Some items are only available on campus or will require authentication via EUID and Password at the point of use.
Once your research has been conducted, analyzed, tested, and refined, it's time to share it with a wider audience, through both formal publication and other forms of dissemination. It's also important to ensure that your work is archived and preserved for future researchers.
Authoring includes the entire process of writing, organizing, formatting, citing, and documenting your work for formal dissemination, whether that's in the form of a publication, conference paper, lecture, poster, exhibit, performance, or other type of presentation. Authors must be familiar with a varity of formats and styles of presentation in their disciplines as well as the requirements of publishers or platforms that they use to disseminate their work.
| Resource | Description | Link |
| Scholarly Communication Services | Discover a range of scholarly communication services and resources at UNT Libraries | https://library.unt.edu/scholarly-communication/ |
| Scholarly Writing Guide | This guide contains resources for faculty and students engaged in scholarly writing projects | https://guides.library.unt.edu/scholarlywriting |
| Resources for Authors & Editors | This guide includes resources for authors and editors of scholarly works | https://guides.library.unt.edu/authors-and-editors |
| Writing a Dissertation or Thesis Proposal | Books, websites, and powerpoints to help you write your dissertation or thesis proposal | https://guides.library.unt.edu/dissertation-thesis-proposal |
| Citations & Style Guide | Information and resources on documenting and citing your sources correctly in a variety of formats | https://guides.library.unt.edu/citations-style-guides |
| RefWorks | Learn how to use Refworks, a reference and research manager available to all UNT faculty, staff, and students | https://guides.library.unt.edu/rwnew |
Understanding your own rights as an author and the rights of other copyright holders, including authors and publishers, is an important part of the research process. You'll need to know what materials or content you can use in your own work, how to cite or attribute that work, what the terms of its use might be, and how you can both protect your rights and/or grant licenses (permissions) for other researchers to make use of your work.
| Resource | Description | Link |
| Copyright Advisory Services | Discover a range of services related to copyright offered by the UNT Libraries | https://library.unt.edu/services/copyright-advisory/ |
| Copyright Quick Reference Guide | Offers an overview of basic copyright terms and resources | https://guides.library.unt.edu/SCCopyright |
| Plagiarism Guide | A guide to help you understand what plagiarism is and how to avoid it. | https://guides.library.unt.edu/plagiarism |
| Creative Commons licensing | Learn more about open licenses and how they can help protect your copyright and allow for wider sharing of research | https://guides.library.unt.edu/SCCopyright/creative-commons |
| Author Rights Guide | Understand your rights as an author | https://guides.library.unt.edu/SCCopyright/author-rights |
Research impact can include formal metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF), h-indexes or citation counts for authors, or journal rankings, as well as alternative metrics (Alt Metrics) like views, downloads, shares, or other quantitative measures of your research's reach in or beyond your field. Visibility refers to less formal but equally important ways in which your work may be disseminated, shared, or accessed by various audiences. Online scholarly profiles, like ORCID or GoogleScholar, also provide platforms for making your research more visible and accessible.
| Resource | Description | Link |
| Increase Your Scholarly Impact Guide | A self-guided introduction to scholarly impact | https://guides.library.unt.edu/scholarlyimpact |
| Scholarly Identity & Research Profiles | A brief introduction to scholarly profiles | https://guides.library.unt.edu/scholarlyimpact/identity |
| Increase Your Digital Visibility | Strategies for increasing the reach and visibility of your scholarship | https://guides.library.unt.edu/scholarlyimpact/visibility |
Scholarly publishing includes a broad range of publication and dissemination options, from traditional university and academic book publishers, scholarly journals, conference proceedings, white papers, exhibits, performances, recordings, data & code, disciplinary repositories, and Open Access platforms. In addition to providing information and resources for finding, evaluating, and submitting to these kinds of publishers, the UNT Libraries also offers a number of library publishing options and platforms for UNT community members interested in making their work more broadly or freely available.
| Resource | Description | Link |
| Scholarly Publishing Services | Learn about the range of scholarly publishing services and resources available through the UNT Libraries | https://library.unt.edu/services/scholarly-publishing/ |
| UNT Open Books | A Pressbooks platform for open textbooks, monographs, and other openly-licensed texts produced by UNT authors | https://openbooks.library.unt.edu/ |
| Libraries Hosted Journals | An Open Journal Systems (OJS) platform for open access scholarly journals published by the UNT Libraries | https://journals.library.unt.edu/ |
| Digital Collections | The UNT Libraries extensive Digital Collections includes the Portal to Texas History, our Electronic Thesis & Dissertations, and our OER collection, among many others. | https://digital2.library.unt.edu/search/ |
| UNT Press | Our official university press located within the Libraries that publishes a broad range of academic and popular press books. | https://untpress.unt.edu/ |
Data sharing is an important aspect of research dissemination and publication. Many grant agencies require the sharing of data from funded research, either in designated repositories or other platforms like GitHub. Journals in some disiciplines also provide platforms for publishing data and analyses.
The UNT Libraries offers a number of options as well as consultations on how and where to share research data effectively. See the section below on "Archiving & Repositories" for more information.
| Resource | Description | Link |
| Data Management Guide | The UNT Libraries provides information for data management plan development and offers Open Access repositories for research data and publications created by UNT reseachers. | https://guides.library.unt.edu/datamanagement |
| Data Resources Guide | A colleciton of resources related to data services provided by UNT Libraries and other units at UNT | https://guides.library.unt.edu/data |
Open Access information is digital information that is online, free of charge, and free, in varying degrees, of most copyright and licensing restrictions. Open Access resources typically permit users to download, copy, print, display, distribute, search, index, and link to the information.
Open Access resources remain the intellectual property of their creators, who have attribution rights as well as control over the integrity of their work, often through the use of Creative Commons licenses.
The UNT Libraries helps support the discovery, use, creation, licensing, and dissemintation of Open Access materials, including open textbooks and monographs, open journals, and Open Educational Resources (OER).
| Resource | Description | Link |
| Open Access@UNT | Website for information on all our Open Access Initiatives | https://openaccess.unt.edu/ |
| Open Access Guide | A guide to a variety of OA resources and information | https://guides.library.unt.edu/open-access |
| OER Guide | A guide to resources on finding, using, and creating Open Educational Resources (OER), including open textbooks and course materials | https://guides.library.unt.edu/OER |
| UNT Open Books | A catalog of open textbooks published by the UNT Libraries and UNT Press | https://openbooks.library.unt.edu/about/catalog/ |
Institutional repositories are maintained by individual academic institutions. Our institutional repository is UNT Scholarly Works, and it is housed in the UNT Digital Library.
UNT Scholarly Works is the primary home for scholarly and creative work of the UNT Community, but we have also created sub-collections to highlight different types of work which are outlined below.
Faculty, staff, and students are welcome to submit material to UNT Scholarly Works, and our submission page highlights how to start that process.
| Resource | Description | Link |
|---|---|---|
| UNT Scholarly Works | This collection brings together articles, papers, artwork, music, research data, reports, presentations, and other scholarly and creative products representing the expertise in our university community. | https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/UNTSW/ |
| UNT Theses and Dissertations | This collection contains all of the theses and dissertations created by masters and doctoral students from programs that require them for the degree. | https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/UNTETD/ |
| UNT Data Repository | This is the collection datasets submitted to UNT Scholarly Works. | https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/UNTDRD/ |
| UNT Graduate Student Works | This collection houses graduate student works other than theses and dissertations. All materials have been previously accepted by a professional organization or approved by a faculty mentor. The collection includes, but is not limited to projects or problems in lieu of thesis, supplemental files associated with theses and dissertations, posters, recitals, presentations, articles, reviews, book chapters, exhibitions, and artwork. | https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/UNTGW/ |
| UNT Undergraduate Student Works | This collection presents scholarly and artistic content created by undergraduate students. All materials have been previously accepted by a professional organization or approved by a faculty mentor. Most classroom assignments are not eligible for inclusion. | https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/UNTUGW/ |
Federal repositories are maintained by federal agencies, and they house research created by their agency or grants they fund. Each agency has unique requirements for what must be submitted to their repositories or be made available to the public. If you have questions about these requirements, guidance can be found in online documentation, through your grant administrator, or from the library.
| Resource | Description | Link |
|---|---|---|
| NSF PAR | The NSF Public Access Repository (PAR) is the designated repository of NSF-funded peer-reviewed, published journal articles and conference papers. | https://par.nsf.gov/ |
| PubMed Central | PubMed Central (PMC) is an archive of biomedical sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health National Library of Medicine, but it also contains author manuscripts deposited through the NIH Manuscript Submission System and preprints from the NIH Preprint Pilot. | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ |
| OSTI | The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) houses classified and unclassified scientific and technical information from DOE-funded research and development activities. | https://www.osti.gov/ |
As the name implies, subject repositories are dedicated to particular areas or disciplines, and they can be community hubs for sharing research.
These repositories are also commonly referred to as preprint servers, but not all of these services are limited to preprints or other publication versions.
The lists of subject repositories are too long to include here, but the Open Access Directory maintains a list of subject repositories that can be a good place to start.
General repositories are not restricted by institution or subject. If you are not sure where to share your research or need ways to manage your research without institutional limitations, these resources can be good alternatives to other repositories.
| Resource | Description | Link |
|---|---|---|
| OSF | OSF, or Open Science Framework, supports you and your team throughout the research process. The service includes options for preregistration, organizing data, creating documentation, and sharing results. Think of it like Google Drive, but it's tailored to support researchers. | https://osf.io/ |
| Zenodo | Zenodo is a repository service that is not limited by subject, so anyone is able to submit material they would like to share. There are also features to limit access to content, so material can be shared for peer review, for example, without making it publicly available. | https://zenodo.org/ |