Guides to Reference Sources:
Encyclopedias:
General Biographical Resources:
Specialized Biographical Resources:
Historical Sources:
Vocabulary Resources:
Bibliography of the Time Period:
Genre Bibliographies:
Indexes to Works of Literature:
Online Indexes to Scholarship:
Annual Reviews of Literature:
General Information About Manuscript and Archival Material:
Resources for Locating Archival and Manuscript Collections:
The National Archives:
The Library of Congress:
Photocopies, Digital Images, and Copyright:
Period-Specific Journals:
American Literature Journals:
Genre-Specific Journals:
Author-Specific Journals and Newsletters:
General Literature Journals:
General Histories of Periodicals:
Online Periodical Indexes:
Indexes to Individual Periodicals:
Histories:
Directories and Bibliographies:
Print and Online Indexes to Newspapers:
Locating Periodical Collections in Libraries:
Web Directories:
Digital Collections on the Web:
Ready Reference Sources on the Web:
Author Sites:
Current Awareness Resources:
Listservs:
Books and Periodicals on Researching the Web:
Catalogs of Other Libraries:
The Center for Research Libraries:
Local Union Catalogs:
National Union Catalogs:
International Union Catalogs:
Individual National Library Catalogs:
Trade Catalogs:
The Publisher's Weekly And it's Predecessors:
Identifying First Editions:
Publisher Histories, Directories, and Archives:
Access to Microform and Digital Collections:
Reference Guides and Dictionaries:
Major Microfilm Collections and their Electronic Counterparts:
Other Collections:
