Overview

Provides access to bibliographic citations for works related to religious studies, as well as full text to many articles, images, and illustrations.

Type of Database

Index of citations of articles, some providing full text. Image search included.

Resources Included

From EBSCOhost's page on Religion & Philosophy Collection, this database provides access to:

• 127 active full-text, non-open access journals and magazines
• 105 active full-text, non-open access peer-reviewed journals and magazines

Purpose

Useful for finding journals and journal articles on religious topics

Search Strategies 

• Religion and Philosophy Collection is part of the EBSCOhost vendor platform, like RILM, Music Index, and ATLA.
• Do a basic search by entering keywords or choose to do an Advanced Search for structured searching.
• Alternatively, search using the options in the green menu bar:
  • Subjects: find the specific subject terms designated by the editors of this database
  • Publications: search in specific journals
  • Images: search for photographs, charts, illustrations
  • Indexes: search within specific lists of information
• Limit your search results with the following options: full-text, scholarly peer-reviewed, specific dates, specific journals and more
• When looking at your results, click on a title and choose "Find it" to determine if UNT has the item, or click on the PDF or html display to view full-text. If UNT does not have access to the article, submitting a request through Interlibrary Loan might be an option for accessing the item.
• Save searches by making a free EBSCOhost account. Go to the upper right-hand side of the page to get started.

Search in multiple EBSChost databases simultaneously by selecting Choose Databases from a specific EBSCOhost database page. For instance, it is possible to search in Religion and Philosophy Collection, RILM, Music Index, and ATLA at the same time.