Google Books offers millions of titles to preview or read for free!
Books on Library and Information Sciences are arranged according to the Library of Congress classification system. Each book is assigned a call number, and the beginning letters and numbers correspond to a specific subject. For example, books about cataloging can be found within the call numbers "Z693-695.83." The following list comprises the subject headings and their corresponding call numbers that will likely be relevant to you:
| Subject | Call Number |
|---|---|
| Library Science | Z665 - 718.8 |
| Library Administration | Z678 - 678.88 |
| Cataloging | Z693 - 695.83 |
| Public Services | Z711 - 711.95 |
A more comprehensive list can be found at the Library of Congress.
The majority of the books you will need are located at Discovery Park on the first floor.
To find materials that may assist your research that are not owned by the University of North Texas Libraries, use the OCLC WorldCat database. Materials identified here can be ordered via Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan Services are offered to the students, faculty and staff of UNT for research purposes. All of the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan requests are processed through ILLiad, an integrated web-based ILL software program. To use Interlibrary Loan Services you will need to create an ILLiad account.
If you are enrolled in a distance learning class, you may submit requests for items owned by the UNT Libraries through your ILLiad account. Books owned by the UNT Libraries may be mailed to your home or delivered to the UNT Dallas Campus Library. Articles will be delivered electronically to your ILLiad account. *Note: When you register for an ILLiad account, choose status "Dist Learning". This will insure that you have access to special Distance Learning request forms.
Distance Learning students may also request items not owned by the UNT Libraries. Interlibrary Loan books or microfilm cannot be mailed to you but must be picked up at the Circulation Desk, Willis Library, the Discovery Park, or at the UNT Dallas Campus Library. Articles will be delivered electronically.
Problems accessing an eBook? Check the list below for common eBook problems by publisher.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences by
"The Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, now in its fourth edition, compiles the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and explores the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries. This major reference presents over 550 entries extensively reviewed for accuracy in seven volumes and an online addition. The new fourth edition, which includes 55 new entries and 60 revised entries, continues to reflect the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance. "--Provided by publisher.
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology by
The Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology is the first work to map this ever-changing field. It is the most comprehensive, research-based encyclopedia consisting of contributions from over 900 noted researchers in over 50 countries. This five-volume encyclopedia includes more than 550 articles highlighting current concepts, issues and emerging technologies. These articles are enhanced by special attention that is paid to over 5,000 technical and managerial terms. These terms will each have a 5-50 word description that allow the users of this extensive research source to learn the language and terminology of the field. In addition, these volumes offer a thorough reference section with over 11,500 sources of information that can be accessed by scholars, students, and researchers in the field of information science and technology. These wide-ranging, user-friendly alphabetically organized volumes are an important addition for your library collection.
What They Don't Teach You in Library School by 
Public Libraries Going Green by 
Reflective Teaching, Effective Learning by
Are we missing your favorite Library Science book? Email me with your book suggestion and why you think it would be a good addition to the collection: greg.hardin@unt.edu
