Your subject librarian is here to help!
If you have any questions about finding or accessing library resources, don't hesitate to reach out to the College of Applied and Collaborative Studies subject librarian Emily Murley or make an appointment for research assistance.
Welcome to the UNT Libraries!
This guide is intended for students enrolled in the North Texas NOW! dual credit program at UNT Frisco. This guide will provide you with various methods to access academic research materials and make the most of the UNT Libraries.
As students enrolled in a program at UNT at Frisco, you have access all the same resources and services as UNT Denton students, many of which are available on-site at Frisco Landing Library or online at library.unt.edu. Books from the UNT Denton campus may also be requested for pick up at Frisco Landing Library.
What else is on this guide?
We have access to thousands of materials at UNT and there are several different ways to access the various resources we have.
- This Home page provides an overview of the library services available to students at Frisco
- The Search Strategies page covers tips for searching the library catalog and databases
- The Finding Books page introduces you to the library catalog and how to request book pickups in Frisco
- The Online Sources page highlights the best ways to find journal articles and newspapers, and to utilize library databases
- The Primary Sources page provides information on three of our primary source collection including: government documents, special collections, and the Portal to Texas History.
- The Year 1: Literacy page highlights resources for the year one cohort's Fall 2025 Wicked Problem
- The Year 2: Food & Placemaking page highlights resources for the year one cohort's Fall 2025 Wicked Problem
- The Troubleshooting Online Access page provide some suggestions on how to solve access issues (because they do happen).
If after using this guide, you still have questions about the UNT Libraries and research, you can email your North Texas NOW! subject librarian, Emily Murley at emily.murley@unt.edu or make a research appointment. The AskUs service can also help you with library information question, basic research questions, or connect you to a librarian who can help you.
Library Services
The Frisco Landing Library offers a variety of library services to help you succeed.
Online Holds and Delivery
If the book you want is located at one of our UNT Denton campus library location, try making a request to pick up this item at Frisco Landing Library. Many items at other locations are eligible for delivery to Frisco and can be requested using the "Request Pickup" icon shown below.
Books that do not have a "Request Pickup" icon are usually not eligible to be delivered to Frisco. Learn more about requesting items for pickup.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use Interlibrary Loan services to access items not owned by UNT Libraries. Print items requested via ILL can also be delivered to Frisco Landing Library for pickup.
Document Delivery
Do you only need to read one chapter of a book? Save time by requesting a scan of this chapter through Document Delivery instead of waiting for this book to be delivered to Frisco.
Computing & Printing Services
Computer Lab
The library includes a desktop computer lab with 15 Dell workstations and 8 Mac workstations.
Popular features:
- Webcams
- Respondus LockDown Browser
Printing
There are two color printers in the library which can be used for printing, copying, and scanning.
Students
Student print credits can be used at this location.
- Undergraduate students: $20/semester
- Graduate students: $40/semester
Faculty/Staff
Faculty and staff at Frisco Landing can print on-site using their shared account or have documents printed by request with three or more days notice.
Equipment
The following equipment items are available for checkout at the Frisco Library Service Desk.
Follow hyperlinks to see the current availability of each item.
Items
TI84 CE Plus Graphing Calculators
Casio fx--300ES Plus Scientific Calculators
BAII Plus Financial Calculators
Circulation policies
Checkout period: 6 hours
Fine rate: $1/hour
Renewals: no renewals
Items available
- Scissors
- Ruler
- Highlighter
- Pencil
- Pencil Sharpener
- Eraser
- Glue Stick
Circulation policies
Checkout period: 6 hours
Fine rate: $1/hour
Renewals: no renewals
Items
Circulation policies
Checkout period: 7 days
Fine rate: $1/day
Renewals: no renewals
Bookable Study Rooms
Book study rooms at Frisco Landing Library in advance using EMS or on site at the panel when rooms are available.
One Button Audio and Video Recording Studio (244B)
Book the One Button Studio (244B) to record high quality video and audio clips to use in your academic or creative projects.
Features:
- Video camera
- Green screen
- Adjustable lighting
- Sound reducing wall panels
- Lapel mic (must be checked out at the Spark in FRLD 150)
Presentation Practice Room (244A)
Book the Presentation Practice Room (244A) to rehearse your class presentations.
Features:
- Presentation screen
- Podium
- Sound reducing wall panels
Assistive Technology Study Room (244C)
Book the Assistive Technology Study Room (244C) to utilize accessible technology and equipment.
Features:
- Height adjustable desk
- Large screen monitor
- Large print keyboard
- Screen reading software
- Audio visualization software
Course Readings & Reference Materials
Selected reference materials and required readings for some courses have been made available through the Libraries' Course Reserves service.
Print books are available for short term checkout at the Frisco Landing Library Services Desk on the 2nd floor. Ebooks and other online readings are available electronically on the Libraries' website.
Search or browse our course reserves listings to find the fulling listing available for your course and access any online readings.
See Frisco Reference Collection availability.
-
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition
by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05 -
MLA Handbook
by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ? New guidance on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, and abbreviations ? A new chapter on principles of inclusive language ? Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects ? Revised, easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format ? A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ? Guidance on finding publication information in a variety of sources ? Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ? Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ? Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ? Annotated bibliography examples ? Numbered sections keyed to a subject index for quick navigation ? Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22 -
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association
by
A WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER. The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats--spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and ebook, all of which are in full color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Easy navigation, with topics divided into numbered sections to help users quickly location the information they need Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types, guidelines on citing course materials, and guidance on writing clearly, precisely, and concisely Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards (JARS) that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style Updated chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality Updated chapter on essential style guidelines for scholarly writing, including punctuation, italics, capitalization, abbreviations, and numbers More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, legal resources, and many other document types Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01 -
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition
by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16 -
The Oxford Essential Guide to Writing
by
A Concise Course in the Art of Writing Whether you're composing a letter, writing a school thesis, or starting a novel, this resource offers expert advice on how to think more creatively, how to conjure up ideas from scratch, and how to express those ideas clearly and elegantly. No matter where you find yourself in the writing process--from the daunting look of a blank page, to the rough draft that needs shaping, to the small but important questions of punctuation--you'll find what you need in this one handy, all-inclusive volume. Some features include: * How to use journals to store ideas and explore potential topics * Examples of style and technique from such masters of form as Mark Twain, H.L. Mencken, E.B. White, and Annie Dillard * Advice on using outlines to shape your material--and drafts and revisions to refine them * Selecting the proper words to convey both information and point of view * A useful appendix on punctuation, ranging from commas to underlining and capitalization
Call Number: PE1408 .K2728 2000ISBN: 9780425176405Publication Date: 2000-07-01
See College of Applied and Collaborative Studies Reference Collection availability.
-
The Brewer's Handbook: The Complete Book to Brewing Beer
by
"In the past two decades we have witnessed unprecedented changes in the U.S. beer industry. The emergence of craft brewers and consumers' newfound appreciation for quality beer have resulted in what is often called the "Craft Beer Renaissance." Beer has taken on a new excitement and relevancy to the average person. It is no longer thought of only in the context of large commercial brewers with their mass-marketed beers. The marked increase in the number of brew pubs and microbreweries and the burgeoning growth in the number of home brewers indicate how deeply brewing beer has captured the popular imagination. The Brewer's Handbook is intended to provide an introduction to brewing beer, and to give a balanced, reasonably detailed account of every major aspect of the brewing process. This book not only discusses brewing beer on a large-scale commercial basis, it has made every effort to address brewing practices typically used by craft brewers. Thus, its applicability extends to home brewers and to individuals working in the brewing industry and related fields. The information in this easy-to-use reference guide is distilled from a variety of sources, including scientific literature, extension publications, and brewer experience and has the added value of numerous citations to more in-depth discussion on many topics. The book is thoughtfully organized presenting a seamless flow of topics within chapters making it easy to find specific information that interests the reader. The Brewer's Handbook has removed some of the intuition and guesswork in brewing beer. The result is a more consistent product of higher average quality level. It is written in a language that can be easily understood by anyone not having a background in brewing beer. Clarity is the touchstone that has been employed throughout this book"-- [Publisher's site]
Call Number: TP570 .G73 2024ISBN: 9780967521237Publication Date: 2008-09-01 -
A Complete Guide to Quality in Small-Scale Wine Making
by
A Complete Guide to Quality in Small-Scale Wine Making, Second Edition is the first and only book to focus specifically on the challenges relevant to non-industrial scale production of optimal wine with a scientifically rigorous approach. Fully revised and updated with new insights on the importance of all aspects of the production of consistent, quality wine, this book includes sections on organic wine production, coverage of the selection and culturing of yeast, and the production of sparkling, 'methode champenois' and fortified wines. The new edition includes insights into the latest developments in flavor chemistry, production protocols, NIR and FTIR for multipurpose analysis and microplate and PCR procedures, and IR methods for essential analysis among others. Written by an expert team with real-world experience and with a multi-cultural approach, this text will provide a complete guide to all the stages of the winemaking process and evaluation, and clearly explains the chemistry that underpins it all.
Call Number: TP548 .C658 2023ISBN: 9780323992879Publication Date: 2023-08-18 -
Craft Beverage Business Management
by
The Craft Beer Market Has Grown 16% During 2015- Brewers Association, Boulder, CO Craft Beverage Business Management addresses the unique challenges, primary tools, and advice for craft beverage entrepreneurs. Future entrepreneurs need to find a way to stand out from the crowded and exponentially-growing craft beverage industry. One can stand out by understanding the ropes of the business, becoming an expert, and finally, getting ahead of his/her competitors. There's no better place to start than with Craft Beverage Business Management. Craft Beverage Business Management helps readers gain a better understanding of: estimating the profitability of the business and specific decisions with simplified calculations the high demand for business skills in the craft industry and why they are crucial to your success. the key elements and the chief purpose of a business plan. craft beverage marketing, distribution, financing and accounting. the different trends affecting the industry. the importance of finding uniqueness for your business within a popular market. For Instructors, supporting classroom materials are available such as PowerPoints, quizzes, and suggested assignments.
Call Number: HD9397.A2 P85 2016ISBN: 9781465298164Publication Date: 2016-06-30 -
Design Thinking
by
Design thinking is the core creative process for any designer; this book explores and explains this apparently mysterious design ability. This new edition is a completely revised, updated and extended version of a classic text. Focusing on what designers actually do when they are designing, the book is structured around a series of in-depth case studies of the work of outstanding and expert designers, interwoven and developed with commentary and comparison. The coverage reflects the breadth of design from architecture to engineering, consumer products to communications, and from individual designing to teamwork and collaborative designing. The scale of designing ranges from Formula One racing cars to city commuting cars, locomotives to bicycles, sewing machines to litter bins and lemon squeezers. The book is based on evidence from observation and investigation of design practice, providing insights into and understanding of design thinking, and the development of design ability from novice to expert. This second edition of Design Thinking: Understanding How Designers Think and Work offers an overview from one of design's most experienced and influential scholars. Nigel Cross goes to the heart of what it means to think and work as a designer. It is an ideal guide for anyone who wants to become a designer or to know how good designers work in the field of contemporary design.
Call Number: NK1510 .C83 2023ISBN: 9781350305069Publication Date: 2023-07-13 -
The Grape Grower's Handbook: A Guide to Viticulture for Wine Production
by
"Updated and revised to keep pace with developments, the third edition of Grape Grower's Handbook: a Guide to Viticulture for Wine Production is meant to be a stand-alone publication that describes all aspects of wine grape production. The book is written in a nontechnical format designed to be practical and well-suited for vineyard applications."-- [Back cover]
Call Number: HD9259.G69 G66 2018Publication Date: 2018 -
Life's a Project
by
Project Based Learning (PBL) empowers educators to teach the way they have always wanted to teach, so learners acquire real world skills, achieve academic success, and find purpose. In this masterclass in taking your PBL practice to a higher level, Life's a Project makes the 6 A's of Project Based Learning accessible to all PBL educators in a way that creates systems for innovation and sustainability. Andrew Larson, 25-year teaching veteran and thought leader in the worlds of Project Based Learning and Assessment, has paired the 6 A's of Project Based Learning with his life and teaching experiences to give every educator a deep dive into the process of creating a classroom that changes lives through Project Based Learning. Life's a Project gives educators proven PBL classroom strategies to implement immediately (and over a lifetime) to transform their teaching practice. By applying Andrew's wisdom from his teaching experience in a National PBL Model School, principals, coaches, and classroom teachers can create systems for bringing about PBL excellence to help learners master content standards while they discover their best lives.
Call Number: LB1027.43 .L377 2024ISBN: 9798323122172Publication Date: 2024-05-14 -
Right Kind of Wrong
by
Winner of the Financial Times and Schroders Business Book of the Year 2023 A Behavioral Scientist Notable Book of 2023 A revolutionary guide that will transform your relationship with failure, from the pioneering researcher of psychological safety and award-winning Harvard Business School professor Amy Edmondson. We used to think of failure as the opposite of success. Now, we're often torn between two "failure cultures": one that says to avoid failure at all costs, the other that says fail fast, fail often. The trouble is that both approaches lack the crucial distinctions to help us separate good failure from bad. As a result, we miss the opportunity to fail well. After decades of award-winning research, Amy Edmondson is here to upend our understanding of failure and make it work for us. In Right Kind of Wrong, Edmondson provides the framework to think, discuss, and practice failure wisely. Outlining the three archetypes of failure--basic, complex, and intelligent--Amy showcases how to minimize unproductive failure while maximizing what we gain from flubs of all stripes. She illustrates how we and our organizations can embrace our human fallibility, learn exactly when failure is our friend, and prevent most of it when it is not. This is the key to pursuing smart risks and preventing avoidable harm. With vivid, real-life stories from business, pop culture, history, and more, Edmondson gives us specifically tailored practices, skills, and mindsets to help us replace shame and blame with curiosity, vulnerability, and personal growth. You'll never look at failure the same way again.
Call Number: BF575.F14 E366 2023ISBN: 9781982195069Publication Date: 2023-09-05 -
Universal Methods of Ethical Design
by
Universal Methods of Ethical Design is a collection of 100 ethics-focused design methods to help design practitioners and students make a positive social impact.
Call Number: NK1520 .C49 2025ISBN: 9780760393086Publication Date: 2025-04-01
