Focusing on the service role of faculty and the concept of engagement, this volume provides much needed guidance on continuing the institutionalization of Ernest L. Boyer's groundbreaking concept of "scholarship reconsidered" ten years after its introduction into the academy. Challenging traditional notions of service, author Kelly Ward reviews the application of research to practice or service on campus committees and disciplinary societies. She expands the definition of service to include newer notions of engagement such as community or service-learning and argues that the new American scholar integrates research and teaching, and focuses on the ways these aspects are influenced by and influence the community outside the academy. With examples of campuses that serve as exemplars in linking service to scholarship, this volume is important reading for all constituents in higher education: policymakers, administrators, and individual faculty alike.

Written as a technology guide for students, practitioners, and administrators, the focus of this book is on introducing current and future trends in library technology and automation within the larger context of strategic and systems planning, implementation, and continuous improvement. Technology is an essential resource for attaining both organizational and patron goals, and planning needs to emphasize the alignment between the clearly defined goals of each. For this alignment to occur on a consistent basis goals must be designed, or engineered, in a systematic fashion where technology fulfils the need to deliver the desired outcomes in an efficient, cost-effective manner. The concept of usability engineering is also examined, where the technology is planned, designed, and implemented in such a way as to maximize utility and ease-of-use for users and employees. Readers of this book will understand both the why and the how of library technology, planning, and implementation articulated in a simple, easy-to-understand fashion. Delivered from academic, public, and school library media perspectives Current and emerging technologies are discussed along with their current and future application in the field of library and information science Technology planning and integration is explained using a systems design process with scenarios and case studies that are articulated in a step-wise, holistic fashion

This book reviews the quality and evolution of academic library services. It revises service trends offered by academic libraries and the challenge of enhancing traditional ones such as: catalogues, repositories and digital collections, learning resources centres, virtual reference services, information literacy and 2.0 tools. Studies the role of the university library in the new educational environment of higher education Rethinks libraries in academic context Redefines roles for academic libraries

This guide provides library directors, managers, and administrators in all types of libraries with complete and up-to-date instructions on how to evaluate library services in order to improve them. It's a fact: today's libraries must evaluate their services in order to find ways to better serve patrons and prove their value to their communities. In this greatly updated and expanded edition of Matthews' seminal text, you'll discover a breadth of tools that can be used to evaluate any library service, including newer tools designed to measure customer and patron outcomes. The book offers practical advice backed by solid research on virtually every aspect of evaluation, including quantitative and qualitative tools, data analysis, and specific recommendations for measuring individual services, such as technical services and reference and interlibrary loan. New chapters give readers effective ways to evaluate critical aspects of their libraries such as automated systems, physical space, staff, performance management frameworks, eBooks, social media, and information literacy. The author explains how broader and more robust adoption of evaluation techniques will help library managers combine traditional internal measurements, such as circulation and reference transactions, with more customer-centric metrics that reflect how well patrons feel they are served and how satisfied they are with the library. By applying this comprehensive strategy, readers will gain the ability to form a truer picture of their library's value to its stakeholders and patrons. Helps librarians to thoroughly examine their libraries' services toward making improvements Enables librarians to answer with authority the question "what difference do we make?" Explains the most effective ways of conducting library measurement and evaluation, covering qualitative and quantitative tools, data analysis, and specific methodologies for measuring and assessing specific services Offers a highly readable and clear treatment of a topic of paramount importance, but that librarians often find difficult

This essential overview of what it means to be a library and information professional today provides a broad overview of the transformation of libraries as information organizations, why these organizations are more important today than ever before, the technological influence on how we provide information resources and services in today’s digital and global environment, and the various career opportunities available for information professionals.

This practical and holistic approach to offering library resources and services to online patrons addresses multiple areas of service to online patrons, including reference, instruction, access, and marketing. Academic libraries are wonderful resources for university students and faculty on campus, and public libraries thrive on providing targeted in-person services such as storytime, makerspaces, and adult programming. It can be easy, however, to forget about the large population of students, faculty, and community members who access library resources and use library services remotely. Library Services for Online Patrons reaches out to patrons who are not--or not always--located on campus or who seldom--if ever--visit libraries' physical facilities and who may not be aware of or able to equitably use library services. The authors focus on ways to organize library resources using principles of design and to cater library services to the specific needs of online students, faculty, and community members. They also address how to effectively target marketing to the online population and how to collaborate with campus and community stakeholders who work directly with them. Provides novel services and resources that will save librarians already serving online patrons time and energy Offers a broad, practical perspective to help novice librarians make initial connections with online learners Emphasizes the importance of identifying other institutional players in online education in order to effectively implement and market improvements Enhances understanding of the importance of universal design and how to assess possibilities for improvement in online services

Quality and the Academic Library: Reviewing, Assessing and Enhancing Service Provision provides an in-depth review and analysis of quality management and service quality in academic libraries. All aspects of quality are considered in the book, including quality assessment, quality review, and quality enhancement. An overview of quality management and service quality concepts, principles, and methods leads to a detailed consideration of how they have been applied in universities and their libraries. A case study approach is used with different perspectives provided from the different stakeholders involved in the quality processes. All contributors adopt a critical reflection approach, reflecting on the implications, impact, and significance of the activities undertaken and the conclusions that can be drawn for future developments. The book concludes with an overall reflection on quality management and service quality in academic libraries with a final analysis of priorities for the future. Presents a holistic view of the subject, looking at reviews of academic library services, quality assurance and assessment, quality enhancement, and service quality Provides perspectives from authors with different experiences and responsibilities, including those responsible for initiating and managing quality processes in higher education Includes case studies where the authors not only describe the quality processes used, but also seek to review and reflect on their success, limitations, and the impact of their work some time after the event Seeks to be current, comprehensive, and reflective by including the results of surveys/interviews from senior librarians on quality in academic libraries