Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MGMT 3850: Foundations of Entrepreneurship

This guide covers resources to help students complete their assignments and projects for MGMT 3850.

How do I get started finding company information?

Use the following steps and strategies to find company information:

  1. Determine key aspects of your company (indicates availability of information):
    • size: small (less info) vs. large (more info)
    • type: private (less info) vs. public (more info)
    • status: subsidiary (less info) vs. parent (more info)
    • location: foreign (less info) vs. domestic (more info)
  2. Locate company profiles in library subscription databases.
  3. Be creative researching small and private companies since the information is harder to come by.
  4. Consider the reliability of information found on the Internet.
  5. Explore a company's website, which often gives a sense of how they do business.
  6. Don't be afraid to ask for help from me or our AskUs service.

How can I find company financial information?

Where can I find company profiles?

To find a company profile, use the search bar to enter the name and click the "Search" icon. You can also select the "Advanced Search" or "Browse All Companies".

To find a company profile, use the search bar to enter the company name and select it from the drop-down list options.

To find a company profile, click on the "Menu" drop-down list and choose "Company Dossier," then enter the company name in the search bar.

To find a public company profile, use the "Quote" box (not the "Search" box) to enter the company name or ticker symbol.

Where can I find company financials & SEC fillings?

To find company financials, search by company name, then look for "SEC Filings" under "Company Details" tab or explore "Financial Details" tab.

To find company financials, search by company name or ticker symbol from "Company Dossier." Then click "Financial Overview" or "SEC Filings."

To find public company financials, use the "Quote" box (not the "Search" box) to enter the company name or ticker symbol. Then mouse over the horizontal sliding action bar and click "Financial Statements."

To find free company financials and SEC filings, go to the following online resources:

  • Annual Report Service: From The Public Register
  • EDGAR: Financial filings, reports and registrations filed for international and domestic companies withe the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

Where can I find analyst reports?

To find analyst reports on public companies, enter the ticker symbol or company name in the search box. Then click the menu icon next to the report title and select "Analysis."

 


Video tutorial: Morningstar Introduction

To find analyst reports on public companies, enter the ticker symbol or company name in the "Quote" box. Then click "PDF Reports."

 

To find free public company analyst reports, go to the following online resources:

Where can I find SWOT analyses?

Gale Business: Insights provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies, which also includes SWOT analysis reports.

To access these reports, pull up a company profile (either by a search or browsing all companies) and if the SWOT is available it will be prominently displayed.

Business Sources Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals, as well as company profiles and SWOT analysis reports.

To access SWOT analysis reports, click on the "Company Information" option in the top left-hand corner of the screen, then search by "Company Name" or "Ticker Symbol." If a SWOT analysis report is available for the company, it will appear on the left-hand side under the "Related Information" heading.

Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.

To access SWOT reports, click on the "Advanced Search" option, then select "Company Profiles" from the "specific content type." Enter the term "SWOT" in the search box, the boolean operator "AND" and the company name in parenthesis, like this: SWOT and (Microsoft Corporation).

Additional Links

top