Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Popular Atlases at the UNT Libraries and on the Internet
Most atlases are in the UNT Libraries’ General Collection, but a few of the more current ones are on reserve at the Government Documents Service Desk are in General Reference. Check the Library Catalog for locations.
Listed below are some of our most popular atlases.
Atlas of Texas
This map is rather dated now (the last edition was published in 1976), but contains much historical detail related to climate, geography, history and culture, population, transportation, education, recreation, agriculture, mining, and manufacturing.
Atlas of Texas Surface Waters
Book of color maps depicting the state's surface waters (divided by classified segments), including its lakes, bays, ponds, reservoirs, streams, rivers, estuaries and wetlands.
County Maps of Texas
Each county in Texas is represented by one small-scale map depicting boundaries, major waterways, and major highways; and a series of highly detailed maps that show every street and body of water in the county, with their names. These maps are detailed enough to use as street maps for any place in Texas. Also shows population of each city. Texas County Highway Maps
is an online version of the atlas, presenting each map in a database that can be browsed by county name or searched by county or place name (but not by street name).
Texas: A Historical Atlas
86 entries feature 175 maps illustrating the most significant aspects of the state's history, geography, and current affairs. The heart of the book is its wealth of historical information. The exploration of Texas and its settlement by various peoples is covered, as well as modern and contemporary Texas with its hurricanes and highways, power plants and population trends. Earlier edition available online as Historical Atlas of Texas
The Roads of Texas
This road atlas depicts highways as well as obscure county roads, farm roads, and other backroads. Useful for exploring obscure places, but the city streets are not shown in great detail.
Texas Atlas and Gazetteer
Excellent all-purpose road atlas. Includes back roads, street maps for major cities, recreation sites, GPS grids, and detailed topographic maps. Supplementary material includes information on campgrounds, hunting and fishing sites, hiking trails, wildlife viewing areas, historic sites, museums, state and national lands, and other amusements.
Texas Historic Sites Atlas
This online atlas features nearly 300,000 site records, including data on Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas. Also included are courthouses, museums, and sawmills across the state. You can search by Historic Designation, Keyword, County, Address, or Site Name to get instant access to detailed textual descriptions, historic photographs, and interactive maps. A partner site called Texas Beyond History
includes archaeological information.
Atlas of Eastern Europe
This 1990 atlas published by the CIA brings together, through maps and charts, a variety of geographic, political, historical, and economic information to profile this region and its constituent states, in order to assist study of the problems and prospects besetting the region in the post-Cold War era.
Atlas of the Middle East [U.S. Central Intelligence Agency]
The issues that set peoples and nations against one another in the Middle East are numerous, complex, and diverse. This 1993 atlas published by the CIA incorporates a variety of physical and cultural geographic information to profile the region of the Middle East and its constituent states, assisting in understanding the problems and prospects besetting this region.
Atlas of the Middle East [National Geographic Society]
This geographically, politically, thematically, and chronologically organized atlas published by the National Geographic Society contains newly researched and updated maps illustrating the diverse issues of the region today, including disputes over territory and natural resources, cultural conflicts, and historic events.
United States Atlases
The National Atlas of the United States of America
The 1970 National Atlas represents the principal characteristics of the country at that time, including its physical features, historical evolution, economic activities, sociocultural conditions, administrative subdivisions, and place in world affairs. It was designed to be of practical use to decision makers in government and business, and for planners and research scholars as well as others needing to visualize country-wide distributional patterns and relationships between environmental phenomena and human activities. In 1997 a new edition was begun that includes both electronic and paper products and exploits information presentation, access, and delivery technologies that did not exist in 1970. It offers authoritative scientific, social, and historical information; easy-to use online interactive maps; and tools to display, manipulate, and query its data so that users can produce their own analyses.
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide
This atlas contains population, economic, and geographic data and maps for places in the United States. It includes census statistics for counties, cities, and MSA's, county manufacturing and sales data, postal information (including a United States zip code map), and transportation information.
Road Atlas: United States, Canada, and Mexico
Useful for planning and navigating road trips across the United States and Canada (the map of Mexico is not very detailed). Includes detailed inset maps of major cities and national parks. Supplementary information includes suggested road trips, points of interest, contact information and Web sites for hotels and car rentals, and charts for calculating mileage and driving times.
Atlas of United States Environmental Issues
This atlas contains a brief historical and political introduction to the environmental movement, followed by maps, chart, graphs, and text explaining how geographical and political factors contribute to issues affecting our environment.
The Book of the World
This huge tome feature several beautiful satellite images, followed by full-color maps that depict all the countries of the world in a single, unified scale. Also includes maps of major cities, indications of major transportation routes, and facts and data about each country in the world.
Goode's World Atlas
This small study atlas includes physical, political, and thematic maps, city maps, world comparison charts, and a pronunciation guide.
Illustrated Atlas of the World
In addition to maps of the world, this atlas includes essays on the earth and the universe, making and shaping the earth, the emergence of life, the diversity of life, and understanding maps.
Oxford Atlas of the World
This large format atlas includes world maps, city maps, satellite photos, statistics, an introduction to world geography, and a glossary of geographical terms from various languages.
Shepherd's Historical Atlas
A classic, standard reference filled with beautiful engraved color maps that show regions of the world as they existed at various points in history. The 1911 edition
and 1923 edition
are available online from the University of Texas.
The Times Atlas of the World
Extremely detailed, full-color maps showing physical and political features. Includes comprehensive gazetteer of place names and introductory essays on stars and planets and the evolution of mapping, and statistical and geographical charts.