Your subject librarian is here to help!
If you have any questions about finding or accessing library resources, don't hesitate to reach out to the College of Applied and Collaborative Studies subject librarian Emily Murley or make an appointment for research assistance.
Online Article Search
UNT Libraries provides an Online Articles aggregated search feature for finding online articles which searches many of our databases at once. While this search is extensive, it is not comprehensive! Be sure to search within the databases directly as well for a more comprehensive search.
Because this search includes materials from multiple sources, it is great for interdisciplinary research! This also means that it frequently produces thousands of results and must be refined to find the articles you need.
Filters
After entering search terms, try refining the search using filters.
Add Results Beyond Your Library's Collection
When your search produces very few results, try adding results beyond the library's collection. This will show articles available at other institutions.
Full Text Online
This filter limits your results to articles which can be read in full, immediately, online today. Full Text Online is automatically selected when searching Online Articles.
If you find an article that would be useful for your research that is beyond our collection or not fully available online, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. Providing a DOI for the article will fulfill your request quicker!
Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed
This will include peer reviewed articles as well as articles that are academic in nature but not necessarily peer reviewed.
Peer-Reviewed
This filter limits your results to articles which have been through a specific, rigorous review process known as "peer review." Often your professor will require you to use a certain number of peer reviewed sources for an assignment. Peer-Reviewed is automatically selected when searching Online Articles.
Deselecting the "Peer-Reviewed" and "Scholarly & Peer Reviewed" filters will allow your search results to include non-scholarly sources such as magazines, trade publications, and more which may be useful for certain assignments or research needs.
The content type filter allows you to narrow your search to a specific type of publication. While the Online Article search contains primarily journal articles, you may have a need for another content type for a certain assignment.
This filter can also be used to limit your search to include only journal articles if too many irrelevant content types are appearing in your search results.
The publication date filter allows you to quickly limit your search to only include results published in the past 1, 3, 5, or 10 years. A custom date range can also be created using the pencil icon.
Consider your topic when deciding how far back you want to search.
- How much has this field changed in the last five or ten years?
- Have there been significant advances related to this topic in the last few years?
- Would an article published 10 years ago include information that is still relevant today?
The Discipline filter allows you to refine your search to include only results from publications in a selected areas of study.
It can also be used to specifically exclude results from particular disciplines if your search produces irrelevant results.
The Subject Terms filter allows you to refine your search to include only results on selected topics.
It can also be used to specifically exclude results on particular topics if your search produces irrelevant results.
Databases
Journal Articles
UNT Libraries provides access many electronic journal articles through our online databases. These interdisciplinary databases are great places to search for peer reviewed journal articles or trade articles.
-
Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
-
JSTORJSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
-
Project MuseProject Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.
-
Taylor & Francis online journalsTaylor & Francis Journals is a package offering full-text access to over 200 journals and index access to over 1,600 titles spanning all areas of humanities, social sciences, science, engineering and technology. Dates of Coverage: Varies by journal.
-
Gale Academic OneFileGale Academic OneFile offers access to a variety of materials on a wide range of academic subjects, including scholarly journals, podcasts, transcripts, and more.
-
Sage Journals onlineSage Journals Online indexes journals from ten different Full-Text Collections including Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.
Due to the interdisciplinary nature of CACS coursework, you may be interested in searching for sources in a variety of different disciplines beyond the databases featured here. You can find our full listing of databases on the Libraries website and filter this list by subject to see more suggestions.
Newspapers
UNT Libraries provides access to a variety of newspapers through our online databases. These databases are a great place to search for current articles in newspapers such as the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Dallas Morning News, and more.
In addition to newspapers provided through the databases below, UNT students may also sign up for a free subscription to The Wall Street Journal or The New York Times.
-
PressReaderPressReader is a news community where people can read, share, and talk about news. PressReader partners with top magazine and newspaper publishers in over 100 countries to help them distribute their content globally. All of the publications offered can be read online, in print or downloaded via the PressReader app.
-
Gale OneFile: NewsGale OneFile: News allows users to search a collection of major newspapers from the U.S. and around the world.
-
ABI/INFORMABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
-
Nexis UniNexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
-
Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
-
Alternative press index.Alternative Press Index indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Dates of Coverage: 1991 to present
-
TOPIC searchTOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. Focusing on current events, the database allows exploration of social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics, including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Dates of Coverage: 2007 Current.
-
Access world newsAccess World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current
NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.