Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

Guide for Sociology research topics to support the UNT community. Maintained by Lilly Ramin, Sociology Subject Librarian

Feel free to click the links above to browse these new databases from ProQuest.

SAGE - Sage Journals Online

Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article not in print or online at UNT Libraries? Use Interlibrary Loan. Create & use your ILLiad account.

E-Journal Finder (NOTE: Use Books and More catalog search instead for ALL formats)

Browse Titles:

Other Ways to Find Articles:

About UNT Databases for Socology topics

UNT Libraries subscribes to many databases that include full text articles for your Sociology research assignments and projects. Just log on with your EUID & password for off campus access. Not sure where to start, try SocINDEX with Full Text (from EBSCO)

EBSCO Databases (for articles) --> click "Choose Databases" to add/subtract.

This list contains specific  EBSCO databases. There are alternatives to EBSCO you may also search, such as those from Proquest or Sage which are different vendors, so the look of these databases differ but search strategies and tips can be applied.  There may be unique e-journals included and or some overlap in databases.  Remember, research is a process. We are here to help if you need us!

.

Example:

Usually two is plenty, but sometimes you still have thousands of results. Want to limit further, try another variable. Perhaps try United States, or Texas -- what did you see?  What happens if you add databases?
Tip:  Click on the title of the article to get more information, or email it to yourself.

Locating articles online - Options (Databases, Online Articles or Guides)

Electronic Materials

Databases. E-Books (Full textbooks online), articles in e-journals, and streaming films and music.

  • Access:
    Use your EUID & Password, set up by the UNT ams system, to access e-books and databases off campus

  • Selection:
    If you know the name of the database you want to access, you can go to the Databases Search tab on the library homepage.

    Some of these are more relevant than others for your assignment or research paper, so feel free to contact us for help. If you are not sure which subject database to search for in your field, browse Subject Guides or contact a Subject Librarian Do you want a quick recommendation? Ask Us your library questions.

  •  UNT Libraries "Most Requested" section called  Electronic Resources includes these suggestions: Academic Search Complete |  EBSCOhost  (Academic Search and More)ScienceDirect  and more

Online Articles

Online Articles

  • Click on the Online Articles Tab on the library website homepage

    • UNT Libraries homepage screenshot with tabs

  • If you use this resource, you may get more results, spend more time going through the results, and refining your search.

  • Instead, you can search for subject specific journals narrowed by database can by the "databases tab" or library guides or Ask Us / AskUs@unt.edu for suggestions.

Screenshot (examples only) to accompany in class instruction

EBSCOhost Search example (SOCI 3000)

 

search example on single parents and gender roles in EBSCO

 

Additional Links

top