Welcome!

If you are new to UNT libraries,  or in your first year at UNT; I invite you to explore this First Year Experience Library Guide, review the New to UNT Libraries infographic, or click on the links which highlight just some of our many services. Thank you, and welcome to UNT!

Library overview for new users:
This is an overview of frequent new user questions. UNT Libraries has a official website for more.

Library locations and spaces:

• For all locations, you can consult the UNT Libraries hours [website]
• Each library location has in-house physical collections and items for check out and people who can help you search.
• Willis Library, includes other libraries:
  • Media Library: 2nd floor, Willis. Films. Games and more
  • Music Library: 4th floor, Willis. Physical and streaming music related materials, and experts
• Explore the 5 Floors of Willis:  Lower Level | First Floor| Second Floor| Third Floor| or Fourth Floor
  • Video tours on the Library Spaces page. Enter the stairwell for restrooms and water refill stations
• Sycamore Library
  • Sycamore Hall includes government resources, business collections, spaces and more.
• Discovery Park Library (Located off main campus)

  • Not on the main campus but on-campus shuttles can take you there or you can have items delivered to Willis Library.

• Frisco Landing Library (Located in Frisco, Texas) - Supports UNT Frisco programs and partnerships

• Booking study rooms, booths and pods: UNT Libraries spaces page has floor maps and room list. 
  • Visit the all spaces room reservations page for details on spaces. You can reserve a library space by using the scheduling tool
• UNT Libraries Campus Map (Library Marketing) [PDF] https://library.unt.edu/assets/documents/spaces/campus-map.pdf

Help and Services

• Subject & Course Guides: guides.library.unt.edu created by your Subject Librarians.
• Ask Us  (askus@unt.edu) if you have any library questions.
• Course Reserves: Items at the libraries for your class. Your instructor may have put resources on reserve this semester. Check your syllabus. Search by course or instructor last name.
• Use Interlibrary Loan  for non-UNT items you would like to request (limited services).
• Experts are available to help with in-house Digital Libraries and Special Collections especially if you need primary resources.
• The Services for Persons with Disabilities website includes more library services information.

Technology and online access:

• The Technology and Computing services website includes helpful library information on programs, equipment, tools and services,
  • For laptops at Willis, go to the Spark desk. Laptops are limited.  The Spark Laptop page may include a waiting list or lottery for longer term check out. Regular check out is 4 hours at a time (Tip: Set an alarm on your phone to avoid fees).
• Printing/Scanning/Copying at UNT Libraries 
  • Computers in Willis Library have access to the ‘Print Credit’ system for currently enrolled students through the student funded printers. Campus wide printing information is listed on the Student Computer Labs UNT Labs printing website.
• Access: Off campus? Use EUID login for online items (e-books, subscription databases, e-journals for articles, streaming audio & film).
• The Spark technology help desk enables library  laptop check out  and maintains the Spark Makerspace services and workshops. Physical locations in Willis Library, and Discovery Park Library.

New to UNT Libraries: Resources to get you started

• Updated Spring 2024. Click image to expand.

UNT Libraries Web Presence:

• Library Website has official information on hours, services, locations, library calendar and gateways to resources.
• Subject & Course Guides: Guides include resources presented by Subject Librarians/staff to help guide you with major-specific assignments and special topics.