The UNT Libraries subscribe to approximately 50 databases related to music. Databases organize information in a way that researchers can find information on topics using keywords assigned or associated to an entry in the database. Databases organize resources, such as journal articles, images, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and steaming audio and video.

For your class research project, the following databases will be most helpful:

• EBSCOhost (after following the link make sure to click "select all databases" before you continue).
  • RILM and Music Index are specific music databases under the EBSCOhost platform.
• Project Muse
• JSTOR
• Taylor & Francis Online Journals
• Cambridge Journals Online
• Proquest Dissertations and Theses
• Oxford Music Online
• MGG Online
• Oxford Bibliographies – Music
   

These resources are available for you to use on-campus and off-campus and are addressed in more detail in the subpages of this guide. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to verify your UNT EUID and password when logging into a database. If you experience difficulty accessing the databases, you might need to login with the campus VPN. Learn more on the On & Off Campus Access page.

You should never have to pay for articles from journals while you are a student at UNT. If you hit a paywall, you likely are not signed into your UNT account. Of course, UNT does not own or subscribe to every source ever written. Sometimes, it might be necessary to request a book or journal article through UNT Libraries' Interlibrary Loan (ILL), a lending service between libraries and available to UNT students, faculty, and staff.