Full-color facsimile of the Mayan Codex Tro-Cortesianus. Pages on both sides of two continuous strips folded accordion style: 23 x 254 and 23 x 428 cm., each folded to 23 x 12 cm. The text (in Mayan glyphs) runs continuously from the recto of the shorter, "Cortesian," part to the recto of the longer, "Troan," part, followed by the Troan verso and the Cortesian verso.
Location of Original: Museo de América de Madrid
Facsimile Type: Full

Facsimile reproduction of the 13th Century pre-conquest Mayan Codex Peresianus, with pages numbered 1-12, 15-24. On t.p. of explanatory text: Codex Peresianus (Codex Paris), Bibliothèque nationale Paris. Introduction and summary [by] F. Anders.
Date of Original: 13th Century
Location of Original: Bibliothèque Nationale de France
Facsimile Type: Full

Códice Techialoyan de San Pedro Tototepec se terminó de imprimir en el mes de agosto de 1999 en los talleres de Jiménez Editores e Impresores, S.A. de C.V. ubicados en 2o. . . . La edición consta de 1000 ejemplares más sobrantes para reposición y estuvo al cuidado del D.G. Luis Alberto Martínez López."--colophon. Includes transcription of Nahuatl text with Spanish translation.
Location of Original: El Colegio Mexiquense, Mexico.
Facsimile Type: Full

This work is the oldest book written in the Americas known to historians. It has played a key role in the decipherment of Mayan hieroglyphs. It consists of 39 sheets, inscribed on both sides, with an overall length of 11.7 feet.
Date of Original: 13th Century
Location of Original: Museum of the Saxon State Library, Dresden, Germany
Facsimile Type: Full

Codex Vaticanus describes with details the 260 day ritual cycle Aztec calendar. This is a full-color facsimile of an Aztec picture manuscript reproduced on 48 leaves, each 15 x 29 cm., mounted back to back and joined with book cloth at seams to form a continuous strip folded accordion fashion and attached to paper-covered boards, with text.
Date of Original: 14th Century
Location of Original: Vatican Library, Rome.
Facsimile Type: Full
*Image: Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Codex_Vaticanus_B

The full-col. facsim. is, like the original, folded accordion-style to form 49 quasi-leaves; the facsim. carries on its added border the modern pagination, 1-48 on one side and 49-96 on the other in the reverse direction, omitting blank rectos of pp. 1 and 96.
Date of Original: 14th Century
Location of Original: Vatican Library, Rome.
Facsimile Type: Full

The manuscript reproduced, pictorial throughout, may be viewed as pictographic writing of the late postclassical period (1200-1521); the accompanying vol. is in Spanish. The col. facsim. is, like the original, folded accordion-style to form 38 quasi-pages; the facsim. carries on added border the modern pagination 1-20 on one side and 21-38 on the other in the reverse direction.
Date of Original: 15th Century
Location of Original: Aztec-Universidad de Bolonia, Italia.
Facsimile Type: Full

Also called the Codex Ríos, the work is a 16th cent. copy of a Mexican pictorial ms. The Codex includes an ms. gloss in Italian believed to be based on a Spanish gloss by Pedro de los Ríos. Cf. Handbook of Middle American Indians, v. 14, p. 186-187. The manuscript reproduced consists of both pictorgraphic writing and Italian-language text; the accompanying vol. is in Spanish. Each leaf of the col. facsim. is folded, like the original; most bear modern numbering 1r-100v on added border. Size of the original is 30.3 x 20.3 cm.
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Vatican Library, Rome.

The Tudela Codex is one of the Magliabechiano Group of códices, which were produced after the conquest and are copies of pre-conquest códices. This group includes the Codex Tudela, Codex Ixtlilxóchitl, and Codex Veytia. The Tudela Codex is composed of two documents, the Libro pintado Europeo, of which only 4 pages survive, done in a renaissance style, and the Libro Indigena (?), which comprises p.11 to 125, painted by native Aztec scribes in a pre-Conquest style about 1540.
Date of Original: 1540
Location of Original: Aztec - Museo de América, Madrid.
Facsimile Type: Full

Compiled in Mexico City around 1541 under the supervision of Spanish clerics, the Codex was intended to inform King Charles V about his newly conquered subjects. The manuscript contains pictorial accounts of Aztec emperors' conquests and tribute paid by the conquered, as well as a remarkable ethnographic record of Aztec daily life from cradle to grave.
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Aztec - Bodleian Library, Oxford University

Full-color facsimile of ms. Vit. 26-9 of Biblioteca Nacional de Madrid. The content is believed to be pictographic writing which can be interpreted in Nahuatl as well as in Spanish. Cf. Cortés Castellanos, J. El catecismo en pictogramas de fray Pedro de Gante (1987).
Date of Original: 1519
Location of Original: Aztec - Biblioteca Nacional, Madrid
Facsimile Type: Full

Facsimile is 17 loose leaves. Originally secured with red plastic "pressure clip", now loosely sewn. Facsimile and study guide housed in publisher's green custom box.
Date of Original: 1550
Location of Original: Mixtec - Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico
Facsimile Type: Full

Companion volume to a facsimile ed., also published 2001, of the manuscript known as Relación de Michoacán and held in the Biblioteca del Monasterio de San Lorenzo de El Escorial (C-IV-5).
Date of Original: 1541
Location of Original: Mexico
Facsimile Type: Full

The manuscript reproduced consists of both pictographic writing and Spanish-language text; the accompanying vol. is in Spanish. Each leaf of the col. facsim. is folded twice, like the original, and bears modern numbering 93r-122v on added border.
Date of Original: 1486-1572
Location of Original: New Spain - Bibliothèque National, Paris
Facsimile Type: Full

Facsimile of t.-p. of original: Historia da prouincia Sacta Cruz a que vulgarmete chamamos Brasil; feita por Pero de Magalhães de Gandauo, dirigida ao muito illustre Sñor Dom Lionis Pa gouernador que foy de Malaca & das mais partes do Sul na India.
Date of Original: 1576
Location of Original: Brazil
Facsimile Type: Full

Two letters to Hernando Cortes, containing the official report of the conquest of Guatemala. First printed as an appendix to the fourth letter of relation of Hernando Cortes, Toledo, 1525. Now published for the first time in English. cf. Foreword.
Date of Original: 1524
Location of Original: Spain
Facsimile Type: Full

Facsimile reproduction of the official 1785 ms. copy of Calderón's report; the report is there introduced and concluded by background notes from the Guatemalan president's office.
Date of Original: 1785
Location of Original: Spain
Facsimile Type: Full

Spanish and Nahuatl. Study guide by Constanza Vega Sosa. Issued in case. Facsimile issued on single folded sheet.
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Tlapanec - El Museo Comunitario, Tlapa, Mexico.
Facsimile Type: Full

Historia y genealogía de los reyes incas del Perú del padre mercenario Fray Martín de Murúa
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Mesoamerican - The British Museum, London.
Facsimile Type: Deluxe

This work originated out of strong influence of the Aztec capital and is almost devoid of any European influences. It provides unsolved mysteries of pre-Spanish Mexico in the 16th century.
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Aztec - Bibliothèque de l'Assemblée Nationale, Paris
Facsimile Type: True

The Codex Becker I contains subject matter primarily from a pre-Spanish source, while the Codex Becker II is a copy of a pre-colonial manuscript from the first half of the 16th century.
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Mixtec -Museum far Volkerkunde, Wien, Germany.
Facsimile Type: Full

The manuscript reproduced consists of both pictographic writing and Spanish-language text; the accompanying vol. is in Spanish.
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Aztec - Biblioteca Nacional, Florence, Italy.
Facsimile Type: Partial

Facsimile reproduction of a pre-conquest Mixtec original with later Spanish notations, consists of 24 sections 20 x 26cm. Issued in wooden case with volume of commentary and interpretation.
Title from case. "Three Mixtec historical codices--Colombino, Bodley, and the Nuttall reverse--present the same general biography of the ruler 8-Deer."
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Mixtec - National Museum of Anthropology, Mexico City.
Facsimile Type: Full

The contents of the reproduced codex, pictorial throughout, may be viewed, wholly or in part, as pictographic writing expressing Aztec (Nahuatl) concepts; the interpretive commentary is in Spanish (it includes also some thematically related texts in modern Mixtec with Spanish translation).
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Aztec - Bodleian Library, Oxford University.
Facsimile Type: Full

A folding book. Double-page illustrations on leaves mounted back to back to form a continuous double strip, the end sheets attached to boards. "Aztec codices are documents dealing with religion, mythology, or history, and tribute lists, maps, etc. Among the more important are ... Codex Laud in Oxford."--Webster's New Int. Dict. Bound in accordion style between wood boards. Housed in green leather box with embossed cover and gilt spine title.
Date of Original: 16th Century
Location of Original: Aztec - Bodleian Library, Oxford University.
Facsimile Type: Full