This booklet contains breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack, and low-calorie menus and recipes that do not cost much money and are easy to prepare. If you use food stamps, it can help you get the most for them. Some of the recipes here are old favorites, and some are new. The recipes typically contain less fat, cholesterol, salt, and sugar than you may be used to. Only the low-calorie menus say how much food you should eat. How much of the other foods you need depends on your age, sex, size, weight, and how active you are. You can use the serving size given with each recipe as a guide to how much of these and similar foods to eat.

In the late 1920s, the USDA sponsored a radio show called "Housekeepers' Chats," hosted by Aunt Sammy, the wife of Uncle Sam. The show featured advice on housekeeping as well as menus and recipes. This pamphlet features general advice on meal-planning, followed by pre-printed templates for recording menus and recipes off the radio from the forthcoming 1928–29 broadcasts. (Recipes from the earlier broadcasts had already been collected in an earlier publication entitled Aunt Sammy's Radio Recipes.

This booklet explains the benefits of dried whole eggs and how to use them to get the best results. Includes several pages of recipes.

The primary purpose of the USDA-funded Michigan Summer Food Service Program is to provide food service to children during periods when area schools are closed for summer vacation. These simple, nutritious, inexpensive recipes, conveniently displayed in a spiral-bound flip-book format, are for mostly familiar, dishes that are likely to appeal to most children. Instructions yield anywhere from 12 to 100 servings.

This publication includes several creditable quick bread recipes: banana bread, ginger bread, zucchini or carrot or lemon bread, and two versions of pumpkin or applesauce or strawberry or sweet potato bread. These quick bread recipes have been modified to comply with the Child Care Food Program standards as creditable bread alternates. Most recipes make around 32 servings.

Contains a series of rotational menus and quantity recipes for 50 servings each (with space for an alternative number of servings to be written in).

Recipes and suggestions for incorporating cheese into breakfast, salads, snacks, sandwiches, desserts, and main dishes.

Evaporated milk is fresh whole milk that has had half the water removed and vitamin D added. It is then canned to keep it fresh. This pamphlet includes recipes and tips for using and storing evaporated milk.

Recipes, and instructions on on how to use instant nonfat milk to make fluid skim milk, and how to use that skim milk to extend whole milk.

Also available online:
Instant Nonfat Dry Milk: A Good Choice for the Thrifty Family (1966 edition) at Internet Archive.

Recipes and tips on how to use nonfat milk as a substitute for fresh milk for drinking and cooking, and instructions on how to mix dry milk and how to use dry milk to extend whole milk.

Facts about nutritional benefits of fruit, hints on buying and preparing fresh, frozen, and canned fruit, and recipes.

This brochure contains recipes as well as general instructions for preparing fresh, frozen, and canned vegetables. Also includes tips on buying vegetables.

Several recipes featuring both fresh and canned fruits and vegetables.

Contains several recipes and suggestions for incorporating raisins into the diet.

Also available online:
Canned Chopped Meat or Canned Luncheon Meat: A Good Choice for the Thrift yFamily (1966 edition) at Internet Archive.
Canned Chopped Meat or Canned Luncheon Meat: A Good Choice for the Thrift Family (1966 edition) at HathiTrust..

Dry beans are the most economical choice in the meat food group. This pamphlet provides recipes for using cooked beans in soups or salads, with meats, or by themselves.

Revised version of Beef and Pork: A Good Choice for the Thrifty Family (1967 edition)

Explains the benefits of eating eggs and provides a variety of recipes to demonstrate the many ways eggs can be cooked and incorporated into our diet.
Also available online:
Eggs: A Good Choice for the Thrifty Family (1966 edition)

Recipes utilizing fresh, frozen, or canned fish. Includes instructions for thawing frozen fish.

Chicken and turkey recipes and information on how to thaw frozen poultry.

Recipes and various ways to use flour in cooking.

Bulgur is wheat that has been cooked, dried, and cracked. It has been eaten since Biblical days. This pamphlet provides recipes and suggestions for serving bulgur in a variety of ways, including in main dishes, soups, salads, or muffins, or even just by itself.

Recipes and ways to serve white or yellow corn grits.

Recipes and advice for incorporating yellow or white cornmeal into inexpensive, healthy family meals.

Instructions for boiling macaroni and a variety of recipes featuring macaroni in salads, soups, main dishes, and even for breakfast.

Recipes for preparing enriched rice in a salad, side dish, main dish, or dessert.

Recipes and advice on the many uses of rolled oats in cooking.

Rolled wheat is an economical, quick-cooking whole grain that can be used in place of rolled oats in recipes. This pamphlet provides several recipes for cookies, pancakes, cake, and more savory dishes such as meat loaf.

This booklet contains over 100 recipes collected by the Food and Nutrition Service over the years from participants and cooperators in its Family Feeding Programs. These recipes offer creative suggestions for using low-cost ingredients to prepare nutritions meals. They have not been formally tested by the USDA, but can be said to bear the test of time.

This cookbook features a collection of recipes from the Recipes for Healthy Kids Competition. The top recipes in each category have been standardized for cookbooks for homes, child care centers, and schools. The recipes in the cookbook feature foods both children and adults should consume more of: dark green and orange vegetables, dry beans and peas, and whole grains. All of these healthy recipes are low in total fat, saturated fat, sugar and sodium. With fun names like Porcupine Sliders, Smokin' Powerhouse Chili, and Squish Squash Lasagna, these kid-tested, kid-approved recipes are sure to please children and be an instant hit!

This cookbook features a collection of recipes from the Recipes for Healthy Kids Competition. The top recipes in each category have been standardized for cookbooks for homes, child care centers, and schools. The recipes in the cookbook feature foods both children and adults should consume more of: dark green and orange vegetables, dry beans and peas, and whole grains. All of these healthy recipes are low in total fat, saturated fat, sugar and sodium. With fun names like Porcupine Sliders, Smokin' Powerhouse Chili, and Squish Squash Lasagna, these kid-tested, kid-approved recipes are sure to please children and be an instant hit!

This cookbook features a collection of recipes from the Recipes for Healthy Kids Competition. The top recipes in each category have been standardized for cookbooks for homes, child care centers, and schools. The recipes in the cookbook feature foods both children and adults should consume more of: dark green and orange vegetables, dry beans and peas, and whole grains. All of these healthy recipes are low in total fat, saturated fat, sugar and sodium. With fun names like Porcupine Sliders, Smokin' Powerhouse Chili, and Squish Squash Lasagna, these kid-tested, kid-approved recipes are sure to please children and be an instant hit!

This publication has been prepared to facilitate the work of the U.S. Department of Agriculture in providing technical assistance in the development of material for school lunch and to help provide those responsible for preparing the lunches with recipes from all sources written more uniformly. Effective use of this publication requires an understanding of the operations of the National School Lunch Program. The following school lunch publications published by the U.S. Department of Agriculture are basic references:

• Quantity Recipes for Type A School Lunches, PA-631. October 1965
• Food Buying Guide for Type A School Lunches, PA-270. January 1964
• A Menu Planning Guide for Type A School Lunches, PA-719, May 1966

Recipes and tips for grilling seafood. This method of cooking takes only a few minutes, adds very little fat, and is easy to clean up. 8-page pamphlet is printed on one folded sheet.

Recipes and tips for grilling seafood. Recipes and tips for grilling seafood. This method of cooking takes only a few minutes, adds very little fat, and is easy to clean up. 8-page pamphlet is printed on one folded sheet.

A wide variety of delicious, colorful, and easy-to-prepare appetizers prepared from fish and shellfish. Many are low in calories and low in fat. The title—which wraps around from the back to the front cover—is a foreshadowing of the whimsically alliterative names given to many of these tasty tidbits; e.g., Biloxi Butter, Caviar Crown, Hen House Homards, King Crab Canapes, Nor'East Nibbles, Skewered Scallops, and Tuna Tomato Teasers.
Also available online:
Nautical Notions for Nibbling at NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service Scientific Publications Office website.

Information on selecting and purchasing fishery products. Also includes instructions for various methods of cooking fish and shellfish. Restaurant owners and mass feeders will find this a reliable teaching aid.

Recipes and tips for American soldiers on how to plan and prepare more nutritious meals in order to save money and stop relying on unhealthy and expensive convenience foods.
Also available online:
Cooking Guide for Soldiers at Army Public Health Center website

This guide is intended for use by health professional during consulations with clients. It includes tips for planning and preparing nutritious meals, shopping on a budget, and saving money with a crockpot. Includes several recipes.

Collection of recipes contributed by individuals associated with Los Angeles Air Force Base.

One of the most ready available and most reliable methods of preventing heart disease is diet modification. The recipes in this cookbook are intended to help reduce the number of fat calories in one's diet to less than 30 percent of total calories and thereby reduce the level of cholesterol and triglycerides.
Also available online:
The Healthy Heart Cookbook at HathiTrust.

Mainly advice on how to select and enjoy heart-healthy foods, but this publication contains one recipe—a Spanish translation of a Red Beans and Rice recipe from the cookbook Down Home Healthy: Family Recipes of Black American Chefs Leah Chase and Johnny Rivers, issued by the National Cancer Institute.
Also available online:
Dieta para un corazón saludable at Google Books.
Dieta para un corazón saludable at HathiTrust.

This is mainly general tips on choosing heart-healthy foods rather than a cookbook, but there is one recipe—for Red Beans and Rice—that is excerpted from the cookbook Down Home Healthy: Family Recipes of Black American Chefs Leah Chase and Johnny Rivers, issued by the National Cancer Institute.
Also available online:
Eating for a Healthy Heart at Google Books.
Eating for a Healthy Heart at HathiTrust.

5 a Day for Better Health was a national nutrition program to encourage Americans to eat 5 or more servings of fruits and vegetables every day for better health. It was sponsored by the National Cancer Institute in cooperation with the Produce for Better Health Foundation, a nonprofit organization that promotes the fruit and vegetable industry. This cookbook includes tips on incorporating fruits and vegetables into your diet and includes many recipes, divided into "Official 5 a Day Recipes," which must meet certain criteria; "Smoothlicious 5 a Day Recipes," which are smoothies, shakes, and vegetable drinks; and "Recipes for a Healthy Heart" features recipes from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. The somewhat chaotic layout for this publication is a result of the pages being downloaded from a (now defunct) web site with little change in format.
Also available online:
5 a Day: A National Program to Increase Fruit and Vegetable Intake at Google Books
5 a Day: A National Program to Increase Fruit and Vegetable Intake at HathiTrust

Low-fat, high-fiber adaptations of traditional recipes representing a variety of Spanish-speaking countries. Each recipe appears in Spanish and English on facing pages.
Also available online:
Celebre la cocina hispana (2000 edition) at Google Books.
Celebre la cocina hispana (2000 edition) at HathiTrust.

Low-fat, high-fiber adaptations of traditional recipes representing a variety of Spanish-speaking countries. Each recipe appears in Spanish and English on facing pages.
Also available online:
Celebre la cocina hispana (1996 edition) at Google Books.
Celebre la cocina hispana (1996 edition) at HathiTrust.

Low-fat, high-fiber adaptations of traditional recipes representing a variety of Spanish-speaking countries. Each recipe appears in Spanish and English on facing pages.
Also available online:
Celebre la cocina hispana (1995 edition) at Internet Archive.

Traditional African-American soul food recipes typically include many healthy vegetables, such as dark leafy greens, sweet potatoes, and high-fiber black-eyed peas, but they are often prepared with ingredients that add too much saturated fat, calories and salt to the diet, contributing to African Americans suffering from higher rates of high blood pressure, Type 2 diabetes, heart disease, and some types of cancer. This publication contains healthy versions of traditional recipes, and also provides tips for making a few simple changes that can lead to a healthier lifestyle.
Also available online:
Down Home Healthy Cookin': Recipes and Healthy Cooking Tips at HathiTrust.

Traditional African-American soul food recipes typically include many healthy vegetables, such as dark leafy greens, sweet potatoes, and high-fiber black-eyed peas, but they are often prepared with ingredients that add too much saturated fat, calories and salt to the diet, contributing to African Americans suffering from higher rates of high blood pressure, Type 2 diabetes, heart disease, and some types of cancer. This publication contains healthy versions of traditional recipes, and also provides tips for making a few simple changes that can lead to a healthier lifestyle. This is a reprint of the 1995 edition.
Also available online:
Down Home Healthy Cookin': Recipes and Healthy Cooking Tips at HathiTrust.

The recipes, information, and advice in this booklet have been chosen to help solve five common eating problems caused by the different types of cancer and their treatments—nausea and vomiting, loss of appetite, mouth soreness and dryness, tired feeling, and intestinal upset.
Also available online:
Eating Hints: Recipes and Tips for Better Nutrition During Cancer Treatment at Google Books.
Eating Hints: Recipes and Tips for Better Nutrition During Cancer Treatment at HathiTrust.

The recipes, information, and advice in this booklet have been chosen to help cancer patients eat the kinds of foods that can help them to feel better and stay stronger during treatment.
Also available online:
Eating Hints: Tips & Recipes for Better Nutrition During Cancer Treatment at Google Books.
Eating Hints: Tips & Recipes for Better Nutrition During Cancer Treatment at HathiTrust.

The recipes, information, and advice in this booklet have been chosen to help cancer patients eat the kinds of foods that can help them to feel better and stay stronger during treatment.
Also available online:
Eating Hints: Recipes & Tips for Better Nutrition During Cancer Treatment at Google Books.
Eating Hints: Recipes & Tips for Better Nutrition During Cancer Treatment at HathiTrust.

This bilingual (English & Spanish texts printed back-to-back) meal planner is complete with delicious, healthy recipes for every day of the week. It includes tips to manage diabetes. Photos of appetizing food and a practical design make the meal planner a terrific addition to any kitchen.
Also available online:
Recipe and Meal Planner Guide / Recetas y plan de comidas at HathiTrust.

Heart disease is the leading cause of death for African Americans. This recipe book brings together many favorite African American recipes, prepared in a heart-healthy way—lower in saturated fat, sugar, and sodium. It shows how to prepare dishes in ways that help protect you and your friends and family from heart disease and stroke, and includes temperature rules for safe cooking and tips for eating right when time or money is tight.

Heart disease is the leading cause of death for African Americans. This recipe book brings together many favorite African American recipes, prepared in a heart-healthy way—lower in saturated fat, sugar, and sodium. It shows how to prepare dishes in ways that help protect you and your friends and family from heart disease and stroke. This updated recipe book includes new recipes, along with some old favorites, and includes recipe substitutions for heart healthy cooking and temperature rules for safe cooking.

Heart disease is the first and stroke is the third leading cause of death for African Americans. This recipe book brings together many favorite African American recipes, prepared in a heart-healthy way lower in fat—especially saturated fat—cholesterol, and sodium. It shows how to prepare dishes in ways that help protect you and your family from heart disease and stroke. The cookbook was developed by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute and the Office of Research on Minority Health, both part of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland.

The recipes in this collection grew out of research and education projects supported by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) to help Americans keep their heartbeat strong by reducing their intake of calories, fat—especially saturated fat—cholesterol, and sodium. It includes dishes from a variety of ethnic cuisines to suit virtually every taste. Besides recipes, the collection also offers information on special topics, such as how diet affects key factors involved in heart health, how to use the Nutrition Facts Label, how to make healthier meals out of those old family favorites, why fiber matters, and how to reduce salt and sodium in dishes.

This cookbook showcases 75 recipes that have an American, Latino, Mediterranean, or Asian flair. The recipes are also healthy, economical, and reasonably quick and easy to prepare. Appendices include food preparation tips and suggestions for serving the recipes.

This cookbook features more than 40 diverse, healthy, budget-friendly recipes for entrees, side dishes, and snacks that will appeal to children and don't take much time to prepare. There are also tips for involving children with meal preparation, and an appendix containing advice on meal planning, cooking, and nutrition.
Also available online:
Keep the Beat™ Recipes: Deliciously Healthy Family Meals E-Book.

The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute developed this cookbook to introduce Latino families to a variety of popular dishes prepared in a heart healthy way. The recipes are inspired by the rich culinary heritage of Latin America and the Carribbean, but but have less saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, sodium, and calories. Each recipe appears in English and Spanish on facing pages.

Rear Admiral Marlene E. Haffner of the U.S. Public Health Service provides practical advice on how to host a dinner party or brunch and how to be a good guest. She then provides a large variety of simple but impressive recipes that can be prepared in advance. On May 14, 1997 and July 30, 1997, the House Commerce Committee's Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations inquired about the alleged misuse of government resources for this cookbook, a project that did not appear closely connected to FDA's public health functions. (Haffner was Director of FDA's Office of Orphan Products Development.) The matter was referred to the Health and Human Services Inspector General for investigation.

The recipes, information, and advice in this booklet have been chosen to help solve five common eating problems caused by the different types of cancer and their treatments—nausea and vomiting, loss of appetite, mouth soreness and dryness, tired feeling, and intestinal upset.
Also available online:
Eating Hints: Recipes and Tips for Better Nutrition During Treatment at Google Books.
Eating Hints: Recipes and Tips for Better Nutrition During Treatment at HathiTrust.

These simple, easy-to-prepare recipes for seafood appetizers are low in calories and fat but high in flavor.

Recipes as well as information on buying and storing food, planning meals, and eating right.Illustrated with simple, decorative line drawings.