Overview

"Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations."

Type of Database

Bibliographic index

Resources Included

This database contains introductions within article entries, as well as bibliographies on specific subjects and persons; find out about sources that provide general overviews, information about where primary resources are held in collections, and recommendations of articles and books

Purpose

Excellent for finding scholarship on a particular topic and resources for research; Oxford Bibliographies provides recommendations for the top authoritative resources on a topic 

Search Strategies and Using Limiters

• Browse using the A-Z navigation at the top of the page. Information is organized for person as last name, first name. Many music terms and genres are also included.
• Alternatively, use the advanced search in the upper right-hand corner.
• Once you have accessed an article, use the left-hand navigation to find resources with a specific category.
• Find related articles within Oxford Bibliographies on the left-hand navigation.
• Underneath a citation and subsequent annotation, click on Find this resource to determine if the UNT Libraries has the resource:

Database Features

• Oxford Bibliographies created a helpful Take a Guided Tour page. Locate this at the top of the page in the menu navigation.
• Export citations to a reference manager, like RefWorks; share citations with friends or professors
• Create a free personal account to save citations
• Learn from professors about why they like starting their research with Oxford bibliographies, and why they highly recommend it to students.