Consider the following to understand the difference between news, trade and scholarly articles:
Scholarly/Peer reviewed articles are written, read and sometimes evaluated by experts in the field to inform and report on research in a specific discipline.Content adapted from OLIN Library at Cornell University and California State University, Chico
Below are resources for both news and scholarly articles. To get started:
ABI/INFORM Global provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Using the "Advanced Search," select "Newspapers" under the "Source type."
Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/FPbAsS41bRA
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals
For news articles, click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorials: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2982
Business Sources Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
Click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/embed/y2mADUuozW8
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
For news, type keywords into the "Search in all News For" search box and click the "Search" button.
ABI/INFORM Global provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Using the "Basic" or "Advanced Search," limit your results to "Peer reviewed" by checking the box next to the option.
Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/FPbAsS41bRA
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals
For journal articles, limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorial: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2982
Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) provides full text and abstracts of articles in...
Click on "Academic Journal" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
