The tabletop game collection began in 2010 with donations from International Games Day. In 2012 we began purchasing board games, card games, roleplaying games, and giant games for outreach and events. In 2015, we opened up the collection for circulation to the campus.
This collection is focused on the use, creation, and impact of gaming. Tabletop games are collected that support student, faculty, and staff interest in recreation and research, which includes the study of mass media and popular culture, creative and educational game development, and student life.
Criteria for purchase include:
The Library offers role-playing handbooks and accessories such as dice, figurines, and battle mats to our patrons.
Faculty requests and student interest have led to the creation of a small collection of Tarot cards housed with the game collection.
About half of the tabletop game collection is in the Media Commons, the rest in remote storage are accessible through the library catalog. Remote materials are delivered daily on request.
Large and small games are shelved separately to avoid smaller games getting lost at the back of a shelf. Games deemed small are labeled with a green sticker and noted in the catalog.
Faculty and staff are not assessed fines but students are fined $2 a day for each overdue item.
At return, our games are weighed on a scale (Tree Model HRB10001). If the weight is off by 3 or more grams the pieces are counted.
We do not lend our tabletop games or accessories through interlibrary loan.
Tabletop games present a different challenge for libraries but are not difficult to prepare for circulation. The UNT Library conducted a study on circulating tabletop games to determine best practices called Don't Just Roll the Dice: Simple Solutions for Circulating Game Collections Effectively (presentation) (article). These studies were used to guide the extent of our processing.
Processing includes:
|
Supplies
|
 |
|
Cutting Corners
|
 |
|
Glue the cloth down
|
|
