About this library page for Sociology Instructors

Instructor is the term used here to include faculty such as tenured professors and professional track lecturers, adjuncts, and teaching fellows in the UNT department of Sociology. All instructors are welcome to request assistance in acquiring materials, schedule consultations (including on virtually), and promote library resources to students in their classes or for their research purposes. This page will highlight some services and procedures that may be of interest to this group.

• Faculty may also consult the Services for Faculty Library Website which includes Scholarly Publishing Resources as well.

Course reserves

The UNT Sociology department does a great job requesting course reserves (items at the library set aside for your class). You may contact the Subject Librarian if you need assistance to complete the form (Circulation will loop the Sociology Subject Librarian in). There is a place to request items, but they still need a form.  "The UNT Libraries holds and distributes materials for instructors as required or recommended reading for their courses...Course reserves requests should be submitted by May 31st for the Fall semester, October 15th for the Winter and Spring semester, and March 1st for the Summer semester. In order to have material on Reserves in a timely manner, it is necessary for the Libraries to receive Reserves requests a minimum of two weeks prior to their initial use by student." (Course Reserves website)

Resource highlight:

• Items that were recently purchased, often by request for a course, that you might be helpful too!

UNT Libraries collections and resources

Our collections are primarily built in collaboration with our instructors to support the curriculum and research.

Journals/Periodicals:

Books/ E-Books

• UNT Libraries has print and e-books (fully online books accessible through your UNT EUID/Password off campus).

• You can search online resources for E-books or the Discover Library Catalog where you can find physical items, like print books.

• Visit the Sociology Library Guide Books page for details.
   

Digital and Special Collections (Unique/curated collection)

Special Collections/Archives and UNT Digital Libraries which includes Portal to Texas History, are selected, curated and digitalized by members of those departments. Item inclusion is not in consultation of your Subject Librarian (Public Services) but if you have a specific question, please ask.their help desks and/or your Subject Librarian who can consult or refer to other departments or services to get you the best answer.

Library instruction for Sociology courses:

• You can email your Sociology Subject Librarian, Lilly, at Lilly.Ramin@unt.edu  Please include:
  • Name of course and course number :
  • estimate # of students
  • Format (zoom or in person either at your class or Willis Library computer lab)
  • Syllabus (including general info on assignment) and/or assignment details to inform instruction session.
• Format: In person: Hands-on instruction is usually the often the most productive in-person method especially when paired around an  assignment. However there is only one computer lab for instruction at Willis Library, W130, and it is popular, so availability varies.
• Virtual instruction (Zoom or Teams) can often be scheduled for online classes, remote work or format preference!
• Prefer class page without live instruction?  Lilly will provide a library class page (in lieu of this general Sociology subject guide) custom to your class if you want to highlight more specific resources or databases for your topical Sociology class.
• Timing. The general library policy is to ask that you make your requests with at least 2 weeks minimum notice, but do not hesitate to reach out to me if you have questions or requests so we can discuss options.
• For requests outside of Sociology department affiliation, please complete this form: Instruction Session Scheduling (form) so it is referred to the correct Subject Librarian or contact your Subject Librarian