• MLA Guide from Purdue OWL

  These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the Works Cited page, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.
• MLA Sample Paper

  Sample Paper
• APA Style Guide from Purdue OWL

  APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).
• APA Sample Paper

  Sample Paper
• Chicago Manual of Style from Purdue OWL

  This section contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in 2017.
• Chicago Manual of Style, Author Date Sample Paper

  Author Date Sample Paper

  more...
• Chicago Manual of Style, Notes and Bibliography (NB) Sample Paper

  Notes and Bibliography (NB) Sample Paper

Annotated Bibliographies from Purdue OWL

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.

Common Writing Assignments

Plagiarism occurs when you use other people’s writing or ideas without giving credit to the creator. Any sequence of more than three words is plagiarism

 We always give credit to other people’s creative and intellectual property. We respect the rights and property of others.

Some students make errors in citing because they do not give themselves enough time to cite their material while they write. Learning how to Quote, Summarize, and Paraphrase with In-text citation is critical and learning to include in-text citations while writing your paper will avoid possible citation errors. Please use the link above and practice citing material.

Once I contacted the author of an online resource and asked if I could use some of her information in a guide I was working on. She gave me permission and I cited the author in my guide.

Types of Plagiarism:

• Direct or Clone – taking someone else’s work directly. This plagiarism carries the most severe penalty because it demonstrates dishonesty and involves intent.
• Self Plagiarism – reusing work from a previous courses without permission from your professor.
• Mosaic, patch writing, or find and replace plagiarism. If you quote a source, or keep the basic format from the source and use synonyms to change a few words, without properly citing the information, then you are committing plagiarism.
• Accidental – this can occur if the student does not use their own critical analysis found from synthesizing the information learned, and instead uses the critical argument of another author.

Video:  Student Success Series, A Student’s Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism and Understanding Citations

Avoid Plagiarism by citing your material correctly

If you are not sure if you need to cite your material, it is always better to cite and not have a problem with plagiarism.

Student Academic Integrity

06.003

"Thorough research" 

1. Reviewing all sources and finding relevant information for your paper..
2. Use correct sources (popular or scholarly) based on your assignment requirements. Use recommended databases from your school which guarantees the quality of the material found. If you use Google, Google Scholar, Yahoo or another search engine you have to evaluate the source which takes a considerable amount of time. 
3. Using more than one sources gives a broader perspective on a subject. All journals write to a specific audience and the more articles or items you reference the greater your understanding of the current discussions surrounding your topic.

Evidence Explained. (2014, July 29). QuickTips. https://www.evidenceexplained.com/quicktips/