Guides: English Research Guide: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

The following databases are excellent starting points for finding scholarly sources, peer-reviewed articles, and reference materials to support your assignments and research projects. Each database offers access to high-quality academic content across a range of disciplines, helping you explore topics in depth, gather credible evidence, and strengthen your understanding of key concepts. Using these resources will ensure your work is informed by authoritative and reliable research.

Use the tabs below to view additional database recommendations tailored to specific subjects or areas of study.

EBSCOhost.
EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text access to over 2,000 academic journals, monographs, and related materials across disciplines such as arts, sciences, business, and literature, with archival coverage dating back to the first published volumes—some as early as 1890—though the most recent issues may vary by publisher agreement.
ERIC via ProQuest
ERIC via ProQuest offers a comprehensive index of educational materials dating back to 1966, covering both published and unpublished sources on a wide range of education-related topics, including records from Resources in Education (RIE) and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Credo reference
Credo Reference provides full-text access to over 675 reference books—including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographies—offering more than 3.4 million entries that cover every major subject area from leading academic publishers.
Project Muse
Project MUSE provides access to a wide range of scholarly books and journals in the humanities and social sciences, featuring content from over 120 university presses and scholarly societies through its online platform.
Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete offers full-text access to over 10,500 scholarly journals across nearly all academic disciplines, including the social sciences, humanities, education, engineering, computer science, health, and the arts.
MLA international bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, indexes journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language, linguistics, folklore, rhetoric, composition, and literary theory, with citations in over sixty languages, including English, French, Spanish, German, and more.
ERIC via EBSCOhost
ERIC via EBSCOhost is the premier national database for education research, providing access to both Resources in Education (document literature) and the Current Index to Journals in Education (journal literature) from over 1,000 education-related periodicals.
Legal collection
Legal Collection Full text of scholarly law journals, law review journals and legal news publications.

CQ Press
CQ Press provides access to databases, reference books, and publications like CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly, offering in-depth and up-to-date information on a wide range of topics, including U.S. congressional activities.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides balanced information and diverse perspectives on current social issues, offering pro/con essays, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia resources to support research, writing, and classroom learning.
Communication & mass media complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete offers comprehensive research coverage in communication and media studies, providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text access to hundreds of scholarly journals and publications in the field.

Literature resource center
Literature Resource Center provides full-text articles, critical essays, biographies, and overviews that offer comprehensive information on authors, their works, and literary movements across all genres and time periods.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) indexes international research in linguistics and language sciences, covering all areas of language study and including abstracts from journals, books, chapters, and dissertations.
Essay and General Literature Index
Essay and General Literature Index indexes essays and works from collections published in the U.S., U.K., and Canada, covering the humanities and social sciences across diverse subjects such as literature, art, history, linguistics, and psychology, with content dating back to 1985.
Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text offers full-text access to over 330 journals and indexes more than 690 scholarly sources in the humanities, featuring articles, interviews, creative works, and coverage of subjects such as art, philosophy, literature, and film.
English short title catalogue 1473-1800.
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is a comprehensive bibliographic database listing works printed in the British Isles, Colonial America, the United States (1776–1800), and Canada—along with English-language materials printed worldwide—covering publications from about 1473 through 1800 and representing holdings from over 1,500 libraries globally.
Early English Books Online.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) provides digital access to over 125,000 works published in English from 1475 to 1700, covering literature, history, philosophy, science, and more, including titles from the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing Short-Title Catalogues, the Thomason Tracts, and related collections.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online includes virtually every significant English- and foreign-language work printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important publications from the Americas, such as books, pamphlets, directories, bibles, and sheet music.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism compiles full-text and excerpted critical responses to 19th-century authors across all genres and disciplines, offering perspectives from books, journals, reviews, and newspapers on writers who died between 1800 and 1899.

ARTstor
ARTstor provides access to over one million high-resolution images of artworks and architecture from around the world—from the Neolithic period to the Postmodern era—including major collections across diverse cultures and media, with tools for searching by geography and date.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text access to archived issues of over 2,000 academic journals, monographs, and related materials across disciplines such as arts, sciences, business, and literature, with coverage dating from the first published volumes (as early as 1890) up to recent years, depending on publisher agreements.
Greenwood Digital Collection. Women's studies
Women’s Studies E-books via Greenwood offers full-text access to books published between the 1980s and 2006 that explore women’s roles and contributions across fields such as business, literature, the arts, media, government, history, and health.

Book review digest.
Book Review Digest via EBSCOhost provides abstracts and reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction, including children’s books, from around 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals.
WorldCat
WorldCat via FirstSearch is a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. The database contains over 179 million records covering over 400 languages. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters. Dates of Coverage: Before 1000 BC– Current.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes peer-reviewed literature (not all of which the UNT Libraries subscribes to), theses and dissertations, and informal publications like drafts of articles, working papers, and technical reports tied to institutions and individual scholars. Google Scholar provides links to full text for freely available publications and to those to which the UNT Libraries subscribe. Subscription links are only available from on campus or if you visit Settings and choose “University of North Texas System” from “Library Links”.
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest eBook Central provides access to a vast collection of academic e-books across a wide range of disciplines, offering tools for reading online, downloading, highlighting, and citing. It supports research and learning by allowing users to search, bookmark, and annotate texts from leading academic publishers in one convenient platform.

Search Systems

Getting Started

Advanced Research Support

Checking Out Materials

Delivery Services

From Other Libraries

Equipment

Additional Information

Talk to an Expert

Scholarly/Professional Help

Help with Borrowed Items

Topical Help

Additional Needs

Help with Technology & Printing

Outside & Self Help

Course Support for Students

Other Learning Support

Writing, Citing, and More

For Faculty

Locations

Technology

Study & Reservations

Outside the Box

Rules & Policies

People

Get Involved

Administrative

Find Us

Contributing

Documentation & Forms

English Research Guide

Recommended Databases