If you select "no," please send me an email so I can improve this guide.
How to Find Articles
How to Find Articles
The UNT Libraries subscribe to hundreds of online databases, and provide access to thousands of electronic journal titles, e-books, and an array of online art, music, and media materials. This tutorial provides basic information about finding, and getting help with these systems in general, but if you need help, ask your librarian, Brea Henson.
Understanding the Kinds of Resources Available
UNT Electronic Databases are extraordinarily diverse. The following list is representative, but not complete:
Full Text: Some contain the "full text," including actual journal or newspaper articles or other content.
Partial Full Text: Contents may be full text or abstracts.
Not Full Text But Still Useful: Many electronic databases were developed as tools to help you find information in other locations such as books, journals, or even web pages.
General Resources: Some electronic databases cover a broad range of content areas and are considered "general resources."
Specialized: Others focus on one content or subject area
Links to Articles: More and more of our non-full text databases are now providing a hyperlink to the full text article. See the "Find Full Text" link in the database for details.
How to Find Electronic Databases
You essentially have two options.
Find it Yourself: Find information yourself using one of our search/browse systems.
Use a Guide or Ask for Help: Consult a "Research Guide" (like this one) specifically tailored to a subject or class, use the ASK US link at the top of every page, or ask your subject librarian.
Find it Yourself: Using the Online Articles Search
From the libraries home page, you will see a tabbed search box. The "Online Articles" Search can search through millions of electronically available full-text, scholarly articles. Enter your search terms.
If you want to expand your criteria beyond articles to include other material types, you can do so from the advanced search.
On the results screen, use the left-column facet selectors to further refine your search.
Find it Yourself: Using the Databases Search
From the libraries home page, you will see a tabbed search box. Choose the "Databases" Tab, search by database title or by subject.
On the Results Page. Note the following:
Linked Title: Provides direct access to the Database. See "Access" (Above) for help with authentication.
Information About the Resource: Each record provides information about the Resource. Typically this includes the title, resource type, subjects covered, a description of the contents, coverage dates, help links/tutorials, and a contact person/service for additional help.
About this Database Link: Provides more information about the database, typically including the contributor, resource types, and other special information. You can also get a permanent link on this page for sharing or future use.
ProQuest Political Science Journals includes articles from leading political science journals, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy. Dates of Coverage: 1985 - current
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
Social Science Database provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for social science journals. Subject coverage includes anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, psychology, policy studies, social work, and sociology. Journals from over 50 countries are featured, providing for multidisciplinary research from a variety of perspectives. Resources can include scholarly journals, trade journals. magazines, conference papers and proceedings, government and official publications, newspapers, and other sources.