Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Street and Road Maps
Street and road maps are often helpful when planning and navigating a trip.
- Highway maps are useful for planning and navigating travel between cities.
- Street maps show the layout of streets within a city and are usually more detailed than highway maps.
- Road atlases contain both types of maps. They show highways and usually feature detailed inset maps for major cities or metropolitan areas.
Street and Road Maps Available Online
Free mapping service allows you to create, customize, and save easy-to-read digital maps pinpointing almost any location within the United States or Canada. Also includes traffic reports, a business directory, pictures, detailed maps of venues, and numerous calculators and other apps.
City Map Sites
Links to general sites that provide city maps, as well as direct links to online maps for specific cities.
Generates a zoomable map focused on an address or ZIP code. Provides driving directions, interactive maps, and satellite/aerial imagery for anywhere in the world. Can also search by keyword such as type of business.
Editable map of the whole world built largely from scratch by its users and from content available in public domain or open licensed sources. The site is built and maintained using wiki-style collaborative editing software and released with an open content license.
Texas Department of Transportation Maps
Whether you travel in Texas for work or pleasure, these maps will help you to locate information on road conditions, permit restrictions and wildflower sightings, for example.
Street and Road Maps at the UNT Libraries
The UNT Libraries Government Documents Department collects state highway maps for the entire United States and road and street maps for major cities in the U.S. and the world and for the Denton-DFW area.
Many of our maps are not indexed. If you don't find what you need in the Library Catalog, please ask for assistance at the Government Documents Service Desk on the Third Floor of Willis Library.
State Road Map Library
A collection of folding, one-sheet road maps for every state in the U.S.
City Map Library
A collection of one-sheet, folding street maps for each of the major cities in the U.S. The maps are not individually indexed in the Library Catalog, so ask for assistance at the Government Documents Service Desk.
MAPSCO Denton and Cooke Counties: Street Guide & Directory
Detailed, fully-indexed street maps as well as directory listings for schools, cities, parks, cemeteries, golf courses, and more.
Detailed, street-level maps of Dallas and over 50 surrounding communities. Includes comprehensive street index with block numbers, ZIP codes, city/county names, and MAPSCO grid listings.
MAPSCO Fort Worth
Detailed street-level maps of Fort Worth and the surrounding communities. Includes a comprehensive street index.
Ciudad de México, área metropolitana y alrededores
Bound, MAPSCO-style street map of Mexico City, Mexico.
Austria and Switzerland City Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps for several major cities in Austria and Switzerland.
Eastern Europe and USSR City Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps of several major cities in eastern Europe and the Soviet Union, published in 1985.
France and Monaco Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps for several cities in France and Monaco.
Germany, Netherlands and Belgium City Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps for several major cities in Germany, the Netherlands, and Belgium.
Great Britain City Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps for several major cities in Great Britain.
Italy and Greece City Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps for several major cities in Italy and Greece.
Orient and Asia Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps of several major cities in Asia.
Scandinavia City Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps for several major cities in Scandinavia.
Spain and Portugal City Maps
One-sheet, folding street maps for several major cities in Spain and Portugal.