Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UNT Library Game Collection

This guide is for librarians interested in library game collection management.

Image of old video games and consoles

The UNT Media Library began collecting video games and consoles in the fall of 2009 in support of video games, mass media and popular culture research, and various other programs at the University of North Texas. Tabletop games were added to this collection in 2010. Circulation of board games, video games, and consoles to the UNT community began in 2010. In 2016, the library began developing scenarios for escape rooms and breakouts. Resources for implementing breakouts became available for classroom use and events in the fall of 2017.

The material purchased for this collection fulfills the research, education, and recreation needs of UNT faculty, staff, and students. Criteria for purchase include games that support curriculum and collection goals, are top-rated or of high popular interest, are historically relevant to game history, or push design and technology boundaries. Collection goals are set each year with the current year’s budget and programs in mind but also include future goals in case additional funds become available.

Scholarship & Research
This collection supports scholarship and research on the technical aspects of game development, the study of mass media and popular culture, creative and educational game development, and student life. This collection supports coursework related to the Game Studies and Design Degree (College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences) and the Game Programming Certificate in the Laboratory for Recreational Computing (Department of Computer Science & Engineering).

Recreational Gaming
Games are being used in coursework but they also have recreational value. In many universities, library outreach seeks to not only introduce students to library services but also help with retention, especially among first-year students, by building a sense of community.

Academic libraries provide a campus space for students from diverse programs to meet and work together. Furthermore, libraries with gaming collections and programming are particularly well suited for community building. Most gaming includes social elements either through multiplayer games or discussion about single-player games. The majority of college students already participate in one or more forms of gaming. Librarians, with a little help from residence life coordinators, campus student groups, and social media, can create a physical social space for gaming in the library.

The Collection
The Media Library Collection includes video games, for all major consoles, gaming equipment, virtual reality devices, legacy consoles, tabletop games, breakouts and escape room supplies.

Video Games & Consoles
Patrons can check out video games for all major consoles. Gaming equipment (consoles, remotes, and accessories) for select formats of these games is also available for checkout. 

Video games
Game consoles
Game accessories
Game Accessibility devices
Virtual Reality (VR) devices

Legacy Games & Consoles
The library has curated a collection of legacy games and consoles for research and instruction. The consoles are 2nd through 7th generation. View the collection by searching Legacy Collection in the catalog.

Tabletop Games
The collection includes more than 800 tabletop games that can be played in the library or checked out. This collection includes a wide range of classic board games, party games, hobby games, card games, and role-playing games. You can view the collection by searching the subject tabletop games.

Breakouts and Escape Rooms
The Media Library develops escape rooms and breakout scenarios for use during events and as classroom learning resources. We not only provide the scenario for breakouts but also lend out any necessary equipment (puzzles, locks, documents). If you are interested in an existing scenario from Breakout EDU, modifying a scenario, or developing a new scenario, please contact the Media Library.

Additional Links

top