for students to achieve success on campus. While the essential supportive role student services plays in student retention and success is generally understood, this book provides several constructive approaches and key indicators that service providers can use to challenge their campuses for better results in achieving student success. While this book does not define what student success is for all institutions or suggest that one size fits all institutions, it does emphasize that student learning and achieving student success on campus is everyone's business. The chapter contributors share their wisdom on and experience in creating a student-centered culture and emphasize student services as the primary approach for putting students first in the campus community. Written for student service providers, academic departments, and others responsible for the support, direction, and coordination of services to students--vice presidents, deans, directors, and department chairs--readers will learn how to encourage a variety of desired outcomes, including student persistence, satisfaction, learning, and personal development. Also included is a systems perspective that will help readers evaluate and align services for students with the goals of both the students and the institution.

The Latino community is the fastest growing minority group in America, and quickly becoming a major player in America's workforce. Unfortunately, Latinos encounter cultural and societal obstacles that can hinder academic achievement. This inspirational guide gives Latino students practical skills for advancing in a college environment.The Latino Student's Guide to College Success: Second Edition, Revised and Updated provides a blueprint for collegiate success. The first eight chapters guide students through subjects such as selecting a college, navigating the application process, forming effective study habits, accessing student support services, and planning for advanced degrees. The second part is comprised of eight inspirational stories by Latino graduates sharing their college experiences. Lastly, a third section features a listing of colleges with a record of graduating the most Latinos, as well as a list of the top ten colleges with the most undergraduate Latino students. The revised and updated second edition of this popular book features the latest economic and demographic changes that have emerged since the first edition was published. It also includes six new chapters introducing the impact of technological advancements and changes in cultural trends.

Get practical advice in a concise guide as Pocket Guide to College Success prepares you for your college careee -- from the very first day to graduation and beyond -- by focusing on key issues such as motivation and goal setting.

Spirituality in College Students' Lives draws on data from a large-scale national survey examining the spiritual development of undergraduates and how colleges and universities can be more effective in facilitating students' spiritual growth. In this book, contributors from the fields of education, psychology, sociology, social work, and religion present research-based studies that explore the importance of students' spirituality and the impact of the college experience on their spiritual development. Offering a wide range of theoretical perspectives and worldviews, this volume also includes reflections from distinguished researchers and practitioners which highlight implications for practice. This original edited collection explores: Emerging theoretical frames and analytical approaches; differences in spiritual expressions and experiences among sub-populations; the impact of campus contexts; and how college experiences shape spiritual outcomes. Spirituality in College Students' Lives is an important resource for higher education and student affairs faculty, administrators, and practitioners interested in nurturing the inner lives of college students.

The Internet, high-tech calculators, and other technological advances have made student cheating easier and more common than ever before. This book helps you put a stop to high-tech and more traditional low-tech forms of cheating and plagiarism. Learn to recognize the danger signs for cheating and how to identify material that has been copied. Sample policies for developing academic integrity, reproducible lessons for students and faculty, and lists of helpful online and print resources are just some of the features of this important guide. A must read for concerned educators, administrators, and parents.

Student Resistance: A History of the Unruly Subjectobserves the rise and progression of student activism across the globe. By selecting critical case studies from the medieval to modern period, Mark Boren reveals how friction between activists and the academy can culminate in a violent struggle for power. Using a uniquely international approach, the book offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of university activism and its influence on national politics and broader social movements. Specific instances of resistance, from medieval uprisings across European universities to the Tiananmen Square Massacre, are explored to produce a detailed historical study of power relations and oppression. Globalization and rapid technological advances have established more accessible platforms for collective activism whilst recent political upsets have generated a ripe environment for students to increase their efforts of resistance. This second edition addresses repercussions of the internet and social media age on the evolution of campus activism in the United States and abroad, from #blacklivesmatter to the Palestinian West Bank protests. This timely revision of Student Resistance continues toreflect on the vital role that resistance plays in the evolution of modern societies and the book remains an essential text for both students and scholars of youth activism. repercussions of the internet and social media age on the evolution of campus activism in the United States and abroad, from #blacklivesmatter to the Palestinian West Bank protests. This timely revision of Student Resistance continues toreflect on the vital role that resistance plays in the evolution of modern societies and the book remains an essential text for both students and scholars of youth activism.

Updated so that it speaks to today's students, this long-time Barron's bestseller presents strategies to improve test scores, a plan to help students develop regular and effective study habits, tips on retaining information from their reading, and methods for taking useful classroom notes. They will also find advice on getting the most out of library and computer research facilities. Here is a book that will help students foster the habit of success in all academic subjects.

A Note from the Co-Author: I am currently a freshman at the University of Kentucky majoring in business. After reading and beginning to utilize the tools in my Mother's first book, WORK SMART, Not Hard!, I realized that college students could also benefit from them if posed in ways that addressed their specific needs. I had heard many horror stories about students spending countless hours in the library or sacrificing valuable sleep for school work. After being given the privilege to co-author this book, I now tell them that they could better utilize their time by using all of the WORK SMART tools, especially the PEND system, rather than exhausting themselves. It is clear to me that college students can effectively manage their time without losing sleep or being overly stressed and this book shows the way. Here's to a full night's sleep! ~ Tyler Hallman