Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UNT Library Game Collection

This guide is for librarians interested in library game collection management.

Shelf of tabletop games

The Media Library endeavors to be a leader in support of gaming in academic libraries with an emphasis on creating collaborations and conducting research to set best practices and standards for others creating similar programs. Some of our goals are to:  

  • Support student and faculty research  
  • Enhance student collaboration and success with games and gaming 
  • Increase collaboration across UNT and the North Texas community  

The Media Library is a successfully established third place for students and student groups to learn and connect with one another through gaming. 

Collection Development Policy
Game collection development plans need to be flexible to adequately support coursework. Research related to games, their impact on society and culture, and the game industry are rapidly changing as new technology evolves. The Media Library game collection focuses on the use, creation, and impact of gaming. Games and equipment are collected to support students and faculty interested in research and recreation. 

Criteria for purchasing equipment and content

  • Support curriculum and collection goals
  • Top-rated or high popular interest
  • Historically relevant to game history
  • Push design and technology boundaries

Content collected

Research Support
This collection supports academic research on the technical aspects of game development, the study of mass media and popular culture, creative and educational game development, and student life.

This collection supports the following degrees

Game Studies and Design Degree / College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
This interdisciplinary program will provide students a strong liberal arts background for their study of games as vital cultural objects, theories and practice of game design and production, and teamwork skills with industry insight for the 21st century. 

  • Advanced Game Writing Workshop
  • Intermediate Game Design
  • Game Studies Capstone
  • Narrative Design and Leadership
  • Animated Design Theory and Methods
  • Intermediate Animation and 3D Design Motion Capture
  • Advanced Game Design
  • Game Design Pre-production
  • Game Art
  • Gaming Frameworks
  • Directing for Games 

Game Programming Certificate / Laboratory for Recreational Computing
The certificate in game programming is designed to prepare undergraduate students in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering to launch careers as programmers in the video game industry. 

  • Game Programming I
  • Game Programming II
  • Topics in Game Development
  • Programming Math and Physics for GamesAdvanced Topics in Game Development
  • Authoring Learning Games, Sims and Virtual Environments
  • 3D Game Programming

This collection also supports classes across disciplines

  • Race, Gender, and the Media: A Methods Approach (Journalism)
  • Hollywood and the Wild West (History)
  • Russian in the 20th and 21st Century (History)
  • New media Art: Experimental 3D (Visual Arts)
  • New Games Studio (Journalism)
  • Video Game Histories (Media Arts)
  • Perspectives on Video Games (Media Arts)
  • Narrative and Story Development in Game Writing (English)
  • Digital Game-based Learning (Learning Technologies)

Additional Links

top