Welcome to the UNT Libraries!

This guide is intended for enrolled in the North Texas Now! dual credit program at UNT Frisco. This guide will provide you with various methods to access academic research materials and make the most of the UNT Libraries.

As students enrolled in a program at UNT Frisco, you are considered distance learners. This means you can have library materials mailed to your address on file with the UNT. To request materials to be mailed to you, you will need to create an account with ILLiad. Your ILLiad account will give you access to services like Interlibrary Loan, delivery, and e-delivery. You can request both physical items like books and pdf copies of book chapters or articles. See the information on this page to create an account and use our distance learner services.

What else is on this guide?

We have access to thousands of materials at UNT and there are several different ways to access the various resources we have.

• The Library Resources 101 page cover basics of using the library homepage.
• The Database page introduces you to the concept of databases and provides recommendations on how to get started in this important accept of academic research.
• The Newspapers page discusses ways to find news content in the library collections. 
• The Primary Source page provides information on three of our primary source collection including: government document, special collections, and the Portal to Texas History.
• The Chicago Manual of Style page covers the Chicago citation methods which you will use to cite your sources (to avoid plagiarism).
• Finally, the Troubleshooting Online Access page provide some suggestions on how to solve access issues (because they do happen).

If after using this guide, you still have questions about the UNT Libraries and research, you can email the subject librarian connected to your duel credit course. The AskUs service can also help you with library information question, basic research questions, or connect you to a librarian who can help you. 

Setting up Your ILLiad Account for E-Delivery & Distance Learning Services

Go to the Library website Accounts Login tab this is where you will go to log in and make requests. Information about ILLiad and the registration form is linked below the login box in the Create your ILLiad account link.

After your account is set up, it will go through our approval process. If your information is filled out correctly, and you don't currently have a block on your Library account, then you'll be ready to request items! 

E-Delivery Services

During the current semester services related to electronic delivery are active, but may continue to experience disruptions or delays.

Request Article and Book Chapter E-Delivery

We are doing everything we can to provide access to articles and book chapters electronically. Please submit your requests to Illiad. We will notify you if we are unable to fulfill your request. At any time you may log into your account to see the status of a request or cancel a pending request.

1. Log into ILLiad from the Accounts Login page.
2. Look to the menu on the left which includes "New Request." 
3. Select the Copy option.
4. Complete the request form to the best of your abilities.
5. If your request can be processed, you will receive and email when it is ready for download.
6. Log into Illiad again to view or download your article.

Distance Learning Home Delivery

For Distance Learners, the library can retrieve books that you wish to have shipped to you from our General Collection. Please see the Distance Learning Requests page for complete information about eligibility and delivery services.

How Does it Work?

Distance Learners may have materials delivered to a home address outside of Denton County free-of-charge. To use this service you must first Create an ILLiad Account and select mail as the preferred delivery for loans and "Dist Learning (Home)" as the location. To request materials from our General Collection for home delivery:

1. Locate the item using the library catalog.
2. Login to ILLiad and enter the book's information by selecting the Book/Audiovisual from the New Request menu on the left.
3. Verify the information is correct and submit the request. 
4. Once the item arrives, confirm the due date, or renew the item as needed from your UNT Library Catalog Account.
5. A Business Reply Label sticker is included so materials can be returned free of charge at any time before the due date. 

How Long Does It Take to Receive Materials?

Services that provide delivery of physical materials may experience disruptions or delays this semester. Books are delivered through USPS Media Mail but if you need a request to be rushed, please let our team know by adding a note to the form at the time of the request. For questions about Distance Learning services, email Circ@unt.edu or contact Ask Us.