Guides: MGMT 3850: Foundations of Entrepreneurship: Market Research

Getting Started

Use the buttons to the left or the following links to jump to different areas of this page:

Advertising Journals & Periodicals

Consumer Behavior & Public Opinion

IPoll databank
Contains over half a million of U.S. national public opinion surveys on a variety of topics. Includes questions and answers from over 150 survey organizations.
Business Source Complete
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
ABI/INFORM
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of business topics.

Public Opinion Polling

Information from the Federal Government

Resources on the Web and tips for building a better Google search query

Combine the industry, company, or NAICS with keyword terms like "consumer behavior" "purchase decision" "product choice" via Google to search for relevant materials.

When searching via Google combine limiters with keyword to return specific results. Below are a few examples:

Site:.pdf will limit to PDF
Site:.org limits to organizational site
Site:.gov limits to a government website

Demographics & Target Markets

Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect offers access to both demographic information and consumer lifestyle data. which covers more than 211 million consumers and 130 million households in the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Topic areas include population demographics, vital statistics, education and law enforcement to name a few.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The Web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.

Resources from the Federal Government

Spatial & Physical Market Information

Business Insights: Global
Provides an international perspective on company and industry information for over 500,000 companies. Includes marketing information, products, brands, market size, industries by SIC, and more.
Business Source Complete
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry, including market research reports.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect offers access to a wide range of business data, including demographics and consumer lifestyle data for over 211 million consumers and 130 million households and much more.

Product & Service Market Information

ABI/INFORM
ABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Provides company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Dates of Coverage: 1886 to present.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
Research library
Research library (Periodical Abstracts Research II) a general reference database of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines. Note: If search results do not show beyond first page, you should click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click on Settings to make sure Automatically is checked.Dates of Coverage: 1971 - Current