As of July 2023, the platform that supports the finding aids for the Music Library's Special Collections is not readily available off campus, so we invite you to browse our special collections using this list or by searching them on the Wayback Machine. To learn more about or access a Music Special Collection, get in touch with Music Special Collections Librarian Maristella Feustle at Maristella.Feustle@unt.edu.
Gene Hall Collection, 1944-1993
1944-1993
The collection consists of sixteen boxes of papers, correspondence, memorabilia, newspaper clippings, and music for jazz ensembles of various sizes, as well as one piece of realia.
16.00 boxes/containers
Ralph Hartsock Flower Mound Ensemble Collection, 1995-2020
1995-2020
The collection consists of three boxes of materials documenting the activities of multiple ensembles in Flower Mound, Texas, including the Flower Mound Symphony Orchestra, the Flower Mound Chamber Orchestra, The Celestial Wind Quartet, and other groups that rehearsed and performed at the Trietsch Memorial United Methodist Church.
3.00 boxes/containers
William J. Haseltine Collection, 1940-2018
1940-2018
The collection consists of 33 boxes of recordings of the Stan Kenton band and other jazz bands, including a considerable set of British bands musicians, such as Vic Lewis and Jack Parnell.
33.00 boxes/containers
John J. Haynie Collection, 1936-2006
1936-2006
The collection consists of 21 boxes of papers and research materials related to the work and career of John J. Haynie, a major figure in trumpet pedagogy, and former faculty member of the UNT College of Music.
21.00 boxes/containers
Booton Herndon Collection, 1963-1964
1963-1964
The collection consists of six boxes of materials related to Herndon's 1964 book The Sweetest Music This Side of Heaven: The Guy Lombardo Story, including extensive typed transcripts of interviews with Guy, Lebert, and Carmen Lombardo, and others, along with drafts of the book up to the published version.
6.00 boxes/containers
Helen Hewitt Microfilms, Date unknown
Date unknown
The collection consists of 145 microfilms of early European music manuscripts, as well as books and related documents.
145.00 boxes/containers
Helen Hewitt Music Research Collection, 1925-1978
1925-1978
The collection consists of eleven boxes of materials from Dr. Hewitt's research and teaching, and primarily professional correspondence. Those materials include manuscript transcriptions from centuries-old music manuscripts scattered in libraries across Europe, research for articles and conference papers, teaching materials and student projects, speeches, and unpublished writings, along with a box of concordance cards from the preparation of her edition of Ottaviano Petrucci's Harmonices musices odhecaton A.
11.00 boxes/containers
Anna Harriet Heyer Collection, 1930-2002
1930-2002
The collection consists of 27 boxes of materials concerned with Miss Heyer's career, research, publications, and personal hobbies, as well as historical materials related to the development of the UNT Music Library.
27.00 boxes/containers
Woody Herman Society Collection, Date unknown
Date unknown
The collection consists of the official records of the Woody Herman Society, along with an extensive set of photo albums, scrapbooks, and memorabilia (including Woody Herman's music stand) collected by Al and Anna Julian.
16.00 boxes/containers
Lloyd Hibberd Collection, circa 1920 - 1965
circa 1920 - 1965
The collection consists of eleven boxes of teaching materials, class notes, bibliographic materials, and writings by former North Texas music professor Lloyd Hibberd.
11.00 boxes/containers
Bert Hile Collection, 1913-1997
1913-1997
The collection consists of 2593 records, the vast majority of which are dance music records from 1970 through 1989. Many of them are rare. Items are browsable by searching the phrase "from the collection of Bert Hile" in the UNT Libraries catalog, or at this link.
2593.00 boxes/containers
Richard Hogan Collection, 1973-2000
1973-2000
The collection consists of 6 boxes of photos, publicity materials, and cassette tapes of interviews from Richard Hogan.
6.00 boxes/containers
David Earl Holt Collection, 1947-1996
1947-1996
The collection consists of six boxes of original compositions, arrangements, correspondence, photographs from Holt's career as a trombonist, and assorted sound recordings and media files.
6.00 boxes/containers
Paula Homer Collection, 1991-2009
1991-2009
The collection consists of 17 boxes of media from UNT Opera performances directed by Prof. Homer, and other materials related to her career with the UNT College of Music.
17.00 boxes/containers
Howard Opera Collection, 1880-1951
1880-1951
The collection consists of two boxes of libretti and other materials primarily associated with the Metropolitan Opera of New York. General managers named on the materials help to approximate date ranges for individual items, including Henry E. Abbey, John B. Schoeffe and Maurice Grau (beginning 1891, with Grau as sole manager from 1896-1903), Heinrich Conried (1903-1908), Guilio Gatti-Casazza (1908-1935), Edward Johnson (1935-1950), and Rudolf Bing (1950-1792). Titles premiered by the Met are also indicated. Some items also have newspaper clippings or program excerpts pasted or affixed with straight pins on inside pages.
The identity of the "Howard" associated with this collection is not known, but previous owners wrote their names on many items, including Louise Anson, Anna G. DeForest, Henry P. DeForest, Helen I. Buck, Andrew Gilmour, M.D., Mrs. Theodore Bliss, Louise van Wagenen, Eleanor V. Van Wagenen, and G.W. (or H.W.) Vidal.
2.00 boxes/containers
International Symposium on the Sociology of Music Education Collection, 1997-2018
1997-2018
The collection consists of one box of publications of the International Symposium on the Sociology of Music Education.
1.00 boxes/containers
Don Jacoby Collection, 1959-1999
1959-1999
The collection consists of four boxes, which primarily contain scores of works and arrangements by Jacoby and others, along with other papers and a small collection of sound and video recordings.
4.00 boxes/containers
Carl Johnson Collection, Date unknown
Date unknown
The collection consists of audio equipment and compositions by Carl Johnson.
10.00 boxes/containers
Jazz Studies Collection, 1947-2008
1947-2008
The collection consists of materials generated by or related to the Jazz Studies program at the University of North Texas College of Music.
27.00 boxes/containers
Keith Johnson Collection, 1960-2014
1960-2014
The collection consists of two boxes of personal papers from the career of Keith Johnson, including writings, correspondence, performance programs, and teaching materials.
2.00 boxes/containers
Merritt Johnson Collection, 1927-2017
1927-2017
The collection consists of six boxes of Merritt Johnson's compositions, mainly in manuscript form or printed with the Musicwriter typewriter, as well as correspondence, music sketchbooks, and materials related to donor Susan Vaughan's efforts to perserve Johnson's music and pedagogy.
6.00 boxes/containers
