ACTION
-
Niu Ideas
by
Call Number: AA 1.11:4200.22/2Publication Date: 1977This 200-page cookbook was developed to teach ACTION volunteers in Tonga how to cook using locally available ingredients. Introductory material includes cooking and baking terms, an oven temperature conversion chart, common weight to volume equivalents, and ingredient substitutions. There are also several pages of cooking hints and a guide to local foods and seafoods. There are even instructions on how to build an 'umu (a traditional Tongan earth oven). Recipes include traditional Tongan dishes as well as American and European dishes.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Agriculture Information Series
-
No. 74: Chicken in the Freezer byCall Number: A 1.64:74Publication Date: 1948"Cull the low-producing and the nonlaying hens and put them into the freezer for later use." This one-page folded sheet includes illustrated general instructions on freezing, storing, preparing, and cooking chicken, as well as a recipe for a hearty creamed chicken dish.
-
No. 86: How to Use Whole and Nonfat Dry Milk byCall Number: A 1.64:86Publication Date: 1949Discusses the nutritional benefits of milk for adults and children. Pages 6-31 contain recipes using whole and nonfat dry milk.
Circulars
-
No. 577: Citrus Fruit Products byCall Number: A 1.4/2:577Publication Date: 1940Not really a cookbook, and intended for large scale manufacturers rather than individual homemakers, this circular describes in a general way the latest methods for manufacturing citrus products.
Also available online:
Citrus Fruit Products at Internet Archive.
Citrus Fruit Products at Google Books.
Farmers’ Bulletins
The USDA Farmers' Bulletins provided advice to farmers on a wide range of agricultural topics, including on growing and preparing food. Many of them contain recipes. Bulletins could be requested from a member of Congress or from the Secretary of Agriculture, and would be sent free of charge anywhere in the United States.
-
No. 175: Home Manufacture and Use of Unfermented Grape Juice byCall Number: A 1.9:175Publication Date: 1903Discusses the grape, causes of its fermentation and methods of prevention. Describes the composition, flavors, uses, and qualities of unfermented grape juice.
Superseded by the following updated Farmers' Bulletins:
-
No. 487: Cheese and Its Economical Uses in the Diet byCall Number: A 1.9:487/1-2 xPublication Date: 1912The recipes in this work were collected from many sources and in the majority of cases were studied experimentally by Miss Hunt, an expert with wide experience in the study of both scientific and practical problems in nutrition.
Also available online:
Cheese and Its Economical Uses in the Diet at USDA National Agricultural Library Digital Collections.
Cheese and Its Economical Uses in the Diet at Internet Archive.
Cheese and its Economical Uses in the Diet at HathiTrust.
Cheese and Its Economical Uses in the Diet (1917 reprint with slight changes) at Internet Archive. -
No. 1136: Baking in the Home byCall Number: A 1.9:1136Publication Date: 1920Also available online:
Baking in the Home at Internet Archive.
Baking in the Home at Google Books.
Baking in the Home at HathiTrust. -
No. 1172: Farm Slaughtering and Use of Lamb and Mutton [1920 edition] byCall Number: A 1.9:1172Publication Date: 1920Describes the use of lamb and mutton in meals, and methods for slaughtering, butchering, and preparing it. Discusses the reasons for its limited use.
-
No. 1172: Farm Slaughtering and Use of Lamb and Mutton [1930 edition] byCall Number: A 1.9:1172/5-2Publication Date: 1933Describes the use of lamb and mutton in meals, and methods for slaughtering, butchering, and preparing it. Discusses the reasons for its limited use. Previously issued in 1920, this edition was slightly revised in December 1930.
-
No. 1674: Food for Children byCall Number: A 1.9:1674/1-2Publication Date: 1935 reprintGetting the right food for children need not be a complicated matter if you keep in mind the important food groups and include representatives from each in the meals every day. It needn't be expensive, either, for many very nourishing foods are also cheap. This pamphlet provides advice on menu planning, suggested menus, recipes, and other pointers for parents of both very young and older children.
-
-
No. 2011: Turkey on the Table the Year Round byCall Number: A 1.9:2011Publication Date: 1949Provides guidelines for preparing and cooking a turkey, as well as a variety of recipes.
Home and Garden Bulletins
-
No. 35: Ways to Cook Rabbit byCall Number: A 1.77:35Publication Date: 1953Rabbit meat can be used in more of the ways chicken is used and is a good source of high-quality protein. This pamphlet provides advice on buying, thawing, and cooking rabbit and includes several pages of recipes for using rabbit as an ingredient in a variety of dishes.
-
No. 40: Freezing Combination Main Dishes byCall Number: A 1.77:40/5Publication Date: 1976Frozen combination main dishes can add variety to your menu, offer quick meals for unexpected company, and provide appetizing, nutritious foods on busy days. It is more economical to make your own frozen prepared foods than to purchase commercially prepared foods. This bulletin contains recipes for combination main dishes suitable for freezing as well as tips for preparing your own recipes for freezing.
-
No. 50: Cooking with Dried Egg byCall Number: A 1.77:50Publication Date: 1956Dried egg is easy to carry home from the market, takes up little storage space, and keeps for many months. This pamphlet provides advice on proper storage of dried egg products, directions for reconstituting dried eggs, pointers on use in cooking, and using dried eggs with prepared mixes. Several recipes incorporating dried eggs are included—cakes, breads, pies, even macaroni and cheese, salad dressing, and fondue!
-
No. 103: Eggs in Family Meals: A Guide for Consumers byCall Number: A 1.77:103/4Publication Date: 1975Eggs are a source of protein, iron, vitamin A, vitamin D, and riboflavin. Because of their protein, eggs make a good alternative to meat. This bulletin opens with tips on buying and storing shell eggs, then describes various ways to cook them. A wide assortment of recipes follows, along with nutritional information and menu suggestions. Also included is information on buying and using frozen and dried egg products.
Also available online:
Eggs in Family Meals: A Guide for Consumers at National Agricultural Library Digital Collections.
Eggs in Family Meals: A Guide for Consumers at Google Books.
Eggs in Family Meals: A Guide for Consumers at HathiTrust. -
No. 127: Milk in Family Meals: A Guide for Consumers byCall Number: A 1.77:127/3Publication Date: 1974Discusses the nutritional value of milk and provides advice on purchasing, storing, and using milk and other milk products. Includes several pages of recipes and menu suggestions.
-
No. 147: Baking for People with Food Allergies byCall Number: A 1.77:147/2Publication Date: Revised May 1975Superseded by Home and Garden Bulletin No. 246: Cooking for People with Food Allergies, issued January 1988. Home preparation of breads, cakes, cookies, and pastry is often necessary to eliminate wheat, eggs, or milk from the diets of people who are allergic to one or more of these foods. Some people must avoid gluten, a component of some flours, including wheat flour. Non-wheat flours, meals, or cereals are used in place of wheat flour in all of these recipes. Whenever possible, milk and eggs have also been eliminated as an ingredient. Gluten-free flours or meals are used in some of the recipes.
Also available online:
Baking for People with Food Allergies (1975 edition) at National Agricultural Library Digital Collections.
Baking for People with Food Allergies (1968 edition) at National Agricultural Library Digital Collections.
Baking for People with Food Allergies (1975 edition) at Google Books.
Baking for People with Food Allergies (1968 edition) at Google Books.
Baking for People with Food Allergies (1975 edition) at HathiTrust.
Baking for People with Food Allergies (1968 edition) at HathiTrust. -
No. 161: Apples in Appealing Ways (1977 edition) byCall Number: A 1.77:161/2Publication Date: 1977This publication contains useful facts about apples, recipes for many of your favorite apple dishes, and some new or unusual ways of preparing and serving apples. Note that this Home and Garden Bulletin has completely different content from the Department of Agriculture Leaflet with the same title.
Also available online:
Apples in Appealing Ways (1977 edition) at HathiTrust. -
No. 176: Nuts in Family Meals: A Guide for Consumers byCall Number: A 1.77:176/2Publication Date: 1971Issued May 1970; slightly revised September 1971. This bulletin is a guide to buying, storing, and using nuts. Recipes feature nuts in main dishes, vegetables, salads, soups, breads, sandwiches, desserts, and snacks. Approximate calorie values for commonly used nuts are listed. Supersedes Home and garden bulletin 36, Peanut and Peanut Butter Recipes, issued January 1954, slightly revised June 1964, by U.S. Agricultural Research Service, Human Nutrition Research Division. This bulletin is a revision of and supersedes Peanut and Peanut Butter Recipes (AIS-68), prepared by Bureau of Human Nutrition and Home Economics, Agricultural Research Administration and issued by Office for Food and Feed Conservation, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, DC, March 1948.
-
No. 186: Breads, Cakes, and Pies in Family Meals byCall Number: A 1.77:186/4Publication Date: 1979Information in this bulletin can add to your baking know-how, whether you are an experienced cook looking for new techniques or a beginner learning the basic points in successful baking. This cookbook includes recipes for quick breads, yeast breads, and a plethora of cakes, pies, pastries, and cookies. Some of the recipes also include easy variations. Calorie values are given for all recipes, and suggestions are sometimes offered for cutting calories in a serving of cake or pie.
-
No. 209: Food for the Family—a Cost-Saving Plan byCall Number: A 1.77:209/2Publication Date: 1978This publication is designed especially for families who want to follow the USDA low-cost food plan. It explains how to plan inexpensive but well-balanced meals, as well as how to shop for and prepare them. Sample menus are available for the food manager with little time for food preparation as well as for the food manager who has considerable time for and interest in cooking. Tested recipes are provided for some of the dishes in the sample menus.
-
No. 215: Selections from Aunt Sammy's Radio Recipes and USDA Favorites byCall Number: A 1.77:215Publication Date: 1976Aunt Sammy came to life with the first radio broadcast of “Housekeeper’s Chat” on October 4, 1926. Many women played the part of Aunt Sammy, the wife of Uncle Sam, providing menus and recipes, but also talking about clothing, furniture, appliances, and other family and household matters. She even commented on world affairs, reported the latest fads, and told jokes. This 50th anniversary recipe collection includes a selection of recipes from the first edition of “Aunt Sammy’s Radio Recipes” as well as recipes from later USDA publications. All of these recipes have been retested in the laboratory and found acceptable by taste panels.
Also available online:
Selections from Aunt Sammy's Radio Recipes and USDA Favorites at Project Gutenberg.
Selections from Aunt Sammy's Radio Recipes and USDA Favorites at Google Books.
Selections from Aunt Sammy's Radio Recipes and USDA Favorites at HathiTrust. -
No. 246: Cooking for People with Food Allergies byCall Number: A 1.77:246Publication Date: 1988Supersedes Home and Garden Bulletin No. 147, Baking for People with Food Allergies, issued May 1975. Many people have physical reactions after eating certain foods. Whether the reaction is called an allergy, a sensitivity, or an intolerance doesn't matter. This bulletin provides information to help in selecting and preparing foods that do not contain milk, eggs, corn, or wheat; tips to help recognize these ingredients in prepared foods; and recipes designed to help avoid them.
Also available online:
Cooking for People with Food Allergies at Internet Archive.
Cooking for People with Food Allergies at HathiTrust.
Leaflets
-
-
No. 45: Pork in Preferred Ways byCall Number: A 1.35:45Publication Date: 1929Also available online:
Pork in Preferred Ways at Internet Archive. -
No. 49: Ice Creams Frozen without Stirring byCall Number: A 1.35:49/2-2Publication Date: Issued October, 1929; revised April, 1930
-
No. 66: Rabbit Recipes byCall Number: A 1.35:66Publication Date: 1930Also available online:
Rabbit Recipes at Internet Archive. -
No. 81: Cooking Cured Pork byCall Number: A 1.35:81Publication Date: 1931Also available online:
Cooking Cured Pork at Internet Archive. -
No. 139: Production of Roselle byCall Number: A 1.35:139Publication Date: 1937Also available online:
Production of Roselle at Internet Archive.
Production of Roselle at Google Books. -
-
-
-
No. 312: Apples in Appealing Ways byCall Number: A 1.35:312/3Publication Date: 1964This 1964 edition is a slightly revised version of Apples in Appealing Ways (1951 edition) prepared by Mary T. Swickard. Supersedes the unnumbered 1937 USDA publication Apple Recipes.
Also available online:
Apples in Appealing Ways at Internet Archive.
Apples in Appealing Ways at USDA's National Agricultural Library Digital Collections. -
No. 269: Pickle and Relish Recipes byCall Number: A 1.35:269Publication Date: 1950Originally issued July 1944. Slightly rev. March 1950.
Also available online:
Pickle and Relish Recipes (1944 edition, AWI-103) at Internet Archive.
Pickle and Relish Recipes (1944 edition, AWI-103) at HathiTrust.
Miscellaneous Publications
-
-
No. 537: School Lunch Recipes byCall Number: A 1.38:537Publication Date: 1943These recipes are geared to fit with the Type A and Type B lunches set up by the Food Distribution Administration. School lunch managers will therefore wish to use in conjunction with this recipe booklet these two other current U.S. Department of Agriculture publications: Handbook for Workers in School Lunch Programs, NFC-3, and Menu-Planning Guide for School Lunches, NFC-10. This publication supersedes Miscellaneous Publication No. 403, School Lunches Using Farm Surpluses.
Program Aids
-
No. 44: School Lunch Recipes Using Nonfat Dry Milk byCall Number: A 1.68:44Publication Date: 1948When the fat and water are removed from milk, the product that results is known as "nonfat dry milk." Nonfat dry milk contains about the same nutrients as fluid skim milk—the high-quality proteins, the rich supply of calcium and riboflavin. The recipes in this publication have been developed in the recipe laboratory of the Bureau of Human Nutrition and Home Economics and tested in a number of schools. The recipes have been arranged so that they can be cut apart and added in the proper place to the card file "School Lunch Recipes for 100."
-
No. 57: School Lunch Recipes Using Dried Fruits byCall Number: A 1.68:57Publication Date: 1948With the variety of dried fruits now available and the many ways to serve them, these flavorful fruits can appear often in the school lunch without wearing out their welcome. They are high in food value, supplying minerals and vitamins, as well as sugar for energy. The dried fruit recipes in this publication have been prepared especially for use in the school lunch program. They are arranged so they can be cut apart, mounted, and inserted in the proper place in the card file, School Lunch Recipes for 100, PA-18.
-
No. 58: School Lunch Recipes Using Dried Whole Eggs byCall Number: A 1.68:58Publication Date: 1948Though dried whole eggs may be used in most recipes calling for eggs, these new recipes have been developed especially for the use of dried eggs in a variety of ways. The main dishes conform to protein requirements for Type-A meals set up by the Production and Marketing Administration. These recipes have been so arranged that they can be cut apart and added in the proper place in the card file "School Lunch Recipes for 100."
General information on use of dried eggs is also given in the following publications:
- School Lunch Recipes for 100, PA-18, U.S. Department of Agriculture (Card number A-6, Dried egg)
- Cooking with Dried Eggs, AIS-28, U.S. Department of Agriculture
-
No. 66: School Lunch Recipes Using Fish byCall Number: A 1.68:66Publication Date: 1948The recipes in this publication have been developed especially for the school lunch program. They conform to the protein-rich food requirement for Type-A meals set up by the Production and Marketing Administration. The recipes are arranged so that they can be cut apart and added to the card file, "School lunch recipes for 100."
-
No. 68: School Lunch Recipes for 25 and 50 byCall Number: A 1.68:68Publication Date: 1949These recipes have been prepared in 25- and 50-portion size for use in the smaller school lunch programs. The recipes are so arranged that they can be cut apart and mounted on cards, for filing in a card file. The general information also can be cut in sections and mounted on cards for filing.
-
No. 91: School Lunch Recipes . . . Using Cheese byCall Number: A 1.68:91Publication Date: 1949In this pamphlet are 14 cheese recipes, together with general information about using cheese. Since a number of the recipes suggest the use of nonfat dry milk and dried whole eggs, directions for cooking with these products are included also. The recipes are so arranged that they can be cut apart and mounted on cards for filing in a card file. The general information can also be cut in sections and mounted for filing.
-
No. 92: Yeast and Quick Bread Recipes for the School Lunch byCall Number: A 1.68:92Publication Date: 1949The recipes for breads and quick breads published here have been developed by the Bureau of Human Nutrition and Home Economics for the school lunch. All the recipes in this publication produce breads that provide generous amount of protein, calcium, thiamine, riboflavin, and food energy needed by growing, active children.
-
No. 222: School Lunch Recipes for Main Dishes and Desserts byCall Number: A 1.68:222Publication Date: 1953The recipes in this publication were develped and standardized in the School Lunch Recipe Testing Laboratory of the Bureau of Human Nutrition and Home Economics at the request of the Food Distribution Branch, Production and Marketing Administration. Recipes were then submitted to schools throughout the country for field testing for clarity of directions, practicability of procedures, and acceptability to school-age children. Acceptance by children varied considerably by schools, but three proposed recipes were discarded on the basis of the field tests.
-
Recipes for Quantity Service
by
Call Number: A 1.68:no.Publication Date: 1950–1954These recipes were developed in the institutional recipe laboratories of the Bureau of Human Nutrition and Home Economics. They have been tested for practicability, sales appeal, and consumer acceptance in commercial and other types of food service, and are designed especially for the use of restaurants, cafeterias, hospitals, institutions, and college dining halls. There is a wide range in the cost of the ingredients, but some of the lower-cost recipes are suitable for institutions on limited budgets.
Also available online at Internet Archive:
No. 112: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service I) June 1950.
No. 135: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service II) September 1950.
No. 157: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service III) May 1951.
No. 178: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service IV) May 1953.
No. 197: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service V) April 1952.
No. 212: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service VI) September 1952.
No. 223: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service VII) May 1953.
No. 226: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service VIII) July 1953.
No. 233: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service IX) November 1953.
No. 238: Recipes for Quantity Service (Food Service X) April 1954.
In 1958, the single issues in this series were compiled into one large volume issued by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Human Nutrition Research Division as part of their Home Economics Reports series:
No. 5: Recipes for Quantity Service (April 1958)
No. 5: Recipes for Quantity Service (Revised 1972) [issued as a set of recipe cards]
No. 47: Recipes for Quantity Food Service (September 1984) [distributed to libraries in microfiche format] -
No. 1371: Quantity Recipes for School Food Service byCall Number: A 1.68:1371Publication Date: 1988This publication supersedes Program Aid No. 631, Quantity Recipes for Type A School Lunches, revised August 1971.
These standardized recipes—the product of years of development and testing by the USDA—are specially formulated to meet the National School Lunch Program Meal Pattern Requirements as well as to incorporate many USDA-donated commodities.
An accompanying document, Program Aid No. 1394: Guide to Using: Quantity Recipes for School Food Service (Program Aid No. 1371), is available to help school food service professionals train their employees in using these recipes.
Also available online:
Quantity Recipes for School Food Service at Internet Archive.
Quantity Recipes for School Food Service at Google Books.
Quantity Recipes for School Food Service at HathiTrust. -
No. 1449: Quick and Easy Commodity Recipes for the Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations byCall Number: A 1.68:1449Publication Date: 1990This collection of recipes was gathered especially for American Indians who get commodity goods from the Food Distribution Program on indian Reservations. The recipes were provided from all over the country by American Indians and people who work with them. A list of contributors is included. Although this is not intended to be a diet recipe book, some of the recipes were altered to use less sugar, fat, and salt than what was originally called for, but still taste good.
Also available online:
Quick and Easy Commodity Recipes for the Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations at Internet Archive.
Quick and Easy Commodity Recipes for the Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations at HathiTrust.
U.S. Department of Agriculture: Food: A Publication on Food and Nutrition
This series used a magazine format to present articles on how to incorporate a healthy diet into any lifestyle. Each issue included dozens of practical recipes to help implement the concepts explained in the articles.
-
Food: A Publication on Food and Nutrition
by
Call Number: A 1.77:228Publication Date: 1979This first installment of the Department of Agriculture's Food series was published as Home and Garden Bulletin No. 228 and features three topics related to nutrition: "The Hassle-Free Guide to a Better Diet" offers a new version of the daily food guide and suggests ways of choosing foods for their calories as well as nutritional qualities. It also suggests practical guidelines for making changes in your diet. "'Good Morning!' Breakfasts" provides tips on how to make a nutritious breakfast that fits your lifestyle, whether you are in a rush or in a rut. "Is It True What They Say about Snacking?" provides common-sense advice on how to use snacks to supply your body with nutritious foods that your regular meals may be lacking. The last half of the book consists of 60 nutritious, easy-to-make, taste-tested recipes arranged by food group and indexed by category. -
Food2: Getting Down to Basics: A Dieter's Guide, Plus 42 Great Recipes
by
Call Number: A 1.11/3:F 73Publication Date: 1982This book summarizes what sound research tells us about weight control and provides some easy-to-follow guides for losing weight sensibly and safely. The 42 taste-tested recipes are lower in calories, fat, sugar, and salt than similar ones in many cookbooks and are designed to fit into most weight-loss plans. They can also be used as models for adapting your own favorite recipes to fit into a balanced, healthy diet. -
Food3: Eating the Moderate Fat & Cholesterol Way, Plus New Ideas for Traditional Recipes
by
Call Number: A 1.11/3:F 73/2Publication Date: 1982Learn how to moderate the total fat, saturated fat, and cholesterol in your diet. You'll find practical tips to help you selecct and prepare food the moderate fat and cholesterol way. Includes a glossary, recipes, and color photographs.
U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of Fisheries
Fishery Circulars
-
No. 21: The Story of Oysters byCall Number: C 6.13:21Publication Date: 1936Discusses the biology of the oyster, the history of oyster culture, the oyster fishing industry, and the value of oysters as food. Provides several pages of recipes.
U.S. Department of Commerce, Fishery Market Development Series
Issued by the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries in cooperation with the commercial fishing industry as a part of its continuing consumer education program, the Fishery Market Development Series contains popular educational publications on care, preparation, purchase, and nutrition of fishery products. These publications were made possible through private contributions.
The series began in 1966 and was discontinued during 1971. In the mid-to-late 1970s the series was reissued by NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) within the Department of Commerce. All of these reprints are available online, along with other vintage seafood cookbooks, at the NOAA NMFS Scientific Publications Office website in their Legacy Series of historical NMFS publications.
-
No. 2: "Can-venient" Ways with Shrimp (1975 edition)
by
Call Number: C 55.320:2Publication Date: 1975Shrimp canning in the United States began in a floating cannery off the Louisiana coast in 1867, and the same area currently leads in production. In addition, shrimp canning is a very important industry in Mississippi and Alabama. Fine quality canned shrimp adds distinction to any menu, and best of all, the cleaning and cooking have been done in the canner's kitchen. This pamphlet contains 18 new recipes developed by home economists of the National Marine Fisheries Service for preparing and serving canned shrimp. -
No. 6: Country Catfish
by
Call Number: C 55.320:6Publication Date: 1974This collection of catfish recipes is illustrated throughout with colorful photographs like the one on the cover, as well as with two-color sketches of idealized scenes from the ante-bellum south, such as Mississippi river boats, majestic plantation houses, and elegant women sporting hoop skirts and parasols. A final essay discusses the relatively new practice of catfish farming. -
No. 7: Seafood Slimmers (1975 edition)
by
Call Number: C 55.320:7Publication Date: 1975This booklet has been designed especially for the dieter. The recipes contain from 65 to 310 calories per serving, and the calorie count for each is clearly labeled. Rich in energy-giving vitamins and minerals and 85 to 95 percent digestible, fish and shellfish impart vitality and a satisfying sense of fullness. -
No. 8: Let's Cook Fish! A Complete Guide to Fish Cookery (1976 edition)
by
Call Number: C 55.320:8Publication Date: 1976Fishery products give you more choice than any other food group. You can buy fish fresh, frozen, canned, dried, salted, smoked, and in many convenience forms as well. In addition to providing essential vitamins and minerals, they are an excellent source of high-quality proteins. Fishery products can help you balance your food budget, since they are among the most economical protein foods you can buy and serve. The preparation of fish is simple and never requires special equipment. Fish can be baked, broiled, grilled, poached, steamed, or fried. This pamphlet provides information on the nutritive value of fish, advice on buying, storing, and preparing fish, and over two dozen fish recipes. -
No. 12: Time for Seafood
by
Call Number: C 55.320:12Publication Date: 1976"With the harried, hurried homemaker in mind, the NMFS has produced this bookIet of excitingly new seafood recipes—each of which can be fully prepared In just a few minutes." -
No. 13: This Is Your Manual of Common Sense Fish Cookery / Aquí tiene usted su manual del arte de cocinar pescado
by
Call Number: C 55.320:13Publication Date: 1972Advice on how to buy, prepare, and store fish; how eating fish is good for your budget and your health; and easy-to-prepare fish recipes. English and Spanish text in parallel columns. Reprint of 1960 edition issued by Interior Dept.
U.S. Department of Commerce, National Marine Fisheries Service: A Seafood Heritage
Each region of this country has a seafood heritage as unique and indigenous to local culture as its dialect or its agriculture. The following four cookbooks, developed at the National Fishery Education Center in Chicago as a part of its continuing consumer educational program in cooperation with the commercial fishing industry, pay tribute to this heritage through the recipes that have evolved over the generations to become staples of the regional diet. Recipes are illustrated with full-color photographs of the finished dishes, and special care has been taken to assure that each recipe can be made with the frozen or canned fish now available across the country. Each cookbook features a special logo adopted by the Department of Commerce during America's Bicentennial year to symbolize the historic significance of the nation's fishing industry.
-
A Seafood Heritage: From America's First Industry byCall Number: C 55.302:SE 1/2Publication Date: 1975This first installment in the Seafood Heritage series contains menu suggestions, recipes, historical notes, and other ideas for group get-togethers. Among the recipes are tuna-kidney bean salad and shrimp-macaroni casserole. Each recipe provides 25 servings and can be made with ordinary equipment available to everyone.
-
A Seafood Heritage: From the Rappahannock to the Rio Grande byCall Number: C 55.302:Se 1/3Publication Date: 1976Follows traditional southern seafood delicacies from Virginia's Rappahannock River to the Florida Keys and all along the Gulf Coast. Includes recipes for oysters Rockefeller, pompano en papillote, and creole jambalaya.
-
A Seafood Heritage: From Plymouth to the Prairies byCall Number: C 55.302:Se 1/4Publication Date: 1976Begins with Eastern Shore favoties and follows the changing recipes of pioneers moving to the prairies. Features Diamond Jim flounder, New England clam chowder, and Maryland deviled crab.
-
A Seafood Heritage: From the Plains to the Pacific byCall Number: C 55.302:Se 1/5Publication Date: 1976From the plains where lakes and streams abounded with leaping trout to the seafood riches of the vast Pacific, the settlers enjoyed a great variety of fish and shellfish. This booklet samples the best of the West with sourdough fried fish, Lewis and Clark's minted trout, Hangtown fry, and more.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: Foods for Health: Eaters' Almanac
"Foods for Health" was a cooperative venture between the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute and the private company Giant Food, Inc. The initial emphasis was on cholesterol and heart disease, but the program expanded to include such issues as the possible hazards of high salt and sugar consumption. The program featured colorful posters and shelf signs listing nutritional content of foods, and free copies of the 4-page <i>Eater's Almanac</i>, a series of pamphlets that were distributed in stores to provide "facts and fiction" about the relationship between diet and disease. The content of the <i>Eaters' Almanacs<i> varied, but many issues featured recipes, charts, quizzes, and/or special heart health facts. Several issues had holiday themes or featured special topics such as how to read nutrition labels, how diet and exercise effectively, or how to deal with inflation.
A Guide to the Eaters' Almanac Titles
Issue A: Decisions! Decisions! | Test yourself with a food and health quiz—fact or fiction?
Issue B: Cholesterol and Your Heart—Why Care? | 10 tips for cutting down on fat and saving money.
Issue C: Have a Heart Healthy Thanksgiving! | How to choose the best turkey in town.
Issue D: 3 Important Fat Facts! | Hooray for margarine . . . but which kind?
Issue E: Partying to Your Heart's Delight | A special holiday gift idea.
Issue F: Heart Health for the New Year . . . Are the Odds in Your Favor? | Some New Year's resolutions you can keep!
Issue G: The Triple Bonus in Low Fat Milk Products | A handy guide to fats and calories in low fat milk products.
Issue H: Winter Fruits and Vegetables to Warm Your Heart. | Fresh, frozen or canned vegetables and fruits—low fat treats.
Issue I: A Heart-to-Heart Talk About Meat. 8 ways to say "no" to fat.
Issue J: Protein Teams for Your Heart. | How to stretch your protein dollar.
Issue K: Should You Shake the Salt Habit? | 4 ways to beat those salty snack attacks.
Issue L: Psst! Read Any Good Labels Lately? | Labels . . can they really help?
Issue M: The Myth About Starches. | What about fiber?
Issue N: Cholesterol in Shellfish and Common Foods: What's the Story? | Fish, fowl and the facts.
Issue O: How Sweet It Is! | Take the sugar facts quiz.
Issue P: Viva Variety! | Recipes from around the world and the country.
Issue Q: Shaping Up for Summer. | Heart facts about diet and exercise.
Issue R: Craving Something Cool? | Skinny dairy delights.
Issue S: BarBQing to Your Heart's Delight. | 4th of July heart pleasing recipes and buying tips.
Issue T: Irresistible Summer Fruits. | A handy guide to nature's candy.
Issue U: Test Your Shopping I.Q. | Shelf takers to help you shop.
Issue V: Make Your Food Dollar Work For You! | A harvest of tasty, low fat and low calorie summer vegetables.
Issue W: How to Cope with Diets. | Heart health tips for weight control.
Issue X: Back to School on the Heart Healthy Track. | Tempting lunchbox treats.
Issue Y: Putting It All Together. | A step-by-step meal planning guide.
Issue Z: How to Keep Going. | Rate yourself on the nutrition quiz.
-
-
Foods for Health: Reproducible Eaters' Almanacs Packet. byCall Number: HE 20.3202:F 73/2/NO. 7/ALM. issue no.Publication Date: 1984–1985The first volume of this set contains, in addition to the first three issues of Eaters' Almanac, a guide to the contents of the Almanacs, a list of Almanac titles, suitable for reproduction, and an index of Almanac topics and recipes, suitable for reproduction. The rest of the set contains the remaining Eaters' Almanacs, printed in a format suitable for reproduction.
U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Commercial Fisheries, Circulars
Fish and Wildlife Service Circulars are popular and semitechnical publications of general and regional interest; they are intended to aid conservation and management of fish and wildlife. The Circular series was begun in 1941, superseding Fishery Circulars of the Bureau of Fisheries and Wildlife Circulars of the Bureau of Biological Survey.
Here you will find a selection of FWS Circulars containing recipes and other information on how to purchase, store, and prepare fish and seafood.
-
Circular No. 50: Delicious Recipes for Fish and Shellfish byCall Number: I 49.4:50Publication Date: 1957This 10-page pamphlet is printed on a single sheet of paper. It explains why fish and shellfish are nutritious, easy to cook, and economical. Includes a purchasing guide, 18 recipes, and a list of suitable garnishes.
-
Circular No. 201: Fish Recipes from the Great Lakes
by
Call Number: I 49.4:201Publication Date: 1965The Great Lakes have been a source of delectable fish since before Europeans reached this continent. For this circular, Home Economists of the U.S. Department of the Interior's Bureau of Commercial Fisheries have developed 24 new recipes and serving suggestions for lake and river fish such as yellowfish, catfish, whitefish, pickerel, smelt, buffalofish, and other Great Lakes species.
U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Commercial Fisheries: Special Fisheries Marketing Bulletins
The commercial fish industry is America's oldest food industry. These Special Marketing Bulletins were prepared by the U.S. Department of Interior's Bureau of Commercial Fisheries in cooperation with the commercial fishing industry as part of the Bureau's consumer education program, which was designed to encourage the greater use of fresh, frozen, cured, and canned fish and shellfish. The Bureau issued several special marketing releases to schools, institutions, restaurants, food trade groups, and media outlets such as newspapers, radio stations, and television stations.
All the recipes presented in these bulletins were developed and kitchen tested by the home economists in the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries and were designed to help housewives (and sometimes husbands) add variety and taste appeal to family meals and to encourage them to buy and serve more fish and shellfish.
-
Fish 'n' Seafood Parade: October 19–25, 1959 (Special Fisheries Marketing Bulletin)
by
Call Number: I 49.49:F 52Publication Date: 1959This is the fifth annual fall promotion of the commercial fishing industry. This special marketing bulletin is prepared for use during this promotion and the fall and winter months ahead, The recipes contained here are designed to take full advantage of the fish and shellfish available in good supply during the month of October 1959. The booklet includes guides and tips for buying, cooking, and serving fish; facts about fish and statistics on commercial fisheries; information for ordering fisher motion pictures; and of course numerous recipes. Text, line drawings, and photos are all rendered in sea green ink instead of black ink. -
Outdoor Fish Cookery (Special Fisheries Marketing Bulletin)
by
Call Number: I 49.49:C 77Publication Date: 1960The open-fire method of cooking can be used in one's own backyard with almost any species of fish. The recipes in this bulletin have been kitchen-tested by the home economists of the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries. The booklet includes numerous recipes and stories and is illustrated throughout by black and white photographs and line drawings. In a bit of sexist language, the introduction informs us that "Cooking has traditionally been woman's work; however, 'Outdoor Fish Cookery' gives dad a chance to show off his culinary talents and for mom to 'live it up.'"
U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Commercial Fisheries: Fishery Market Development Series
Issued by the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries in cooperation with the commercial fishing industry as a part of its continuing consumer education program, the Fishery Market Development Series contains popular educational publications on care, preparation, purchase, and nutrition of fishery products. These publications were made possible through private contributions.
The series began in 1966 and was discontinued during 1971. In the mid-to-late 1970s the series was reissued by NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) within the Department of Commerce. All of these reprints are available online, along with other vintage seafood cookbooks, at the NOAA NMFS Scientific Publications Office website in their Legacy Series of historical NMFS publications.
-
No. 1: Florida Fish Recipes
by
Call Number: I 49.49/2:1Publication Date: 1966Rich Florida waters supply most of the spiny lobster, king mackerel, Spanish mackerel, mullet, pompano, red snapper, grouper, and stone crabs that are caught and consumed in the United States. In addition, Florida is one of the most important producing areas for shrimp, sea trout, bluefish, catfish, and blue crabs. This pamphlet contains 22 exciting recipes developed by home economists of the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries for preparing the harvest from the Land of Sunshine and Seafoods. -
No. 2: "Can-venient" Ways with Shrimp (1966 edition)
by
Call Number: I 49.49/2:2Publication Date: 1966Shrimp canning in the United States began in a floating cannery off the Louisiana coast in 1867, and the same area currently leads in production. In addition, shrimp canning is a very important industry in Mississippi and Alabama. Fine quality canned shrimp adds distinction to any menu, and best of all, the cleaning and cooking have been done in the canner's kitchen. This pamphlet contains 18 new recipes developed by home economists of the National Marine Fisheries Service for preparing and serving canned shrimp.
-
No. 3: Heirloom Seafood Recipes to Treasure
by
Call Number: I 49.49/2:3Publication Date: [1966]In this cookbook, home economists of the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries have developed 16 recipes that reflect the rich heritage of America's wonderful ways with fish and shellfish, but use convenience products to ensure that these recipes are simple, yet satisfying; easy, yet elegant; and different, yet delightful. The recipes can be cut out and filed as cards in a recipe file, or they can be left in and used as a cookbook. -
No. 4: The Letters from the Captain's Wife
by
Call Number: I 49.49/2:4Publication Date: [1966]This unique cookbook takes the form of a series of letters written by "Lucy," a fictional nineteenth-century sea captain's wife, to her equally fictional cousin "Sarah". Lucy's letters contain seafood recipes collected during her odyssey from "famous Delmonico's in old New York City to the robust seafood meals of an Alaskan frontier." The book includes a map, sketches of scenes and artifacts from the time period (the illustrator's signature is not clear, but may be "Brunton"), and suggested layouts for a poster or display of the materials. -
No. 5: Fish and Shellfish Buying Guide and Quantity Recipes for Type A School Lunches
by
Call Number: I 49.49/2:5Publication Date: 1967This publication provides information for planning and calculating the quantities of fish and shellfish to be purchased; quantity fish and shellfish recipe cards; and other information needed to prepare Type A lunches in schools participating in the National School Lunch Program. -
No. 9: Fish for Compliments on a Budget
by
Call Number: I 49.49/2:9Publication Date: 1967Save time and money with recipes for 18 whimsically-titled, easy-to prepare dishes, including Fish Cheesies, Suddenly Seafood Supper, Sea-Garden Chowder, Texas Tuna, and Tuna-Tater Salad. Each recipe serves six, and the book is printed on salmon-colored pages and illustrated throughout with line drawings. -
No. 14: Seafood Moods: Alaska, Washington, Oregon
by
Call Number: I 49.49/2:14Publication Date: 1969"From the rugged magnificence of the Oregon coast, to the satisfying solitude of Puget Sound, north to the haughty grandeur of Mount McKinley ... this land is truly a land of many moods. These moods are also reflected in its waters, and its seafoods become foods of many moods. From the sparkling successes of their singing salads to the subtle succulence of their creative casseroles, North Pacific fish and shellfish offer the homemaker a wealth of Seafood Moods."
U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Commercial Fisheries: Test Kitchen Series
These pamphlets issued by the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries from 1948 to about 1972 feature advice on buying and cooking various types of seafood, accompanied by a plethora of recipes tested and rated by employees of the Fish and Wildlife Service in one of the Interior Department's food test kitchens.
-
No. 1: Fish Cookery for One Hundred (1950 edition) byCall Number: I 49.39:1Publication Date: 1950This book includes the essential information on the purchase and preparation of fish and shellfish in large quantities. The cooking of fish and shellfish requires techniques somewhat different from those used for other protein foods, and before this book came out, very little material on this subject had been published covering quantity cooking. Most of the recipes it contains are basic methods that can be applied to several species of fish.
Also available online:
Fish Cookery for One Hundred (1958 reprint) at NOAA Fisheries Legacy Series
Fish Cookery for One Hundred (1964 reprint) at HathiTrust -
No. 2: Basic Fish Cookery byCall Number: I 49.39:2/2Publication Date: 1950This pamphlet provides information on the nutritive value of fish purchasing fish, and the cleaning and dressing of fish, as well as several basic recipes for preparing fish and a list of suggested garnishes for fish. The references list includes several publications by Rachel L. Carson, who worked as a marine biologist for the U.S. Bureau of Fisheries and later became famous for her book Silent Spring.
Also available online:
Basic Fish Cookery (1958 reprint of 1948 edition) at NOAA Fisheries Legacy Series -
No. 3: How to Cook Oysters byCall Number: I 49.39:3Publication Date: 1950Oysters are valuable for their nutritional value as well as for their flavor, and they have a special appeal to the busy homemaker because of the ease with which they can be prepared. This pamphlet includes a history of oysters as food, information on purchasing and shucking oysters, and 38 oyster recipes.
-
No. 4: How to Cook Salmon byCall Number: C 55.321:4Publication Date: 1951Whether fresh, frozen, salted, smoked, or canned, salmon are delicious, nutritious, and body-building. This pamphlet provides an overview of the kinds of salmon available, where they are caught, and how each type is prepared. It includes 35 salmon recipes, many of which are accompanied by black-and-white photos illustrating the preparation process.
Also available online:
How to Cook Salmon (1958 edition) at NOAA Fisheries Legacy Series (The NOAA FIsheries web page erroneously gives the cover date for this digitized edition as 1951—it is 1958, and it only includes 25 recipes and no illustrations.) -
No. 5: Fish Recipes for School Lunches byCall Number: I 49.39:5/2Publication Date: Revised 1959Each recipe in this booklet fits on one page and includes ingredients list for 100 portions, directions for preparing the dish, and several variations on the basic recipe that can be used to expand options.
-
No. 6: How to Cook Ocean Perch byCall Number: I 49.39:6Publication Date: 1952Introductory overview on where ocean perch is obtained and how it is typically marketed as fish fillets, followed by instructions on skinning ocean perch and 24 recipes, many accompanied by black-and-white photos showing steps in preparation and the final dish.
-
No.7: How to Cook Shrimp byCall Number: I 49.39:7Publication Date: 1952Information about how shrimp is marketed and prepared for consumption, instructions on how to boil shrimp, and 26 recipes, many of which are accompanied by black-and-white photos illustrating the steps in preparing the recipe as well as the final product.
Also available:
Online edition of How to Cook Shrimp (1960 reprint of the 1952 edition) from NOAA Fisheries Legacy Series. -
No. 8: How to Cook Clams byCall Number: I 49.39:8Publication Date: 1953Discussion of the various kinds of clams and the traditions that have developed around the eating of clams; advice on buying and shucking clams; and 28 clam recipes, many of which are accompanied by black-and-white photos illustrating steps in the cook process as well as the final product.
-
No. 9: How to Cook Halibut byCall Number: C 55.321:9Publication Date: 1959Background information on fishing for halibut and preparing them for market; 25 recipes ranging from Halibut a la Diable to Halibut Olympus. A few recipes include a black-and-white photo of the finished and plated delicacy.
Also available:
Digitized copy of How to Cook Halibut (1964 reprint of the 1959 edition) at the NOAA FIsheries Legacy Series. -
No. 10: How to Cook Crabs byCall Number: I 49.39:10Publication Date: 1956Information and illustrations explaining the many different kinds of crabs and how to pick the meat from a blue crab, followed by 32 crab recipes, some illustrated.
-
No. 11: How to Cook Lobsters byCall Number: I 49.39:11Publication Date: 1957Information on the various kinds of lobsters and on how to eat a lobster, followed by a variety of recipes ranging from the classic Lobster Thermidor to savory Lobster Turnovers.
-
-
No. 13: How to Cook Scallops byCall Number: I 49.39:13Publication Date: 1959Discussion of the nature of scallops and the way they are marketed and prepared, followed by 39 recipes, some of which are accompanied by black-and-white photos of the final result.
-
No. 14: Fish and Shellfish Over the Coals
by
Call Number: C 55.321:14Publication Date: 1972Instructions and recipes for grilling, barbecuing, baking, and frying fish or shellfish outdoors.