Business Librarian
Getting Started
Consider the following to understand the difference between news, trade and scholarly articles:
Scholarly/Peer reviewed articles are written, read and sometimes evaluated by experts in the field to inform and report on research in a specific discipline.- Trade publications provide information for individuals in a specific industry or field.
- Substantive news informs or educates the general public on a particular issue or topic.
- Popular news reflects on popular culture of the time and often brings entertatinment value.
- Sensational new incites emotions, interest or reactions and is typically inaccurate.
Content adapted from OLIN Library at Cornell University and California State University, Chico
Below are resources for both news and scholarly articles. To get started:
- Click on the side navigation tab or scroll down for what you need
- Choose a resource by clicking the tab
- Read the information and tips below the tab
- Click the link to connect to the resource
- Contact your Business Librarian for help.
News & Business Articles
ABI/INFORM Global provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Using the "Advanced Search," select "Newspapers" under the "Source type."
Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/FPbAsS41bRA
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals
For news articles, click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorials: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2982
Business Insights: Global provides an international perspective for over 500,000 companies. Profiles include total revenue, number of employees, companies with similar revenue, related industries, business description, company type, contact information, officers, variant name(s), brands, case studies, company chronology, company histories, market share reports, rankings, news and more.
From the home page, click on "business news" or search by "Article" in the search box. "Company" is the default search option in the drop down menu next to search box.
Video tutorials: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/bie
Business Sources Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
Click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/embed/y2mADUuozW8
Hoovers Online includes company and industry profiles with general overviews and latest news related to those profiles.
To access this information, click the blue "Continue" button first. Choose "Companies" or "Industries" from the "All Categories" drop down menu then type the company name or industry in the search box and click search. Choose the listing you want to view and look for a box labeled, "Latest News."
NOTE: If you try to access Hoovers Online and it asks you to login, try clearing your browsing data (i.e. history, cookies, cache, etc.). This should reset it. You can also try accessing it from a different browser.
Video tutorials: http://subscriber.hoovers.com/H/hoova/file.html?id=vf3
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
For news, type keywords into the "Search in all News For" search box and click the "Search" button.
Regional Business News includes abstracts for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications, including newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, and trade publications. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
Video tutorials: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2982
Scholarly Articles
ABI/INFORM Global provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Using the "Basic" or "Advanced Search," limit your results to "Peer reviewed" by checking the box next to the option.
Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/FPbAsS41bRA
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals
For journal articles, limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorial: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2982
Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) provides full text and abstracts of articles in...
Click on "Academic Journal" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Business Sources Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
Click on "Academic Journal" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/embed/y2mADUuozW8