Books and Articles about Comics
These are print and online government publications that discuss comics (from all sources—not just government comics), the artists and writers who create them, and the people who read them. Included also are some non-governmental publications that discuss government comics or government responses to the comic book industry.
Library of Congress Resources
See also Exhibition Catalogs below.
Publications
-
Copyright Circular 44: Cartoons and comic strips
by
Call Number: LC 3.4/2:44/[YEAR]Publication Date: 10/2015This U.S. Copyright Office circular explains how U.S. copyright law applies to cartoons and comic strips and how to properly register the copyright on your work. -
Comics! An American history
by
Call Number: LC 1.18: 2017/5 [SEPT/OCT 2017]Publication Date: September/October 2017The entire September/October 2017 issue of Library of Congress Magazine is devoted to an exploration of the comics collection at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. -
Graphic Sampler
by
Call Number: LC 25.2:G 76ISBN: 0844403091Publication Date: 1979This representative selection of images from the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division includes several essays related to political cartoons and caricatures.
Also available online:
Graphic Sampler at Internet Archive. -
The American Revolution in Drawings and Prints: A Checklist of 1765–1790 Graphics in the Library of Congress
by
Call Number: LC 1.2:AM 3/9ISBN: 0844401021Publication Date: 1975Pictures of the Revolutionary period between 1765 and 1790 represent the immediate record of a major event in world history. Mostly European products from England, France, and Germany, they reflect propagandistic tones and hasty inaccuracies, but they also give a feeling of vital immediacy and show how men saw the Revolution while it was happening. We find few prints made in America during those years because type, steel, lead, paper, presses, and skilled manpower became scarce during the war, and only the most heroic printers continued their productions on a smaller scale.
Download high-quality scans of individual images from this document:
Individual images from The American Revolution in Drawings and Prints at Wikimedia Commons.
Websites
-
Comic Art: 120 Years of Panels and PagesBased on a year-long exhibition held from September 12, 1919 to September 12, 2020 at the Graphic Arts Galleries in the Thomas Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress, this online exhibit features unique original drawings and printed pages of master artists and emerging talents who have created some of the most famous, funny, and frightening characters to appear in print.
-
The Comic Book Collection at the Library of CongressThe largest publicly available collection of comic books in the United States is housed in the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room at the Library of Congress. This collection of U.S. and foreign comic books includes over 12,000 titles, amounting to more than 140,000 issues. Primarily composed of the original print issues, the collection includes color microfiche of selected early comic book titles (such as Superman, More Fun, and Action Comics), bound volumes of comic books submitted by the publishers, and special reprints. Most of the collection is cataloged in the Library of Congress Online Catalog.
Congressional Hearings and Reports
House Select Committee on Current Pornographic Materials (Gathings Committee)
-
H. Res. 82-596: Creating a Select Committee to Conduct an Investigation and Study of Offensive and Undesirable Books, Magazines, and Comic Books. byCall Number: 11576Publication Date: Introduced April 03, 195211576 H. Res. 82-596 available in ProQuest Congressional database to UNT Community.
Also available online for free:
Introduction of H. Res. 82-596 (with full text and discussion) in Congressional Record (Bound edition), Vol. 98, Part 4, p. 5061–5066. -
H. Res. 82-597: Creating a Select Committee to Conduct an Investigation and Study of Offensive and Undesirable Books, Magazines, and Comic Books. byPublication Date: Introduced April 03, 1952Proposed resolution with identical content (except for typos) to H. Res. 596, which was passed.
-
Creating a Select Committee to Conduct an Investigation and Study of Offensive and Undesirable Books, Magazines, and Comic Books
by
Call Number: Serial Set no. 11576 H.rp. 1837Publication Date: 1952Report from the House Committee on Rules recommending that 82 H. Res. 596 do pass.
Also available online for free:
Creating a Select Committee to Conduct an Investigation and Study of Offensive and Undesirable Books, Magazines, and Comic Books at HathiTrust. -
H. Res. 82-692: To Authorize an Appropriation not to Exceed $25,000 to Conduct the Study Called for in House Resolution 596, Eighty-second Congress. byPublication Date: Introduced June 16, 1952
-
[Expenses of Select Committee on Study of Current Pornographic Materials in Studying Undesirable Books, Etc.] by
Call Number: U.S. Serial Set No. 11578 H.rp. 2434Publication Date: 1952Title on the report is Authorizing an Appropriation Not to Exceed $25,000 to Conduct the Study Called for in House Resolution 596, Eighty-Second Congress. July 2, 1952.
Also available online for free:
Authorizing an Appropriation Not to Exceed $25,000 to Conduct the Study Called for in House Resolution 596, Eighty-Second Congress. July 2, 1952. at HathiTrust. -
Report of the Select Committee on Current Pornographic Materials, House of Representatives, Eighty-Second Congress Pursuant to H. Res, 596. A Resolution Creating a Select Committee to Conduct a Study and Investigation of Current Pornographic Materials by
Call Number: U.S. Serial Set No. 11578 H.Rpt. 2510Publication Date: December 31, 1952The Gathings Committee's report of the result of its investigations and study, together with its recommendations and a minority report. One chapter deals specifically with comics.
Also available online for free:
Report of the Select Committee on Current Pornographic Materials, House of Representatives, Eighty-Second Congress Pursuant to H. Res, 596. A Resolution Creating a Select Committee to Conduct a Study and Investigation of Current Pornographic Materials at HathiTrust. -
Authorizing the Printing of Additional Copies of House Report No. 2510, 82d Congress, the Report of the Select Committee on Current Pornographic Material byCall Number: U.S. Serial Set No. 11665 H.Rpt. 549Publication Date: 1953
U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary, Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency (Comic Book Hearings)
-
S. Res. 83-88: To Study Juvenile Delinquency in the United States byPublication Date: Introduced March 4, 1953Text is identical to S. Res. 83-89. By submitting separate but identical resolutions, the sponsors from each party intended to emphasize the essential nonpartisanship of their aims and objectives.
Also available online for free:
Introduction of S. Res. 83-88 (with accompanying speech) in Congressional Record (Bound edition), Vol. 99, Pt. 2, p. 1608. -
S. Res. 83-89: To Study Juvenile Delinquency in the United States byPublication Date: Introduced March 4, 1953Introduced version is identical to S. Res. 83-88. By submitting separate but identical resolutions, the sponsors meant to emphasize the essential nonpartisanship of their aims and objectives. Agreed to in Senate (with amendments) on May 28, 1953 and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary.
Also available online:
Introduction of S. Res. 83-89 (with accompanying speech) in Congressional Record (Bound edition), Vol. 99, Pt. 2, p. 1608–1609. -
Juvenile Delinquency by
Call Number: U.S. Serial Set No. 11659 S. Rpt. 170Publication Date: April 27 (Legislative Day, April 6), 1953Alternate title: Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency, Sale or Use of Narcotics, Etc., by Judiciary Committee. Favorable report from the Committee on the Judiciary on S. Res. 83-89, with amendments, and recommendations that the resolution as amended do pass.
Also available online:
Juvenile Delinquency at HathiTrust. -
Study of Juvenile Delinquency by
Call Number: U.S. Serial Set No. 11660 S.Rpt. 311Publication Date: May 28, 1953Alternate title: Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency, Sale or Use of Narcotics, Etc., by Judiciary Committee. Favorable report on S. Res. 83-89, with amendments and recommendation that resolution as amended be agreed to by the Senate.
Also available online:
Study of Juvenile Delinquency at HathiTrust. -
Juvenile Delinquency (National, Federal, and Youth-serving Agencies): Hearings before the Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency . . . Pursuant to S. Res. 89, Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency in the United States
by
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/2:J 98/3/PT.1-3Publication Date: 1954Also available online for free at Internet Archive (in three volumes):
Juvenile Delinquency (National, Federal, and Youth-serving Agencies), Part 1: November 19, 20, 23 and 24, 1953
Juvenile Delinquency (National, Federal, and Youth-serving Agencies), Part 2: January 14, 15, and 16, 1954
Juvenile Delinquency (National, Federal, and Youth-serving Agencies), Part 3: January 21, 22, April 9, 1954 -
S. Res. 83-190: Amending the Resolution Providing for an Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency in the United States, and Increasing the Limit of Expenditures byPublication Date: Introduced January 15 (legislative day, January 07), 1954Also available online for free:
Introduction of S. Res. 83-190 in Congressional Record (Bound edition), Vol. 100, Pt. 1, January 15, 1954, p. 303–307. -
S. Rpt. No. 83-857: Extending Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency and Increasing Limit of Expenses Therefor by
Call Number: U.S. Serial Set No. 11727 S. Rpt. No. 83-857Publication Date: January 15 (legislative day, January 7), 1954Favorable report on S. Res. 190, recommending that the resolution be approved.
Also available online for free:
S. Rpt. No. 83-857: Extending Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency and Increasing Limit of Expenses Therefor at HathiTrust. -
S. Rpt. No. 83-871: Extending Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency and Increasing Limit of Expenses Therefor by
Call Number: U.S. Serial Set No. 11727 S. Rpt. No. 83-871Publication Date: January 22, 1954Favorable report on S. Res. 190, recommending that the resolution be approved.
Also available online for free:
S. Rpt. No. 83-871: Extending Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency and Increasing Limit of Expenses Therefor at HathiTrust. -
S. Res. 83-215: Granting Additional Time for the Filing of a Preliminary Report by the Committee on the Judiciary on the Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency in the United States byPublication Date: February 24 (legislative day, February 08), 1954Also available online for free:
Introduction of S. Res. 83-215 in Congressional Record (Bound edition), Vol. 100, Pt. 2 (February 24, 1954), p. 2182. -
Juvenile Delinquency (Comic Books): Hearings before Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency, 83d Congress, 2d session, Pursuant to S. 190, Apr. 21–June 4, 1954
by
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/2:J 98/8Publication Date: 1954 -
Comic Books and Juvenile Delinquency: Interim Report of the Committee on the Judiciary Pursuant to S. Res. 89 (83d Cong. 1st Sess.) and S. Res. 190 (83d Cong. 2d Sess.), a Part of the Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency in the United States
by
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/2:C 73/11Publication Date: 1955Committee print, 84th Congress, 1st Session. Also issued as U.S. Serial Set No. 11815 S. Rep. No. 62.
Note that this was the only report issued of the Committee's findings—there is no "final" report.
Also available online for free:
Comic Books and Juvenile Delinquency: Interim Report of the Committee on the Judiciary at Google Books. -
Juvenile Delinquency (Television Programs): Hearings before the Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency . . . , 83d Congress, 2d session, Pursuant to S. Res. 89, Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency in the U.S., Jun. 5, Oct. 19 and 20, 1954
by
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/2:J 98/15/1954Publication Date: 1955 -
Juvenile Delinquency (Television Programs): Hearings before the Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency . . . , 84th Congress, 1st session, Pursuant to S. Res. 62, Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency in the U.S., Apr. 6 and 7, 1955
by
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/2:J 98/15/1955Publication Date: 1955Also available online for free:
Juvenile Delinquency (Television Programs): Hearings . . . Pursuant to S. Res. 62 . . . Apr. 6 and 7, 1955 at Internet Archive. -
Juvenile Delinquency (Motion Pictures): Hearings before the Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency . . . 84th Congress, 1st session, Pursuant to S. Res. 62, Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency in the United States, June 15–18, 1955
by
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/2:J 98/19Publication Date: 1955Also available online for free:
Juvenile Delinquency (Motion Pictures) at Internet Archive. -
Juvenile Delinquency (Education): Hearings before Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency, 84th Congress, 1st Session, Pursuant to S. Res. 62, Aug. 10–12, 1955
by
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/2:J 98/22Publication Date: 1955Also available online for free:
Juvenile Delinquency (Education) at Internet Archive. -
Juvenile Delinquency (Obscene and Pornographic Materials): Hearings before the Subcommittee to Investigate Juvenile Delinquency . . . 84th Congress, 1st Session, pursuant to S. Res. 62, Investigation of Juvenile Delinquency in the United States by
Call Number: Y 4.J89/2:J 98/20/PT. 1-2Publication Date: 1955Also available online for free:
Juvenile Delinquency (Obscene and Pornographic Materials) at Internet Archive.
Pt. 2 is entitled Juvenile Delinquency (Providence Community Hearings and Obscene and Pornographic Materials). -
Obscene and Pornographic Literature and Juvenile Delinquency: Interim Report . . . Pursuant to S. Res. 62, and S. Res. 173 (84th Congress) . . . by
Call Number: Serial Set No. 11889 S. Rpt. 2381Publication Date: 1956Also available online for free:
Obscene and Pornographic Literature and Juvenile Delinquency: Interim Report at HathiTrust.
Curriculum Resources
These government resources show how reading and making comics can be used to teach various subjects.
-
ERIC Database
Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a free online database of authoritative education research and information. Enter a keyword or phrase such as "comics," "comic books," "graphic novels," or "cartoons" in the search box to identify hundreds of resources on using comics in the classroom. See "How does the ERIC search work?" for tips on creating more precise searches. -
Educational Comic Books (Federal Reserve Bank of New York)
The New York Fed’s Educational Comic Book Series brings readers on an out-of-this-world journey to teach about basic economic principles and the Federal Reserve’s role in the financial system. For classroom or independent learning, the series is created for students of all ages, and stimulates curiosity and raises awareness of careers in economics and finance. In addition, lesson plans created for each comic book meet national and state standards for New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. Download comic books, lesson plans, and other teaching materials for no charge. -
American English (U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs)
TESOL resources for English language teachers around the world. Enter keywords such as "comics," "comic books," or "graphic novels" to find many resources that utilize comic books and cartoons in teaching English. Several of these works are listed below.
Webinar
Using Comics in the English Language Classroom, by James Whiting
see also: PowerPoint Slides | Article in Idiom, Fall 2016, Vol. 46, Issue 4, pp. 15–16
Articles and Lesson Plans
“Using Comic Strips in Language Classes,” by Noémi Csabay
(In English Teaching Forum 2006, Vol. 44, No. 1, pp. 24–26.)
“Student Storytelling through Sequential Art,” by David Fay
(In English Teaching Forum 2007, Vol. 45, No. 3, pp. 2–11, 21–23.)
"Summer Vacation Comics," by Heather Benucci and Jacqueline Gardy
(In English Teaching Forum 2012, Vol. 50, No. 3, pp. 48–49.)
"Tools for Activating Materials and Tasks in the English Language Classroom," by Rick Rosenberg
(In English Teaching Forum 2009, Volume 47, Number 4, pp. 2–11, 27.)
"The Incredible Shrinking Dialogue," by Kelli Odhuu
(In English Teaching Forum 2012, Vol. 50, No. 4, pp. 53–56.)
“What Happens Next?”
(In Teacher’s Corner: Teaching Critical Thinking Skills)
“Progressive Tense: ‘He Is Looking for Emma Fields’” | Activity for Progressive Tense Review
(In Teacher’s Corner: Progressive Form)
“Current Events: Regional Reporters”
(In Teacher’s Corner: Building Global Citizens)
Drawing Manuals
Over the years, the U.S. government has made available manuals on how to create comics and cartoons as well as more general drawing manuals that explain the principles of design, anatomy, and other general drawing skills that can be applied in the creation of cartoons, comic strips, comic books, and comic style illustrations.
-
Cartooning
by
Call Number: W 109.102:H 19x/NO.9Publication Date: [194-?]No. 9 in a series of handicraft guides published by Popular Mechanics Magazine for the Special Services Division A.S.F., this is an instructional guide to how to draw cartoons as a hobby and as a professional. It includes advice on how to practice and which drawing materials to buy, as well as drawing instruction divided into such subject areas as anatomy, expressions, caricatures, composition, perspective, and more. This one-volume course in cartooning was used to provide physical and mental rehabilitation for recovering soldiers and was also used to help soldiers develop practical skills that they could use to support themselves after leaving the armed forces. -
Graphic Specialist (AFSC 23151) by
Call Number: D 301.2:G 76/2/ V.2Publication Date: 1982?Volume 2: Basic drawing includes instructions on the fundamentals of drawing, the human form, and a brief chapter on how to draw cartoons and caricatures.
Exhibition Catalogs and Historical Studies
These government publications provide examples of cartoons and comics that comment on the government and society and analyze their techniques, the lives of the artists, and the role comics play in culture and society.
-
Comics and Conflict: Patriotism and Propaganda from WWII through Operation Iraqi Freedom
by
Call Number: D744.7.U6 S46 2014ebPublication Date: 2014This book, published by Naval Institute Press, describes how specific war comics published from World War II through through the more recent conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan have stirred up patriotic fervor, captivated readers with adventurous war stories, and born witness to the horrors of combat. This book also analyzes how war comics and other patriotically-themed comics evolved from soldier-drawn reflections of society, eventually developing along with the broader comic book medium into a mirror of American society during times of conflict. -
Drawing the Iron Curtain: Cold War Cartoons, 1946–1960: A Caroline and Erwin Swann Memorial Exhibition, May 23–August 16, 1996, Oval Gallery, Madison Building, Library of Congress
by
Call Number: LC 25.2:C 94Publication Date: 1996This book accompanied an exhibition of American editorial cartoons at the Library of Congress that commented on the early years of the Cold War. Among the 15 artists featured are Herblock, Bill Mauldin, Jules Feiffer, Charles Werner, C.D. Batchelor and Walt Kelly. -
Herblock's History
by
Call Number: LC 1.2:H 62/9ISBN: 0844410284Publication Date: 2000This exhibition catalog was created to accompany the exhibit "Herblock's History: Political Cartoons from the Crash to the Millennium," which was displayed in the Thomas Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress from October 17, 2000 to February 17, 2001. -
The Mud and the Mirth: Marine Cartoonists in World War I
by
Call Number: D 214.513:C 24ISBN: 9798985340358Publication Date: 2022"Visual arts constitute a significant portion of the Marines' life, from training manuals to public appearances. Illustrations may inform, educate, or entertain the masses, be they civilians or military personnel. The Mud and the Mirth takes a deeper look at comic illustrations from the earliest publications for the Marine Corps—the Recruiters Bulletin, the Marines Magazine, and the Marines Bulletin—prior to World War I, as well as presents the entire collection of Stars and Stripes cartoons illustrated by Marine cartoonist Abian A. Wallgren." [Description provided by publisher.] -
Political Cartoons in the 1848 Election Campaign
by
Call Number: SI 1.28:14Publication Date: 1972The Harry T. Peters "America On Stone" Lithography Collection in the Smithsonian Institution contains over 150 lithographed election cartoons and caricatures. These cartoons, dating from the mid-nineteenth century before newspapers carried editorial cartoons, are directly tied to the events of the time and reflect the opinions of the general public as well as of those who drew and published them. Nine of these cartoons were issued during the election of 181$. This study discusses these cartoons and their interrelationship with the personalities and issues of the campaign. These cartoons add a further dimension to the history of the election. -
Posada's Mexico
by
Call Number: LC 1.2:P 84/4ISBN: 0844403156Publication Date: 1979Catalog of an exhibition held at the Library of Congress, Washington, DC, Nov. 1, 1979–Jan. 1, 1980, Amon Carter Museum of Western Art, Fort Worth, TX., Jan. 25–Mar. 9, 1980, and Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center, Colorado Springs, CO, Apr. 26–June 1, 1980.
Non-governmental Publications
These are non-governmental publications that discuss government comics.
-
The Comic Art of War: A Critical Study of Military Cartoons, 1805-2014, with a Guide to Artists
by
Call Number: U20 .K58 2015ebISBN: 9781476620817Publication Date: 2015-07-14For military cartoonists the absurdity of war inspires a laugh-or-cry response and provides an endless source of un-funny amusement. Cartoons by hundreds of artists-at-arms from more than a dozen countries and spanning two centuries are included in this study--the first to consider such a broad range of military comics. War and military life are examined through the inside jokes of the men and women who served. The author analyzes themes of culture, hierarchy, enemies and allies, geography, sexuality, combat, and civilian relations and describes how comics function within a community. A number of artists included were known for their work with Disney, Marvel Comics, the New Yorker and Madison Avenue but many lesser known artists are recognized. -
Government Issue
by
Call Number: PN6714 .G73 2011ISBN: 9781419700781Publication Date: 2011-11-01Since the 1940s, federal and state government agencies have published comics to disseminate public information. Comics legends Will Eisner and Milton Caniff produced comics for the army. Li'l Abner joined the Navy. Walt Kelly's Pogo told parents how much TV their kids should watch, Bert the Turtle showed them how to survive a nuclear attack, and Dennis the Menace took "A Poke at Poison." Smokey Bear had his own comic, and so did Zippy, the USPS mascot. Dozens of artists and writers, known and unknown, were recruited to create comics about every aspect of American life, from jobs and money to health and safety to sex and drugs. Whether you want the lowdown on psychological warfare or the highlights of working in the sardine industry, the government has a comic for you! Government Issue reproduces an important selection of these official comics in full-reading format, plus a broad range of excerpts and covers, all organized chronologically in thematic chapters. Earnest, informational, and often kitschy, this outstanding collection is the ultimate comics vox populi.
