As of July 2023, the platform that supports the finding aids for the Music Library's Special Collections is not readily available off campus, so we invite you to browse our special collections using this list or by searching them on the Wayback Machine. To learn more about or access a Music Special Collection, get in touch with Music Special Collections Librarian Maristella Feustle at Maristella.Feustle@unt.edu.
Regina Music Box Records, 1892-1921
1892-1921
The collection consists of six boxes of metal Regina Music Box records of popular songs, folk songs, and excerpts of well known classical works.
6.00 boxes/containers
Luigi Ricci Collection of Italian Opera Libretti, 1784-1953
1784-1953
The collection consists of 2 boxes of opera libretti from the collection of Luigi Ricci (1893-1981). Ricci acquired these items from the collections of Francesco Maria Albini (1829-1917) and Alberto Cametti (1871-1935). Most descriptions are taken from a catalog compiled by Robert C. Simon and Leslee V. Wood, and provided by J & J Lubrano.
2.00 boxes/containers
Lou Robin Instantaneous Records, 1942-1953
1942-1953
The collection consists of one box of 10-inch instantaneous records, primarily of recordings of radio broadcasts of major jazz artists including Duke Ellington, Les Brown, Gene Krupa, Nat King Cole, Tommy Dorsey, and Woody Herman.
1.00 boxes/containers
Jack Roberts Recordings and Photographs, 1924-1995
1924-1995
The collection consists of two boxes of reel-to-reel tapes, cassettes, photographs, programs, and newspaper clippings from former UNT piano professor Jack Roberts, who served on the music faculty from 1957-1999. Reel-to-reel tapes comprise most of the collection, and are primarily of Roberts' own performances in solo and ensemble settings, along with some performances by students and colleagues.
2.00 boxes/containers
Robert J. "Bob" Rogers Collection, 1924-2013
1924-2013
The collection consists of three boxes of scrapbooks, manuscript music, and compact discs related to music performed, written, or arranged by Bob Rogers, along with awards and memorabilia.
3.00 boxes/containers
Michael P. Romano, Sr. Collection, 1930-1990
1930-1990
The collection consists of about 20 boxes of reel-to-reel and cassette tapes, with performances by numerous Swing-Era bands including Artie Shaw, Count Basie, and many others. The principal focus of the collection, however, is Benny Goodman, with live performances, airchecks, and electrical transcriptions.
20.00 boxes/containers
Rusty Rush Collection, 1960-1988
1960-1988
The collection consists of one box of rare or unique materials in conjunction with the larger set of commercially released books and recordings received from Rusty Rush.
1.00 boxes/containers
Jerry Samuels Collection, 1973-2003
1973-2003
The collection consists of two boxes of assorted papers and audio recordings from Jerry Samuels. Many of the recordings are of educational materials or recordings of music-related workshops and conferences.
2.00 boxes/containers
James Schaeffer Center for Contemporary Opera Collection, 1982-2018
1982-2018
The collection consists of twelve boxes of materials related to the Center for Contemporary Opera, including scores, libretti, correspondence, programs, magazines, and photographs. Many of the works were new commissions and appear in incomplete draft or excerpted form. Most of the accompanying correspondence is addressed to Jim Shaeffer and features a creator’s pitch of their work or performance instructions.
12.00 boxes/containers
David M. Schimmel, Date unknown
Date unknown
The collection consists of the papers of David M. Schimmel, including compositions and teaching materials.
8.00 boxes/containers
Silvio and Isabel Scionti Collection, 1926-1943
1926-1943
The collection consists of one box of scores and manuscripts, both published and unpublished, programs, newspaper clippings, and photographs related to the careers of Silvio and Isabel Scionti.
1.00 boxes/containers
Singing Eagles Collection, Date unknown
Date unknown
The collection consists of recordings from UNT alumnae and past UNT students who went on to have prominent careers in popular music, including Roy Orbison, Pat Boone, Meatloaf, and Don Henley. The collection is by no means a comprehensive record of commercially-successful North Texas musicians, but rather a growing document of some of the more prolific artists who have studied at North Texas.
This collection occasionally accrues new items.
4.00 boxes/containers
Frank Slay Collection, 1951-2017
1951-2017
The collection consists of five boxes of papers and recordings from the life and work of songwriter and producer Frank Slay.
5.00 boxes/containers
Christopher Small Collection, undated
Undated
The collection consists of one box containing 17 spiral-bound books of photocopies of handwritten notes by Christopher Small; gaps in the numbering of the books indicate that some volumes may be missing. Also present are a paper inventory of the collection, and a 3.5" floppy disk which has so far been unreadable. The notebooks are undated, but consist of Small's commentaries on publications about music and culture published between 1930 and 1985.
1.00 boxes/containers
Julia Smith Collection (Music), 1920-1989
1920-1989
The collection consists of approximately 67 boxes of music books, scores, correspondence, memorabilia, manuscripts, photographs, and recordings relating to the career of composer and University of North Texas alumna, Julia Smith (1905-1989), as well as Smith's handwritten transcriptions of more than a dozen scores by Aaron Copland.
67.00 boxes/containers
Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji Music Scores, 1915-1994
1915-1994
The collection consists of 16 boxes of mostly oversized scores of compositions by Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji.
16.00 boxes/containers
Source: Music of the Avant-Garde, 1967-1973
1967-1973
The collection consists of 47 boxes related to the publication of Source: Music of the Avant-Garde, including a complete run of issues as well as unpublished materials and sound recordings.
47.00 boxes/containers
Jon and Sondra Steele Collection, 1945-1976
1945-1976
The collection consists of eleven boxes, primarily containing ensemble arrangements of popular songs and original compositions (including materials for a soundtrack to The Tony Fontane Story), as well as sheet music, correspondence, song lyrics, study materials for music composition, and newspaper clippings.
11.00 boxes/containers
Standard Program Library Collection, 1940-1959
1940-1959
The collection consists of 514 16-inch radio transcription discs published by Standard Radio Transcription Services. Individual program discs contain a diverse array of content from jazz artists (Art Tatum, Duke Ellington, Tommy Dorsey, Jimmy Dorsey) to popular acts (Lawrence Welk, Frank Yankovic, Ozzie Nelson, Bob Crosby) to utility audio for radios, such as interludes or short musical segments to introduce weather forecasts or advertisements.
514.00 boxes/containers
