Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice: Videos

This guide is an introduction into Criminal Justice research and resources.

Types of Media

The Media Library has two primary types of videos:

  • Physical videos: DVDs, as well as older formats such as VCR, videodisc, and 16 mm film
  • Online videos:streaming videos that can be viewed online.

When searching for videos, you will find both in the UNT Library Catalog.  However, not all online videos are in the online catalog. if you want to be exhaustive in your search for online videos on a particular topic, you will need to use both the catalog, the Video on Demand Collection, Academic Video Online, and a number of other online sources.

Video Bibliographies

The lists below are selected bibliographies of DVDs from the UNT Libraries. The documents contains link that take you directly to the UNT Library Catalog where you can read more about a video's content.

Selected Videos

Searching for Videos in the Library Catalog

Most items in the Media Library are in the library catalog.

When looking for videos, use the Advanced Keyword Search:

For physical videos such as DVD's:

  • Any Field: the search term(s) of your choice
  • Video: "DVD"   

Example: Any Field: "criminal evidence" & Video: "DVD".

Using"DVD" in Any Field or as the Subject can produce unreliable results because sometimes the word "DVD" is used in the catalog record but not to describe the item format.

When you have identified a DVD to check out, click the title to enter the record.  Once you are in the record, note the DVD number.  You can request it at the Media Library Service Desk. 

For online videos:

  • Any Field: the search term(s) of your choice
  • Subject: "online media"

Example: Any Field: "restorative justice" & Subject: "Online Media".

When you have identified a film to view, click the title to enter the record. Once you are in the record, click "Connect to UNT Libraries' Video on Demand" or "watch streaming video" to access the content.

 

Faculty: Booking a DVD

Once you have identified a DVD you want in the UNT Library Catalog, look for the box below the title and book the DVD in advance for your class to watch.

book dvd

Enter your EUID and password to make the booking.

login

Faculty: Linking to VOD content

Faculty often want to connect their students to films from the Video On Demand collection.

  1. Locate the desired VOD materials in the UNT Libraries' Video on Demand Collection.
  2. Copy the URL from the "Film Link" section and paste it into the desired tool (email, Blackboard, etc).

 

Murder in the Stacks- Video On Demand

Finding Online Videos

You will need to look at these sources to ensure that you have found all of UNT's online video resources on a topic.  They are also useful because they allow you to browse the collections that they provide access to.

Media Library Policies and Services

This brochure provides information on Media Library hours, circulation policies, and services.

Additional Links

top