Guides: MUMH 5440: Topics in the United States [African American Music]: Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo Reference
"Credo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content which covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Patrons gain access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Dates of Coverage: Current"

This database contains a wide-range of reference materials on many topics, including subjects outside of music.

A portal to encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference books.

Useful for finding background information in dictionaries and encyclopedias, understanding terminology, and finding more sources in bibliographies.

You will find the most results by searching with a composer's full, proper name by searching last name, then the first name. In the case of Ludwig van Beethoven, you will get less results if you do not search with the prefix "van" of his surname.
Doing phrase searches by surrounding phrases in quotations to keep the words in the phrase together does not always work in this database.
It is good to start with a broad concept in this database, then refine with filters. For instance, start with broad search words, such as chamber music or quartets and explore from there. The image below displays results from a search on chamber music.

The mind map on the right-hand side of the page shows links between terms and people. If you click on a subject, the search results will refresh.
You can filter by Key concepts that appear as tags with a blue background
Try Advanced search in the upper right-hand corner of the webpage to find more specific results
Credo will also recommend additional resources on the right-hand side of the page. Essentially, the database divides the results page into three parts: sources from reference materials, a mind map, and recommended resources in other databases.

As shown in the image above, Credo Reference provides options to save search results, create citations, print or save information as a PDF, share information by email, read aloud, and translate.
Saving your search results is only valid for the current search session. Once you exit Credo Reference, your saved searches disappear. During a searching session, access your saved items in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, as shown in the image below: