As of July 2023, the platform that supports the finding aids for the Music Library's Special Collections is not readily available off campus, so we invite you to browse our special collections using this list or by searching them on the Wayback Machine. To learn more about or access a Music Special Collection, get in touch with Music Special Collections Librarian Maristella Feustle at Maristella.Feustle@unt.edu.
Académie du Disque Français, 1878-1981
1878-1981
From Schubertiade:
A highly interesting and significant collection of letters, photographs and documents concerning the history of recordings in France, documenting the history of the Académie du Disque Français founded in Paris in 1951 by Colette, Maurice Yvain, Jean Fayard, and the poet Guy-Charles Cros, son of the inventor of the phonograph. Ninety items in all, various sizes, Paris and elsewhere, c.1878-1983. Its founding president was Arthur Honegger and it included among its ranks other composers, men of letters, such as Cocteau, critics and discophiles.
1.00 boxes/containers
Cecil Adkins and Alis Dickinson Collection, 1400-2015
1400-2015
The collection consists of 16 boxes of materials from the life and careers of Dr. Cecil Adkins (1932-2015) and Dr. Alis Dickinson (1936-2019), who were married in 1967 and both served on the faculty of the UNT College of Music.
16.00 boxes/containers
Dennis Askey Collection, 1949-2005
1949-2005
The collection consists of three boxes, and contains various discographies of Duke Ellington (including four copies of Askey's own work), ten years of the Duke Ellington Music Society Bulletin, materials from record clubs, VHS and Beta tapes, CDs, and film reels. The film reels include content related to jazz, and to Askey's work as a foreign service officer, with content from China and Afghanistan.
3.00 boxes/containers
Larry Austin Collection, 1955-2014
1955-2014
This collection consists 88 boxes of musical works by Larry Austin and includes his compositions, sound recordings, and videos/films.
88.00 boxes/containers
Edward Baird Collection, 1970-1985
1970-1985
The collection consists primarily of audio recordings of performances by Baird, along with a few other performers; and two books of Jewish liturgical settings and sacred music.
1.00 boxes/containers
Maudell Baker Collection, 1921-2019
1921-2019
The collection consists of three boxes of materials related to Maudell Baker's life and career.
3.00 boxes/containers
Rhodes S. Baker, Jr. Collection, 1924-1990
1924-1990
The collection consists about 14 boxes of papers related to Houston attorney Rhodes Baker's research and collection of Duke Ellington recordings, along with tape recordings, 78 r.p.m., and LP records.
14.00 boxes/containers
Phillip Barbosa Collection, 1957-2020
1957-2020
The collection consists of nine boxes of photos, programs, documents, and memorabilia from the Dallas Opera.
9.00 boxes/containers
Stefan Bardas Collection, 1961-1981
1961-1981
The collection consists of reel-to-reel recordings of Stefan Bardas' performances as a concert pianist.
1.00 boxes/containers
Bergé Family Collection, 1862-1933
1862-1933
The collection consists of one box of compositions by Louis Bergé, William Edward Bergé, and other family members, as well as works published by the Bergé company or collected by family members.
1.00 boxes/containers
Blue Amberol Cylinders, 1912-1929
1912-1929
The collection consists of approximately 180 audio cylinders from Thomas Edison's Blue Amberol line, published from 1912 through 1929. Popular songs (1500-5719) are especially well represented, along with almost the entire "Bohemian" series (9850-9867).
5.00 boxes/containers
Paul Bonneau Collection, 1988-2015
1988-2015
The collection consists of six boxes of Dr. Bonneau's music compositions and arrangements, along with material related to the memorial concert held in his honor in April of 2015, as well as personal effects and books.
6.00 boxes/containers
Emanuel Borok Collection, 1973-2016
1973-2016
The collection consists of 61 boxes of scores, parts, and other materials from the career of Emanuel Borok (1944-2020).
61.00 boxes/containers
Brian Bowman Collection, 1891-2014
1891-2014
The collection consists of 8 boxes of euphonium and other brass music.
8.00 boxes/containers
George Bragg Boy Choir Collection, circa 1945 - circa 2007
circa 1945 - circa 2007
The collection consists of Bragg's personal papers and those related to the operation of the Texas Boys Choir, photographs and slides, sheet music, books, scrapbooks, and ephemera, as well as sound recordings, costumes, and display items from the Texas Boys Choir. Also present is a small, but growing collection of materials from other boys' choirs in the United States.
75.00 boxes/containers
Leon Breeden Collection, 1919-2010
1919-2010
The collection consists of Leon Breeden's extensive, and often self-selected archival materials from his entire career, during which time the One O'Clock Lab Band and the UNT Jazz Studies program rose to international prominence. Also present are personal recordings and writing, compositions, memorabilia, photos, and materials from his time at Texas Christian University, in New York City, and at Grand Prairie High School.
220.00 boxes/containers
Barry S. Brook and Malena Kuss Collection: The Universe of Music: A History, 1979-2007
1979-2007
The collection consists of 10 boxes of correspondence and works in progress documenting the creation and development of The Universe of Music: A History project (1979–2007).
10.00 boxes/containers
Richard Brooks Collection, 1961-2013
1961-2013
The collection consists of 16 boxes of original compositions and sketches.
16.00 boxes/containers
Bruce Broughton Collection, 1960-2018
1960-2018
The collection consists of 67 boxes of original music compositions spanning the length of Bruce Broughton's career. With over 600 items, the collection demonstrates the broad scope and enduring cultural impact of Broughton's work, which includes music for the motion pictures Silverado and The Old Man and the Sea, the themes for the television series JAG and Tiny Toon Adventures, and numerous concert works.
67.00 boxes/containers
Ben A. Brown Ephemera, Date unknown
Date unknown
The collection consists of one box of company records and memorabilia from Ben A. Brown, proprietor of the Music Exchange sheet music store in New York City, on the tenth floor of the Professional Music Building at 141 West 46th Street.
1.00 boxes/containers
Anshel Brusilow Collection, 1950-1970
1950-1970
The collection consists of 8 boxes of orchestral works which Brusilow selected primarily from the performing library of what was then the UNT School of Music. Most selections are core repertory from major composers, but less well-known works include Carlton Cooley's Vexations, Bill Holcombe's Hey Look Me Over, Robert Kurka's The Good Soldier Schweik Suite, Benjamin Lees' Chamber Concerto, Andreas Makris' Concerto for Strings, Francesco Manfredini's Concerto for Two Trumpets, Strings, and Continuo, Vittorio Rieti's Concertino for Flute, Viola, Cello, Harp, and Harpsichord, Bill Robinson's I Ching, Cycle for Solo Violin and Symphony No. 2, David Sheinfeld's Dialogues, Peter Warlock's Capriol Suite, and Richard Yardumian's Chapters 13 and 14 from The Story of Abraham.
8.00 boxes/containers
Simon Bucharoff Collection, 1887-1992
1887-1992
The collection consists of fifty boxes, mainly of the compositions and papers of Simon Bucharoff (1881-1955), along with materials related to Bucharoff's brother, Isadore Buchhalter, papers related to activities of Bucharoff's estate, one piece of realia, and the documentation that accompanied the collection from the University of Houston. Bucharoff's papers consist mainly of correspondence, but also include clippings, photographs, concert programs, promotional materials, and writings on non-musical subjects. The materials are predominantly from 1916 through 1967, with a smaller number of materials from before and after that period.
The scores comprise the most complete collection of Bucharoff's works that has yet been assembled and organized. His papers chronicle the his rise to prominence as a pianist, and then as a composer, the struggles of the 1920s and onward, his attempts to promote and publish his works, and reflect the personality, worldview, and spirituality that informed his works.
50.00 boxes/containers
Charles Burkhart Collection, circa 1970 - 2022
circa 1970 - 2022
This donation consists of graphs of some 200 individual compositions or excerpts. Each is placed in a separate manila folder, and the folders are grouped in fourteen categories, as shown below. Each category is placed in a single, usually colored, large folder. Originally the categories consisted of musical forms only, but as the collection grew, other categories were (inconsistently) added. Oddly, the category "Large Part-Forms," included in the 2016 donation, is absent here. The few examples of it are placed in other categories.
1.00 boxes/containers
