The UNT Media Library Game Collection fulfills the research, education, and recreation needs of UNT faculty, staff, and students. Collection priorities are set each year and scaled to align with the current year’s budget and program goals.
The video game collection began in 2009 with a small grant and has since expanded to include materials that support student recreation and research. The collection is used for student and staff programming, coursework, scholarship, and university initiatives such as esports and a game studies and design degree.
The Media Library provides a campus space for students from diverse programs to meet and work together. Gaming collections and programming are particularly well suited for community building and library outreach seeks to not only introduce students to library services but also help with retention, especially among first-year students, by building a sense of community. Most gaming includes social elements either through multiplayer games or discussion about single-player games. The majority of college students already participate in one or more forms of gaming.
This collection supports scholarship and research on the technical aspects of game development, the study of mass media and popular culture, creative and educational game development, and student life. This collection supports the following degrees:
Game Studies and Design Degree / College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
This interdisciplinary program will provide students a strong liberal arts background for their study of games as vital cultural objects, theories and practice of game design and production, and teamwork skills with industry insight for the 21st century.
Game Programming Certificate / Laboratory for Recreational Computing
The certificate in game programming is designed to prepare undergraduate students in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering to launch careers as programmers in the video game industry.
This collection also supports classes across disciplines.