Guides: Criminal Justice: Videos

Find streaming films in the library collection

Faculty, please use the Streaming Media Faculty Request Form to request any streaming films not found in the library collection, that you would like to use in your teaching. Streaming film rights can be purchased for your classes, if enough advanced notice is provided. Be aware that sometimes the licensing process for streaming films can take months.

To search the library's collection of streaming films by topic or to search for a specific title, the most comprehensive way is to search the "books and more" tab on www.library.unt.edu by keyword or by title. Then use the facets on the left side of the page to narrow by Resource Type to "video/film". Then limit the Format or Media Type to "digital files" for streaming film content only.

You may also choose to search or browse within some of the streaming film databases below. All of the streaming titles contained in these databases are indexed in the library catalog (the "books and more" tab on library.unt.edu). The video tutorial below shows how to search the library catalog for streaming films.

Kanopy
Titles not yet licensed can be requested by searching the Kanopy platform and filling out the form requesting access to the title that you need. Media Library staff will receive and process these requests as quickly as possible. The form requires your name, email address, and a brief explanation for your request. If you are selecting a film for a specific course please include when you will be teaching the course and whether or not the movie you need will continue to be assigned in future semesters. Most licenses on Kanopy expire after one year so future access will be contingent upon extending or renewing licenses.
Docuseek2
Docuseek 2 provides access to more than 400 streaming documentary films on a wide range of social science and humanities topics, with a strong focus on social issues, environmental studies and political science.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides legal access to course-related films. Includes feature films, documentaries, and films on many topics.
Academic video online
Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary video collection that provides access to more than 67,000 videos covering subject areas including anthropology, business, cousenling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Selected Videos

Beyond Conviction by Rachel Libert
Publication Date: 2005
This is a documentary on the story of three crime victims on an emotional journey toward healing and recovery. Beyond conviction follows participants in Pennsylvania's "Mediation program for crimes of severe violence", (1998). The film provides a rare glimpse into the lingering pain and trauma for both victims and offenders and examines this bold effort to bring humanity into the criminal justice.
The New Asylums by Miri Navasky & Karen O'Connor
Call Number: DVD 12184R and Video on Demand
Publication Date: 2005
Fewer than 55,000 Americans currently receive treatment in psychiatric hospitals. Meanwhile, almost 10 times that number, nearly 500,000, mentally ill men and women are serving time in U.S. jails and prisons. As sheriffs and prison wardens become the unexpected and often ill-equipped caretakers of this burgeoning population, they raise a troubling new concern: Have America's jails and prisons become its new asylums. The program goes deep inside Ohio's state prison system to explore the complex and growing issue of mentally ill prisoners.
Turned Out: Sexual Assault Behind Bars
Publication Date: 2003
This video is a shocking but insightful expose of the taboo subject of homosexual rape and homosexual relations in prison. It features frank and often graphic interviews with inmates at correctional facilities throughout the U.S. Prisoners also discuss the underground economy, the sociology of power and lust, and the sexual exploitation of inmates by prison guards, while interviews with a prison warden and family members of inmates reveal the general awareness of sexual assault within our prison system and the culture of silence which enables its perpetuation.

Video Bibliographies

The lists below are selected bibliographies of DVDs from the UNT Libraries. The documents contains link that take you directly to the UNT Library Catalog where you can read more about a video's content.

Criminal Justice: Videos

Find streaming films in the library collection

Selected Videos

Video Bibliographies

Additional Links