Astronauts traveling into space require food that is highly nutritious and specially prepared to be handled and eaten in the conditions encountered in space flight. They must also limit the size of their load and keep the food from spoiling. This NASA fact sheet (NF-41) explains how menus are designed and food is prepared for the astronauts on NASA space flights.

This NASA fact sheet (NF-133) explains how menus are designed and food is prepared for the astronauts on NASA space flights. It also discusses what it is like to eat food in weightless conditions.

This NASA educator's guide provides a history of how food has been prepared and packaged for NASA space flight missions and includes several activities for students to try out planning a menu and preparing food suitable for astronauts to take with them into space. There are three activities for grades K-4 and five activities for grades 5-8.

In the late 1920s, the USDA sponsored a radio show called "Housekeepers' Chats," hosted by Aunt Sammy, the wife of Uncle Sam. The show featured advice on housekeeping as well as menus and recipes. This pamphlet features general advice on meal-planning, followed by pre-printed templates for recording menus and recipes off the radio from the forthcoming 1928–29 broadcasts. (Recipes from the earlier broadcasts had already been collected in an earlier publication entitled Aunt Sammy's Radio Recipes.

This issue of the Yearbook of Agriculture has valuable information about food and nutrition. It tells how to choose food for health and vigor; gives shoppers hints on how to get more for their food dollars; describes how food wholesomeness, quality, and purity are safeguarded; outlines the farmer's role in food production; explains the role of the United States in helping to feed other nations and develop their own agricultures; and describes how the food industry brings food to our shopping baskets in many different forms. Recipes and advice on buying various types of food are included throughout.

This booklet provides advice on how to meet your children's food needs by following the guidelines of the USDA's Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) Meal Pattern guidelines. Includes several detachable recipe cards that can be filed in a pocket at the back; lists of foods that contain specific vitamins; and sample menus and the pertaining shopping lists.

The Department of the Army has designated the U.S. Department of Commerce to act as collecting and compiling agent in obtaining data on prices, availability and production capacity of frozen cooked foods. This publication provides basic information for use in preparing price and production information. It includes numerous recipes copied directly from the Army recipe manual.

From the Introduction: "This manual is published to assist the Army and the Air Force bakers in producing the bread component of the ration required for issue to authorized messes and for resale in commissary stores. It can be used as a textbook to assist in training new bakery personnel in the fundamentals of the bakery operation, beginning with the organization and personnel of the bakery plant and ending with the actual bread-production procedures used both in garrison and field baking. Unless otherwise specified, all information in this manual applies to both the Army and the Air Force."

From the Introduction: "This manual is published to assist the Army and the Air Force bakers in producing bread requirements for authorized food facilities and for resale in commissary stores. It can be used as a textbook to assist in training new baker personnel in the fundamentals of the baker operation, beginning with the organization and personnel of the bakery plant and ending with the actual bread-production procedures used both in garrison and field baking. Unless otherwise specified, all information in this manual applies to both the Army and the Air Force."

This adjunct to the Navy Recipe Service explains the what, how, why, and when of food preparation and is meant to standardize food preparation in the Navy at the highest possible degree of acceptance on the mess line. This publication includes tables of weights and measures; a glossary of cooking terms; and chapters explaining in detail all phases of applied cookery.

This handbook is an on-the-job reference for personnel who write menus and for those who supervise Navy menu planners. Its purpose is to develop the skills necessary to provide every member of the Navy with a consistently nutritious and satisfying ration under widely varying operating conditions and geographic locations. Instructions are provided for selecting food, planning menus, and adjusting recipes.according to how many servings are needed.

Part of a series of teaching modules for training workers in various areas of occupational home economics, Module VI of this set contains resources for learning how to plan menus and select, purchase, and prepare foods that will adequately meet the nutritional needs of the elderly in home care. It includes sample menus, sample recipes, and other suggestions for feeding the elderly.

NDIC staff have tried to identify all available cookbooks published from 1976 to 1981 that emphasize recipes for people with diabetes. Most of the books incorporate the revised Exchange Lists for Meal Planning prepared in 1976 by committees of the American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association in cooperation with the National Institute of Arthritis, Metabolism, and Digestive Diseases and the National Heart and Lung Institute. A companion bibliography that readers may find useful is Diet and Nutrition for People with Diabetes: Selected Annotations (HE 20.3316:D 56).

This pamphlet illustrates traditional Indian foods of the southwest and analyses them in terms of calories per serving to help in planning diets for diabetics. An individualized plan, suggested by a dietitian, is based on color-coded servings from 8 food groups, including milk, vegetables, fruits, meats, fats, combinations, an a "free group" that can be used in reasonable amounts. Some of the commonly consumed ethnic foods are cholla buds, chili peppers, atole, piñon nuts, and menudo; typical American foods are included also. A few recipes appear at the end.

Advice on lowering high blood pressure through exercise, maintaining a low-sodium/low fat diet, losing weight, and cutting back on alcohol. Information is presented in the context of a casual conversation printed in large type and accompanied by stylish watercolor illustrations. Includes meal and snack menu suggestions and two recipes: Hot 'n' Spicy Seasoning and Spaghetti with Turkey Meat Sauce.

This illustrated booklet uses the adventures of Heartman and his family to teach 11-14 year old students how to reduce the risk of heart disease by maintaining a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol and by engaging in regular physical activity. Learning activities include filling in a family tree to determine how heredity influences blood cholesterol levels, and tracking one's own blood cholesterol levels. No recipes, but includes sample lunches and mix and match bag lunch ideas.

Black Americans suffer from high blood pressure at a rate more than twice that of whites, but cutting down on salt may reduce this health risk. This brochure suggests several ways to reduce the amount of salt in your diet by shopping wisely, substituting salt-free seasonings, and preparing popular Southern recipes without salt. Two low-salt recipes are included in the booklet: Salt Substitute (seasoning mix), Fried Corn, and Pan Fried Fish.

American Indians once ate foods with less fat and more fiber than what they eat today. The result is a higher incidence of diabetes. This pamphlet provides advice on how to shop and what to eat, and how to cook to have less fat in one's diet.

American Indians once ate foods with less fat and more fiber than what they eat today. The result is a higher incidence of diabetes. This pamphlet provides advice on how to shop and what to eat to have more fiber in one's diet. Includes a recipe for granola cereal.

Fish and shellfish are nutritious, easy to cook, and economical. This 10-page pamphlet printed on a single folded sheet includes a purchasing guide, suggestions for garnishes, and several pages of recipes for such creations as Summer Seagarden, Pizza of the Sea, Fillets in Coral Sauce, Tidewater Delight, and Sea Tang Thermidor.

The tables in this report were developed In response to a growing demand by physicians, dietitians, nutritionists, and others for information on the composition of foods, particularly with respect to cooked or prepared fish and shellfish dishes. (Almost all previous investigations were carried out on the raw flesh.) Table 1 lists the content of protein, fat, carbohydrate, and ash, and the caloric value per hundred grams and per serving portion for 161 dishes containing many of the common varieties of fish and shellfish. Table 2 lists the major ingredients used in the dishes. Information is included on how the data on food values can be used for dishes containing other fish or shellfish than those specifically mentioned.

Each recipe in this booklet has been prepared imaginatively to open your eyes to the versatility of salmon and the excitement it brings to dinner menus, party refreshments, and luncheon dishes. Most of the recipes suggest using the whole can of salmon, including the liquid, bones, and skin. That's because these are good sources of iodine and phosphorus, vitamin A, vitamin D, and the B vitamins. Made possible through private contributiojn from the Canned Salmon Institute. Photographs by Ann Seranne and Eileen Gaden.