Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Job Hunting, Resume and Cover Letter Resources
The resources below are a good place to start when preparing for a job as an information professional.
100+ Job Resources for Librarians
Provides links to many different types of job hunting resources, resume tools and professional development resources.
INALJ (I Need a Library Job)
This is a website and online journal containing jobs, bios, interviews, discussions and articles relevant to the profession.
LibGig Jobs allows you to set up customized job alerts depending on your career interests. You will be emailed when a new job meeting your criteria is posted.
Open Cover Letters
This blog contains successful cover letters for MLIS professionals that have been recently hired in the field.
It is up to you to make the most of your education. Below are some good supplemental resources to enhance what you are learning in the classroom to help you transfer those skills to a work environment.
A Simple Book Repair Manual
Advice about how to set up a work area, what tools to use, and simple repair instructions for torn pages and damaged hinges and corners.
Copyright, Intellectual Property Rights, and Licensing Issues
This website is maintained by the Berkeley Digital Library staff. The page links to a variety of websites that discuss fair use, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and patents.
Digital Projects Guide
This website is maintained by the Harvard University Library and provides guidelines and instructions on how best to prepare for and implement a digitization project.
Library Research Service
This website, maintained by the Colorado State Library and the Colorado Department of Education, provides national statistics and reports on a variety of library topics, including technology access, user satisfaction, and interlibrary loan use.
Library Success: A Best Practices Wiki
Created by a librarian for fellow librarians who are interested in learning more about best practices in librarianship.
The Library of Congress maintains this website to help people better understand MARC and the advantages of using the MARC format.
Writing for the Web - A Primer for Librarians
Designed to help librarians who are beginning to learn about website creation and maintenance, including information about HTML, XML, and Java.
Listed below are only a handful of the professional organizations you should consider as an information professional.
Blogs to Follow
Be sure to keep current by checking out some of these blogs!
025.431: The Dewey blog
Everything you always wanted to know about the Dewey Decimal Classification® system but were afraid to ask...
Jonathan Rochkind writes about library digital systems and services, metadata, cataloging, and the collective effort to help people navigate the ‘information wilderness.’
A blog about library cataloging, classification, metadata, subject access and related topics.
Steven Harris blogs about collection management in a Library 2.0 world. His frank approach to discussing new technology and its application in librarianship is enlightening and entertaining.
Library Juice is a blog that contains postings about the relationship between ethics, culture, politics, and libraries.
LISNews: Librarian Blog
This website offers a new digest on the most current issues in the area of library and information science.
LISZEN is a search engine operated by Google Co-Op. It allows users to search more than 700 blogs specific to library and information science.
Public Library Association Blog
Members of the PLA blog about regional and national library events and the latest trends in technology.
Contains news about search engines, digital archives, online museums, databases and other Internet information collections.
Tame the Web
Library Journal contributor and UNT Information Science alum Michael Stephen's blog about libraries, technology and people.