Skip to Main Content

Criminal Justice: Articles

This guide is an introduction into Criminal Justice research and resources.

Find Articles

Featured Journals

Substance Use and Misuse
This journal contains peer-reviewed articles, notes, and book reviews, as well as special issues devoted to single topics. The journal also publishes proceedings and symposia that describe and analyze the latest research, along with information on clinical prevention, training, law enforcement, and policy efforts. Topics covered include clinical trials and clinical research (treatment and prevention of substance misuse and related infectious diseases); epidemiology of substance misuse and related infectious diseases; social pharmacology; meta-analyses and systematic reviews of interventions; adolescent and student-focused research; gender- and ethnic- focused research; classical-historical articles, reviews, and documents; state of the art quantitative and qualitative research; negative results and intervention failures that are instructive; validity of instruments, scales, and tests; and critiques and essays on unresolved issues.

Suggested Criminal Justice Article Databases

Criminal justice abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts via EBSCOhost covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice. Provides coverage of over 500 journals published in several different languages. Links to full-text. Dates of Coverage:1968 to present

Social Science Premium Collection
The Social Science Premium Collection provides a range of full-text and index resources across social science disciplines. Abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and more are included. Coverage includes applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, language behavior, political science, sociology, and more. Research from across regions, countries, markets, and disciplines with titles from around the world are brought together in this database.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts via ProQuest
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS) via ProQuest covers literature related to research, policy, and practice in the criminal justice and juvenile justice and drug control. U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research are offered. Subject coverage includes alternatives to incarceration, corrections, crime deterrence and prevention, criminal justice statistics, drug policy, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police training, probation and parole, and victims of crime.

Suggested Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
Cabell's directories of publishing opportunities
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities The Directories contain addresses, phones, e-mails, web site addresses, and guidelines and submission information for over 4,000 journals in Business, Economics, Education and Psychology. The Directory helps users choose journals by topical coverage. It also provides manuscript and publication guidelines, as well as descriptions of the review processes for the journals included. Dates of Coverage: Current

What is Peer Review?

A fast way of determining if the article you are viewing is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb

The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.

Criminal Justice Journals

UNT: Apply now UNT: Schedule a tour UNT: Get more info about the University of North Texas

UNT: Disclaimer | UNT: AA/EOE/ADA | UNT: Privacy | UNT: Electronic Accessibility | UNT: Required Links | UNT: UNT Home