Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ABA Criminal Justice Section
Vision: "The ABA Criminal Justice Section is the premiere source of knowledge and insight into the complex issues of criminal justice that face the nation. By bringing together the perspectives of prosecutors, defense lawyers, judges and scholars, the Section provides valuable and thoughtfully crafted products to its members, to the legal profession overall, and to the nation. The achievement of justice is the abiding purpose of the Section, and makes it the voice of criminal justice." The Publications Page of the website includes links to newsletters on white collar crime, re-entry, and corrections and sentencing.
American Civil Liberties Union
"The ACLU is our nation's guardian of liberty, working daily in courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties that the Constitution and laws of the United States guarantee everyone in this country....The ACLU also works to extend rights to segments of our population that have traditionally been denied their rights, including people of color; women; lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgender people; prisoners; and people with disabilities."
Center for Problem-Oriented Policing
"The mission of the Center for Problem-Oriented Policing is to advance the concept and practice of problem-oriented policing in open and democratic societies. It does so by making readily accessible information about ways in which police can more effectively address specific crime and disorder problems.
The Center for Problem-Oriented Policing is a non-profit organization comprising affiliated police practitioners, researchers, and universities dedicated to the advancement of problem-oriented policing."
Death Penalty Information Center
"The Death Penalty Information Center is a national non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. Founded in 1990, the Center promotes informed discussion of the death penalty by preparing in-depth reports, conducting briefings for journalists, and serving as a resource to those working on this issue. The Center releases an annual report on the death penalty, highlighting significant developments and featuring the latest statistics. The Center also produces groundbreaking reports on various issues related to the death penalty such as arbitrariness, costs, innocence, and race. We offer a wide variety of multimedia resources, such as our free, online educational curricula and our podcast series, DPIC on the Issues."
"The Innocence Project is a national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted individuals through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice." The website includes information on the causes of wrongful conviction and proposed reforms to the criminal justice system.
National Criminal Justice Association
"Based in Washington, D.C., the NCJA represents state, tribal and local governments on crime prevention and crime control issues. Its members represent all facets of the criminal and juvenile justice community, from law enforcement, corrections, prosecution, defense, courts, victim-witness services and educational institutions to federal, state and local elected officials."
Right on Crime
"Right On Crime is the one-stop source for conservative ideas on criminal justice. Right On Crime is a project of the Texas Public Policy Foundation, a research institute in Austin, TX committed to limited government, free markets, private property rights, individual liberty and personal responsibility." The website includes identifies the organization's priority issues and includes a state by state review of reform initiatives.
The Sentencing Project
"Established in 1986, The Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing policy, addressing unjust racial disparities and practices, and advocating for alternatives to incarceration." The website includes sections on sentencing policy, incarceration, racial disparity, drug policy, juvenile justice, felony disenfranchisement, women, and collateral consequences, including links to the organizations's reports on these topics.
Top 100 Criminal Justice Blogs
Not a scholarly source, but may provide ideas about areas needing research.
US Government Websites
Criminal Justice Information Services
"The CJIS Division was established in February 1992 to serve as the focal point and central repository for criminal justice information services in the FBI. It is the largest division in the FBI. Programs initially consolidated under the CJIS Division included the National Crime Information Center (NCIC), Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR), and Fingerprint Identification. In addition, responsibility for several ongoing technological initiatives was transferred to the CJIS Division, including the Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification System (IAFIS), NCIC 2000, and the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS)."
Federal Bureau of Investigation
"As an intelligence-driven and a threat-focused national security and law enforcement organization, the mission of the FBI is to protect and defend the United States against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats, to uphold and enforce the criminal laws of the United States, and to provide leadership and criminal justice services to federal, state, municipal, and international agencies and partners."
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
"Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide."
Office of Justice Programs
"The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) provides innovative leadership to federal, state, local, and tribal justice systems, by disseminating state-of-the art knowledge and practices across America, and providing grants for the implementation of these crime fighting strategies. Because most of the responsibility for crime control and prevention falls to law enforcement officers in states, cities, and neighborhoods, the federal government can be effective in these areas only to the extent that it can enter into partnerships with these officers. Therefore, OJP does not directly carry out law enforcement and justice activities. Instead, OJP works in partnership with the justice community to identify the most pressing crime-related challenges confronting the justice system and to provide information, training, coordination, and innovative strategies and approaches for addressing these challenges."
United States Courts
A broad array of information about the United States court system. The home page includes a link to information for researchers.
United States Justice Department
"The mission of the Department of Justice is "To enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans."
Library Guides to Criminal Justice Resources
Michigan State Library Criminal Justice Guide
A detailed bibliography with links to electronic sources of information about a wide variety of criminal justice topics.
World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network
The World Criminal Justice Library Network was formed in 1991 by librarians and criminal justice information specialists from around the world to facilitate the pooling of information and services. Provides links to a wide variety of resources, including statistical publications, bibliographies, and scholarly journals.