Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Scholarship/Digital Humanities

This guide includes information & resources for digital scholarship and digital humanities projects at UNT and beyond.

Texas History Projects

The Portal of Texas History


The Portal to Texas History
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources.



Digital Austin Papers

Digital Austin Papers
The Digital Austin Papers project seeks to recreate the turbulent world of the Texas borderlands during the 1820s and 1830s, as seen through the correspondence of Stephen F. Austin. Collecting thousands of letters by both Mexicans and Americans, the project offers unprecedented access to the movement of people and ideas between the United States and Mexico during the early nineteenth century.

Providing new digital tools for visualizing and analyzing nineteenth-century correspondence, the Digital Austin Papers offers new ways to discover patterns hidden in the writings of hundreds of men and women living along the shared edges of the United States and Mexico.

Texas History for Teachers

Texas History for Teachers has been created in partnership between the University Libraries and Department of History at UNT.

You can find an ever-growing digital collection of historic newspapers, maps, photographs, A/V, and other primary source materials about Texas, its History and Culture in The Portal to Texas History.

Mapping Texts

State of Texas Map

UNT History Professor Andrew Torget's "Mapping Texts" is a collaborative venture between the University of North Texas and Stanford University exploring new methods for finding and analyzing meaningful patterns embedded in large collections of digital newspapers.

Music Digital Humanities

A Directory of Digital Scholarship in Music
This digital humanities project created using GitHub by the Digital Humanities Interest Group of the Music Library Association is an open-source bibliography of digital resources and digital scholarship in music. This website includes music collections and exhibits, editions, reference works, open data, software, and labs.

Printing History


3dhotbed facsimile woodcut example

3Dhotbed: Extending Bibliographic Pedagogy through Additive Manufacturing 

An acronym for “3D Printed History of the Book Education,” 3Dhotbed is a project providing affordable access to the tools used in book history instruction and seeks to extend bibliographical pedagogy through allied 3D technologies and related multi-media resources.

The 3Dhotbed project is a collaborative effort between Kevin O'Sullivan (Curator of Rare Books and Manuscripts at the Cushing Memorial Library & Archives), Marcia McIntosh (Digital Projects Librarian at the University of North Texas Libraries), and Courtney Jacobs (Head of Public Services, Outreach, and Community Engagement for UCLA Library Special Collections). The project harnesses the collective strengths of each institution to further book history pedagogy. The project provides data to 3D print replica models of tools purpose-built for the Book History Workshop at Texas A&M University. These tools were digitized and the data made available through the University of North Texas Digital Library. The team is actively partnering with other institutions and scholars to expand available resources in the 3Dhotbed repository. 

 

Social Networks and Archival Context: A Biographical and Historical Resource

SNAC: Social and Archival Context
Social and Archival Context (SNAC) is a free online resource to help users locate biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations located in historical primary source documents. SNAC is an international cooperative, meaning users can search items from libraries, museums, and archives around the world. 

Uncovering St. John's

Students at St. John's School, ca. 1910s or 1920s

Students at St. John's School, ca. 1910s or 1920s

The St. John's Community Project: Uncovering St. John's

Built by a team of undergraduate and graduate students at the University of North Texas, the SJCP is an online museum that tells the story of the St. John's community and offers new windows into the lives of African Americans in North Texas during the decades between Reconstruction and the Great Depression.  Centered on the men, women, and children buried in the St. John’s cemetery, the project seeks to rebuild the world these people knew -- offering exhibits on the place of church life, education, farming, politics, and freedmen’s communities in Texas during the 1870s-1930s, as well as the history of Denton County and Pilot Point during that period.  The project also features a section on how St. John’s has been remembered since the 1930s.

xREZ Art Science Lab


UNT Associate Professor Ruth West builds resonant connections between art and science. 

Additional Links

top