• The UNT Writing Center offers writing help to members of the UNT community, and Research and Innovation offers an editing service for those preparing grant applications.
• The UNT Libraries' Scholarly Writing Guide includes a number of resources for improving your scholarly writing.
• The Text and Academic Authors Association "provides professional development resources, industry news, and networking opportunities for textbook authors and authors of scholarly journal articles and books."
• Crossref Metadata Search or free DOI lookup: Crossref, which handles DOIs for most scholarly publishers, provides a service which lets you check whether a DOI exists for a given article, book, etc. These are helpful if you want to insert DOIs into citations that are missing them.
• Best Practices for Researchers on text recycling

• Perma.cc allows an author or editor to take a snapshot of a Web resource and cite that snapshot instead of its original URL.
• You can have the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine take a snapshot on demand through Save Page Now.
• You can use the Robust Links tool to take a snapshot in a web archive in a way that the link will fall back to another web archive if the first one is unavailable.

• Copyediting-L maintains a directory of freelance copyeditors.
• The EFA Job List lets you post a free advertisement seeking a freelance editor. (Search their member directory.) You can also search the ACES Editors for Hire directory. See below similar organizations abroad:
  • The Editors' Association of Canada has an online directory of editors.
  • The CIEP, based in the UK, lets you search their member directory (free) or post a paid advertisement seeking a freelance professional editor, proofreader or editorial project manager.
  • The AFEPI, based in Ireland, has directories of members and associates.
  • The Institute of Professional Editors, based in Australia, offers an Editors Directory.
• Editors of Color lets you search for and submit job postings for editors. There's also a directory from People of Color in Publishing.
• The Indigenous Editors Association, based in Canada, lets you post an ad to hire one of their members.
• The American Society for Indexing lets you search for an indexer or post an advertisement for a project. A similar organization abroad is the Australian and New Zealand Society of Indexers.
• Freelancer (freelancer.com), Upwork, and Fivrr match freelancers of all types with those seeking services.
• Editage and Cambridge Proofreading LLC find you an editor.
• Eloquenti offers a marketplace of freelancers and scientific experts for proofreading services, copy editing services, technical writing, grant writing, and book writing

Freelance copyeditor rates

• Editorial Freelancers Association-Editorial Rates: a chart that includes average rates based on survey data; individual editor rates may vary.

You may already know journals and publishers that peers in your field use to share their work. However, many conventional publishers require that you sign an author agreement in which you either transfer your copyright to the publisher or grant an exclusive license of your work. In either case, you may end up being unable to legally share your work with your students and colleagues, republish it in an edited collection, or revise it for a later publication. For more information, see the author's rights section of the UNT Libraries' Copyright Quick Reference Guide.

The UNT Libraries' Copyright Advisory Services can review a publisher's agreement with you and explain how to use the SPARC Addendum to  secure rights not included in a publishing agreement .

Here are some other resources on authors' rights from the Authors Alliance.

Are you considering a journal or publisher, but are unsure about it? Think. Check. Submit.

The Libraries also provides the following services for making your work available online:

• Assistance with research data management, including developing data management plans
• UNT Scholarly Works and UNT Data Repository - for preserving & sharing published work and data
• Aquiline Books - the UNT Libraries' scholarly publishing imprint