The Music Library subscribes to hundreds of print and electronic journals which are relevant to our curriculum. Most of the print journals do not have call numbers. Rather, they are shelved in alphabetical order by journal title, which makes browsing easy. Back issues, which are bound in hard covers, are shelved on the north side of the Music Library. If you come to the fourth floor on the elevator, turn right and go past the music services desk to reach the area. Current issues are shelved against the east wall on the north side of the Music Library, which is very close to the music services desk. Back issues of print journals for which we now have complete electronic access are in remote storage.

For electronic journals, if you know exactly which one you want, the most efficient way to access it is to look up its title in the online catalog: discover.library.unt.edu   Put its title in quotes.
If we have what you are searching for, it is important to note that such a search provides information about every format in which we hold that journal. Some are electronic only, some are print only, and some are a combination of the two. An entry for an electronic journal will take you to full text. 

If you are researching a topic and don't know which journals you will need, you can look up where articles on your topic might be found by searching our music-specific article databases. If your search results show that we have electronic holdings, they will take you directly to full text from within the article database. If they show only print holdings, use your citations to find the volumes on our shelves. Our main article databases for music are RILM and Music Index. For a more comprehensive list and explanation of our article databases, please visit this page on the Music Research guide:
https://guides.library.unt.edu/c.php?g=69638&p=451865 

PLEASE NOTE: we librarians use the terms journals and periodicals interchangeably. These are works that appear periodically--that is, on a repeating basis such as once a month or three times a year--whereas a book appears as a one-time entity. Magazines also appear periodically. We use that term to refer to popular rather than scholarly-oriented publications. However, the Music Library subscribes to many of them because for some fields taught in our curriculum, there are few if any scholarly alternatives.